We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect fancy”
Review of Hotel Major Davel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Major Davel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cully
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We've stayed at the Major Davel twice. If you don't like old Europe you won't like this. A beautiful location, quiet,, charming, where people gather in the afternoons or evenings to have a coffee or glass of local wine. Mme Messmer was always nice to us, as was everyone there. No elevator, so we carried our bags up 2-3 flights of stairs (no was was available to help until 5 PM). The first room, with balcony, was too small, with a shower we could barely turn around it. The second, on the second floor, was much better, with a nicer bathroom tub. If this hotel were given a much needed updated decor (very seventies, really old looking) and made the amenities a little nicer (real shampoo, a little skincream) it would be quite a find.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tailors3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Major Davel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 50 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
nanaimo.b.c.
15
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I had the misfortune of visiting Au Major Davel. The food isn't really wonderful, and the hostess treats her employees horribly. You can just see it in their faces, it's quite sad. The view is great over looking Lake Geneva, though.

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

My brother was getting married and the civil ceremony was to take place in Cully. Not a lot of options for the family coming from oversees! It was either the Major Davel or Auberge du Raisin if we wanted to be right in town. The location was fantastic...I loved having a glass of wine in the evening outside next to the lake. And there's a great wine cave right around the corner. The staff was perfectly nice and helpful. Yes, there's not an elevator, but I count myself responsible for the 75 lb suitcase I chose to pack, so I can't really complain about that! But, the accomodations left a little to be desired for the price that was paid. But, that's Switzerland for you. Gorgeous country....expensive hotels! The du Raisin would have broken my checking account into bits, so...Major Davel it was! Not a bad stay, but would have had a much better review to give had it not been so pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tcgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

I'm rating the Major Davel above average because the location directly on the shore of Lake Geneva is gorgeous. The hotel fronts on a large park, perfect for passing a summer evening taking in the view and people-watching. The hotel itself is very small, and the restaurant is their main business. The restaurant (one of only a few places to eat in Cully) was fine, but overpriced. The rooms are comfortable (and I didn't mind the lack of TV), but a little outdated. The woman who runs the hotel and restaurant was very helpful and friendly when we could find her -- however, the hotel has no main desk (you check in at a small desk in the cafe) and often we could not find anyone except a waiter to answer questions. Cully is a lovely little town, but very small and quiet -- to do laundry, buy groceries on a Sunday, etc., you have to go to Lausanne (20 minutes on the commuter train). I'd recommend this hotel if you're staying in Lausanne or Geneva and want a short getaway or want to bicycle in the vineyards, but it doesn't make a good base of operations for longer stays.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dice88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
222
Reviewed August 1, 2004

The hotel benefits from a great location directly at the border of Lac Lemon. Our room had nice views on the lac but the decor was outmoded and the amenities provided were very basic, e.g., there was not television in the room. Breakfast (served on the covered terrace) was a disappointment, so was dinner at the hotel.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Utarsule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank antho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cully
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Baron Tavernier
Le Baron Tavernier
#1 of 2 in Chexbres
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#8 of 46 in Lausanne
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge de la Gare
Auberge de la Gare
#1 of 1 in Grandvaux
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Major Davel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Major Davel

Address: Cully, Bourg-en-Lavaux CH-1096, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Bourg-en-Lavaux > Cully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cully
Price Range: $153 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Major Davel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Major Davel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Major Davel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing