We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spend a wonderful time in Castello Seeschloss, very nice room, we had n° 501, a real tread with a nice balcony and a specious seating area. The room was very clean and we had a nice and very large bathroom.
We can recommend this wonderful place to all travellers especially with this great local location. We are coming back

Room Tip: take 501 or one in the back of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baccus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeschloss, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Customer,
we thank you very much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Castello.
It would be our great pleasure to welcoming you back soon.
The Castello-Seeschloss Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
73
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We decided to spend a few days in Ascona and did not reserve a room in advance, our first hotel visit after parking our car was the Castello which is right at the beginning of the lake front, the friendly receptionist showed us the hotel and a few rooms, we chose a standard room with a small balcony in the main building on the second floor, the room itself wasn't very spacious but from the balcony the lake view was stunning! Very nice pool and garden area! Free parking and valet service upon demand! Great the garden restaurant in front of the hotel! Perfect location and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Room with balcony in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We discovered this hotel on our first trip last year, booking a standard room. This year on our return to Ascona we decided this time to upgrade to a suite, and were treated to the room at the top of the "tower".

As per last time the hotel reminded us of its perfect location, situated at the end of the main street and overlooking the lake of maggiorre. The rooms are not super modern but are clean, well equipped as per most hotels and very inviting with comfortable beds and goos sized rooms. The views if you are lake side are simply postcard like and the location second to none.

The breakfast buffet is very good, a wide selection of excellent foods, local produce and made to order eggs etc. Service is high standard and very welcoming. It has a pool which is clean and with plenty of space to relax if needed, or alternatively choose to relax in the secluded garden.

We will be back next year, its our annual Ascona preferred hotel. The only minus point is the rather tight underground garage, but then again that cannot be changed and is simply luck of the draw to the space you get - it should not detract from a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tower room/lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the lake view rooms in the main building. The room was pretty special and quiet, but it really stood out for its beautiful old painted ceiling and the crystal chandelier. The atmosphere was classy and the room was spacious, plus we has some amazing views over the colorful promenade, the lake and the mountains. The hotel is located only a few minutes walk away from the ferry dock. There's also a free car parking in the vicinity. There are many bars, restaurants and shops along the promenade, but I really recommend you give the hotel's restaurant a try as well. The staff is so, so nice! Oh, and don't forget to ask for some local wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraAndCipri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

So nice...We had a standard room in the main building, facing the pool. Staff very nice and helpful. The service is outstanding. Located in the promande of Ascona, next to a variety of restaurants. Free Wifi only in Public area. Lobby cosy and nice with real a fireplace.Breakfast very good Don't hesitate to ask the staff for a Cappuccino or an ommellette!)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galit21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are expats living in the Middle East and decided to take a long week end break in the wonderful town of Ascona. The Castello Seeschloss is situated right on the lake shore with amazing views on the surrounding nature and a very short walk away from the best shops and restaurants. They have a nice swimming pool in the garden, parking available, and a delicious breakfast full of typical swiss products. Hard to find a reasonnably priced hotel in Ascona, but the Castello was great value for money.
Tip: Ask for the best hikes in the area, they will recommend you the surrounding valleys - they re amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatchuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We decided on a last minute long weekend in Ascona and only ended up at this hotel because the one we wanted (Eden Roc) was full. It was the best thing that could have happened to us!
We had one room in the tower for ourselves and our 2 year old and another room, still in the castle building, for Granny and our 5 year old. Our room was magnificent, beautifully restored paintwork, a huge domed ceiling, plenty of space for the baby cot, lots of storage and a very well-equipped bathroom, even if it was a little bit of a struggle for my husband to stand up in the shower!

The other room featured a huge 4-poster bed, to the delight of our daughter who felt just like a princess. Overall the room was small, but it was so pleasant to be in and still had everything necessary to be comfortable.

Breakfast was outside on the garden terrace and the buffet selection was very good. It may have been a struggle at times to keep up with the demand for replenishment, but the staff were very friendly and helpful and happily washed up baby bottles every morning.

The pool was a bonus but it was very deep for children so not too relaxing for a parent with only just swimming children and quite cold for the toddler. However, the location of the hotel meant that it was an easy walk down to the public lido, which was ideal for children in every aspect - clean, shallow water, mix of sand & stone beach, playground, restaurants etc.

The hotel restaurant, on the waterfront, featured a large garden area for the girls to run around in and was next to the piazza which featured children's entertainment in the evenings (all Summer Thurs-Sun nights).

All-in-all it was hard to tear ourselves away, both from Ascona and the lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Tower room 207 had the magnificent paintwork and high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.9 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#13 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Castello Del Sole
Castello Del Sole
#1 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss

Property: Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Address: via Circonvallazione 26 | 6612 Ascona, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing