We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must if you want to treat yourself in Ascona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello Del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castello Del Sole
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a must if you want to treat yourself in Ascona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have passed a week end at the hotel with my family, although we booked a suite but we were given a 3 room suite, the largest suite I have ever had. The day stated with a breakfast in the garden with a well prepared and good buffet combined with a very pleasant and friendly service. Concierge service arranged for many things we desired in great efficiency, the dinner was very pleasant with the same friendly service. I did not try the SPA but had my half an hour swim in the pool, which was very enjoyable for the water had 31c and half the pool extended to the exterior. If you want to treat yourself in Ascona, this place is a must.

Room Tip: if you have a slight wind, try sailing from Ascona, you coudl return to the Marina near the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
85
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We got an absolutely lovely room with a bay window and felt so warm cared for. Huge garden, really rare in Tecino, fantastic spa, rich breakfast, nice to go to the old Ascona by bike. we will come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_kissed932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Beside all the amenities it offers for families, couples and solo travellers, the Castello provides a remarkable infrastructure for cyclists as well. A fully equipped bicycle repository, offering towels, fresh water, mechanic tools, air pump, etc. is at every guests disposal and is a perfect starting and arrival point for a tour into one of the dozens of adjacent valleys. Last but not least: if you're looking for some tips and directions, ask the hotel director. He is a passionate cyclist himself...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 4 days. Excellent attentive service. Beautiful hotel with lovely grounds and gardens. right on the side of the lake. Has the atmosphere of a family-run establishment. Al fresco dining on the lawn and super relaxing evenings. Fantastic Spa and tennis facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family and I spent a week at Castello del Sole in July and had a wonderful time. The hotel itself is stunning, in a beautiful garden setting located on the side of the lake. The main restaurant permits al fresco dining under the trees while the kids play on the lawn - it could not have been better! We rented the small (somewhat underpowered) motor boat one day and explored the lake; another day we took bikes and visited Ascona and the local area. People were friendly everywhere. The kids particularly enjoyed the water park that is an approx 20 minute bike ride from the hotel.
The hotel staff were very friendly and got to know us quickly - ensuring we had a lawn-side table and our favorite wine every night. The pool area is lovely and the spa facility is top class. Our room (in one of the Pavillions) was very well appointed and very comfortable. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as one of the best in Switzerland and definitely the best I have visited in the lakes region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pavillion Lacarno - good size rooms for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJR-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

All the superlatives listed by other reviewers are accurate and justified leaving very little worthwhile to add, perhaps with one exception.
There are watches and there are Swiss Chronometers.They basically do the same job but a real connoisseur appreciates and knows the difference.
In the same way there are mere hotels and establishments like Castello del Sole.
If you are fortunate to experience this particular Swiss "Make" you too would agree that it ought to be "officially certified" as both an exquisite and luxurious hideaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you are looking for a "exotic" holiday resort in Switzerland, this is it! Warm climate and the italian way of living! The Castello's grounds are amazing, featuring a Bio farm, which supplies the kitchen. Direct access to the lake makes it a dream for the kids, not to mention the pizzas at lunch.what we also adore about this hotel is it proximity to Ascon. The hotel offers bikes to reach the town with in minutes. So no car needed and the kids love the short ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank move007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
0.2 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#1 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Delta Wellbeing Resort
1.7 mi away
Villa Orselina
Villa Orselina
#1 of 2 in Orselina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Del Sole

Property: Castello Del Sole
Address: via Muraccio 142, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ascona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#3 Spa Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Del Sole 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castello Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Sole Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing