We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“An affordable hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I spent two nights in a double for single use at the Piazza Ascona Hotel in June, and thought it quite affordable in comparison to other options in the area. I loved the location (just a few minutes walk from stop for the bus to Locarno and right by the boat dock) and I thoroughly enjoyed my views over the waterfront and lake. My room did, however, have some quirks. For example, the shower nozzle was a bit difficult to control because it could not be secured firmly in place; during one long shower, I noted some minor fluctations in temperature and water pressure, although both were generally quite good; and the wall-mounted liquid soap dispenser can’t be reached from the shower, so make sure you have soap! Staff were very helpful and attentive, and the breakfast, which I ate on the hotel’s outdoor terrace, included a nice array of tasty options.

BTW, I was surprised by the amount of helicopter traffic in the area, starting fairly early in the day; their sounds can be heard from just about anywhere in Ascona and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    181
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
57
192
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked our hotel at the last minute and couldn't have been happier. We were originally scheduled to stay 6 nights in Lugano and cut it to 2 and spent 4 nights in Ascona instead. You can get a ferry from Locarno to Ascona and arrive in about 1/2 hour. Walking off the ferry you are about 60 feet to the hotel right in front of the ferry terminal. The staff was extremely helpful and very service oriented. Our room overlooked the lake. The room was a typical (small) European one but was very adequate. there was a nice buffet breakfast included and the internet was fast. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the harbor -- you will get a little street noise with the window open, but wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallestguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Seven friends stayed in piazza for 3nights. The hotel is directly opposite the ferry port which allows you travel by lake to various towns/islands on lake maggiore. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotels are expensive and you pay for your ideal location. Food is average as is breakfast. Rooms are clean but tired and balconies small, with excellent views. Remind staff about the 10%discount on food/drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret17294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a nice place to stay in Ascona and found this hotel on the internet. The hotel is locatod on the lake promenade and every room as a wonderfull view to the lake. The rooms are small but comfortable and clean. The receptionist is very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast is excellent and the hotel resturant is also very good. Great value for relatively cheap prices (extremely cheap now because it is out of the season).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nulypetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean room with comfortable bed and superb view over the lake and mountains. Having stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels around the world, it seems a tad harsh that this hotel has only 2. We ate in the hotel and were given a 10% discount off the bill.
Ascona is gorgeous and you won't find a better view from a hotel bedroom window.

Room Tip: One with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although we were not given the requested room, we accepted the upgrade and enjoyed a good night's sleep in a clean room but without a lake view. Front Office and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly at all times which made for an enjoyable (although only 1 night) stay. We recommend this accommodation and will stay here again on our next Tessin visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosco_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We would highly recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money and wonderful staff. We had a room on the courtyard so quiet and comfortable. The location couldn't be better and the food is also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#7 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#1 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#8 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants

Property: Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
Address: piazza Giuseppe Motta 29, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Piazza Ascona, Hotel & Restaurants, open all year round, is directly situated in the heart of charming Ascona's lake front. The Hotel, with a long tradition and in typical Ticino style, is and ideal place for a stay. The rooms with stunning views over the lake and the mountains or the small streets of the ancient and picturesque old town and the privileged location make the Piazza Ascona an excellent starting point for excursions,by boat or to explore the characteristics valleys and attractions of Ticino. The offer to the local and international public is completed by the restaurants, "al Pontile", "al Piazza". With magnificent terraces and situated directly on the waterfront, the restaurants suit all tastes - from the gastronomy specialities, to the typical Ticino's dishes, to lake fish and seafood, to delicious pizzas and Thai corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing