We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of Ristorante Seven

Ristorante Seven
Ranked #21 of 73 Restaurants in Ascona
Price range: $30 - $132
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Built on one of the most inviting spots of the Piazza of Ascona, overlooking the vistas of the Swiss Alps and the waterfront of Lago Maggiore, Ristorante Seven reflects much of the region versatility. Catering business lunches and romantic dinners to clientele who enjoy the fun and excitement of exploring new culinary experience born out of love for basic raw substance, the restaurant offers fresh and seasonal ingredients and the rich tastes of Mediterranean cuisine. Our chef brings with his young team a bevy of unique inspirations to the menu, allowing guests to explore creative & traditional combinations: Mediterranean antipasti exalting shellfish-flavors, raw fish and meat, fresh homemade pasta and rainbow of risottos – all prepared a la carte. For lovers of grill, we offer a wide variety of cuts from the best Swiss farms prepared in high temperatures to achieve slightly smoky flavor, ensuring a perfect grilling in Josper oven.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We are a couple and were seated downstairs in the middle of a shared table with two groups of four on either side of us. We had no common language and we were opposite each other across a wide table.. There is a very garish mirrored light hanging at eye hieght and I ended the night with a headache and the request to be moved resulted in the light being turned off but it still hung in line of site. The food is fancy and may have been lovely but I was not in the mood. It was very expensive and we were most disappointed having expected a nice romantic dinner for our last night in Switzerland.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    100
    50
    41
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Inventive dining in a chic atmosphere”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The food is delicious and portions just right. The owner is a well regarded chef in Switzerland and that reputation is well deserved. Very nice location and the decor of the place was well above average.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank soxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food - but service to be ashamed of”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a Michelin starred restaurant with a stunning view over the lake. Presumably the Michelin inspectors did not receive service as awful as ours when making their inspection. Waiters storm between tables; trays are swung around so you have to duck out of the way.  Our 'service' culminated in an ignorant waiter smashing a chair into our table while rearranging furniture.  In some restaurants this might add character to the place, but when you're paying 200 francs a head it's disgraceful.  The female maître d' just about keeps things functioning - without her the whole operation would collapse. 

Against my better judgement my other half insisted on a drink in their lovely bar the next evening. We were ignored for 15 minutes, had to order at the bar and dirty glasses were left on our table. When I tried to pay the guy was nowhere to be seen. 

The food verges between very good e.g. Foie Gras variation and ok e.g. Zander fillet with dominating corn sauce.  In truth the standard of cooking is high but out of the 6 Michelin starred restaurants I have visited the food here ranks lowest.  And unimpressively the table next to us sent their mains back, as they were too cold. 

Overall, the chaotic, unprofessioional and, sometimes, rude service is the main problem with this place. 

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank planetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
264 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“That's what Ascona needed”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Top of the line restaurant in a very modern setting and a very delicate cuisine. Absolutely recommendable is the 7-course Surprise Menu and we suggest to order with it the assorted wines. Great combinations. Otherwise as starters: the Foie gras variations is delicious and the Beef Tartar too. The fish is cooked lightly and just melts in your mouth. Accompany the fish with a bottle of Biancospino 2009 which makes a great combination.

The chef de service and sommelier know their trade. The service personnel is from fantastic to a bit erratic depending by which person your table is served. They also have cigars which you can smoke after the meal on the terrasse.

There are other "Seven" restaurants near by which we haven't tried.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biddy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is one of our favorite restaurants and always take visitors here. Food is interesting and fresh, wonderful flavors. Highly recommend. Also right on the lake and lovely in the spring and summer.

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Seven also viewed

Ascona, Lake Maggiore
Ascona, Lake Maggiore
 
Ascona, Lake Maggiore
 

Been to Ristorante Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing