We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run,reasonably priced perfect small hotel”
Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Hotel Alpenblick
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandersteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alpenblick
Ranked #10 of 14 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
Kandersteg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family run,reasonably priced perfect small hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

A very friendly helpful family run hotel. They met me at the station as I had let them know my arrival time. There were so many little extras throughout the week. I was alone but never felt lonely. Meals were excellent, and attentive to any special requests. The Swiss are renowned for their hospitality, and I think this family go just that one step better.There was no single room supplement, my room was en suite, and had a balcony facing the famous view towards the Oeschinensee. As value for money it would be difficult to find anywhere better and I have nearly 40 years of visiting Switzerland. I`ll be back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret75Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Small very personal hotel, with attentive staff. the woman owner was very friendly and helpful. We washed our backpacking clothes and hung in the bathroom to dry and when we returned from a short walk, she had hung them outside to dry. The pillow covers and towels were changed daily! Lovely breakfast with eggs, fresh fruit and croissants in addition to traditional Swiss fare, Regret we could not stay for the Friday night entertainment in the restaurant. Seems to be a very musical family there

Room Tip: Very quiet room on the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peakpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Some nice touches - one of us left a book open and when we came back after the room had been cleaned the book had a bookmark in it. And they saw we had a carton of fruit juice so they put two wine glasses in our room ( we had been using the tooth glasses). Bathroom small but very clean and functional.
Would happily stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva, switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

At the end of December 2009 we stayed in a triple room with our 13 year old son for 3 nights. Reservation was easy by email and our room was confirmed quickly. The room was simple and basic (no tv) with a tiny attached bathroom, completely quiet at night. There is a lounge with a tv for the guests. The owners, the Schmid-Ogi family, were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was excellent, there was a large choice of everything, and Mrs Schmid's homemade jam was delicious. We ate dinner a couple of times at the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent. They have a lot of cheese specialities, and our son adored the "flambierter Spiess". The hotel is well situated in Kandersteg, near the center of the village, and the bus which brings you to the slopes stops right next to the hotel. All in all, we had a lovely time at the hotel Alpenblick and will gladly return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank istana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#5 of 14 in Kandersteg
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kanderhutte
#2 of 5 in Kandersteg
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Property: Hotel Alpenblick
Address: Town Center, Kandersteg, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing