We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning conference venue and accommodation”
Review of Hotel Monte Verita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Verita
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My stay was part of a conference. The views across the lake and the Swiss/Italian Alps were stunning, the grounds and gardens were relaxing and peaceful, and I think these things helped to inspire a very nice conference atmosphere.

The room itself was in a separate block, and was comfortable, relaxing, clean and tidy, well kept, with good wifi, clean bathrooms, and a fairly minimal Bauhaus style furnishing.

The food was great - local and seasonal fare was the main pattern, with delicious local wine. Staff that I spoke to were very friendly and professional.

Difficult to disentangle the room price from the conference price - but at £150/night, perhaps it would be worth it for a short stay. However, holiday-makers staying there during the conference did seem a bit overrun by all of us - perhaps it wouldn't be as fun going socially during a big conference group...

Room Tip: The views are incredible - but you can get these from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB_090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

The hotel room was very simple and old ...Bed, TV, shower room but the bed look like a hospital.( they are made from the metal the pure bauhaus design))and we had twin bed(2 small Separate beds) for double bed.( we are couple)When you step outside of balcony the view were excellent!! mountain and the lake!!I

The thing That I like this hotel is only the view..food and the odd history.
Next morning after breakfast.( the food was great) we had a guide tour around the hotel to show us the nice tea garden..How and explain how odd history of this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeautySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Second visit and the experience was not as happy as our first. I guess the warning signs were there immediately- a wedding party was being set up. We weren't put into the bauhaus building but one of the older traditional buildings. It was fine and I think the receptionist was putting us somewhere where sound from the party was minimized. But it simply lacked the wonderful atmosphere which is the charm of the hotel. We had driven from Geneva so I didn't feel like looking for a restaurant and besides the food we had there before was excellent. Big mistake. The food was disgusting and ancient probably as a result of the wedding. Finally to add insult to injury the breakfast selection was limited and average. The waiter compounded it by his surliness. Next time I will double check everything before I go.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed at this Hotel during a small scientific conference (~120 total participants.) The views were excellent, the lecture hall nice and the food was great. While the rooms were a bit stark by US standards, they were much nicer than the other ( lower rated) hotels I stayed at during my trip.

The location has a few trails and historical sites on the property, but some were closed during my visit, and I'm not much into history.

To get down to Ascona and the waterfront there is a path with stairs that leads down, but it is a bit of a trek, I'd guess 20 minutes of stairs. It's a nice walk if you want to visit the town for an evening, but I wouldn't recommend it if you plan to walk to town several times. Ok for some, but not great for others.

As my accommodations were included in my conference fee, the cost seemed reasonable, but I'm not sure I would pay full price to stay here. Then again, I tend to travel on a shoe-string budget. We happened to be there during the Ascona Jazz festival, which may have made the area more expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_R_Photo_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Staying at this hotel is like being a part of history, and an odd history at that. It once was a sort of early 20th century hippy free-love hang-out for rich kids, including the dancer Isabella Duncan. Located in a large, delightful and functioning park, the hotel is pure bauhaus design with the rooms as spartan as they come but it works. They certainly weren't uncomfortable and each comes with a balcony overlooking the magnificent Lake Maggiore. Evening meals are served on a terrace outside where you can draw energy from the snake path!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed here two nights for a conference on the hotel site. The setting of this hotel is unbeatable--right on Lake Maggiore with outstanding views of Italy. It is a bit removed from downtown so you have to walk down the hill to experience some of the city (and also walk back UP the hill, don't forget). The hotel has a very interesting history, and is on expansive grounds with trails with art and even a tea house on site. Nearby there is a park with trails that go through the forest, with spots where you can hike up to a promontory for a gorgeous view of the lake. Overall, it feels like a quiet mountain retreat.

The rooms are in the Bauhaus style--very authentic, which means that they don't have any modern luxuries. However, if you are willing to forgo those for experiencing a unique, then it can be a very interesting stay. The rooms are stark and spare, the bed is small, there's no TV, the bathroom out of date, and yes, the toilet paper is rough, but the windows are huge and have sweeping views of the lake.

The service is really excellent, and the hotel staff were incredibly accommodating, as I had to change my reservation due to unavoidable changes in my travel plans. The restaurant and bars have wonderful unique Bauhaus details, and the staff were also very nice, and even though I don't speak any Italian, they were very helpful in helping me out with the menu.

One thing about the location--because it is removed from the city center, you have to either catch the shuttle, but if you miss those the cab ride can be a little steep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesseract68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room we got for $230/night was definitely not worth it. It has a nice view, but that's the only good part. The bed and other furnitures in the room are made of cheap looking metal frame with just a cushion. The bed was not comfortable. The toilet paper they provide are from recycled---almost like an old newspaper. The quality of the breakfast buffet is ok, nothing spectacular, better than nothing. Not much selection of fruits & breads. Wifi is so slow thou it's free.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imflyingwithoutwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#10 of 32 in Ascona
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sasso Boretto
Hotel Sasso Boretto
#31 of 32 in Ascona
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Verita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Verita

Address: via Collina 84, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: $69 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Verita 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Verità stands on the hills overlooking Ascona and Lake Maggiore and has always been a magnet for ideas, trends, experiments and historical figures. At the turn of the 20th century, an alternative, vegetarian colony was founded on the site, and the mythical golden age of Monte Verità began. Artists, anarchists, philosophers and thinkers settled here - with illustrious guests such as Hermann Hesse among them. After a brief period in the early Twenties, during which a group of expressionist artists set up a small artistic community, the hill just in Ascona was purchased by the German banker and art collector Baron Eduard von der Heydt. It was then that Monte Verità became a modern hotel complex, visited by high-profile figures from the worlds of art, politics and culture. The Baron bequeathed Monte Verità to the Canton Ticino in the 1950s, and in the late 1980s it was turned into a conference centre thanks to a partnership with the Swiss Federal Institute of Teconology in Zurich. Today, Monte Verità is a state-of-the-art conference and cultural centre, managed by the Foundation of the same name. Situated on seven hectares of tranquil, lush parkland with breathtaking panoramas of Lake Maggiore, it offers visitors a truly unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Monte Verita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing