We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast”
Review of Hotel Blumlisalp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blumlisalp
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Three of us spent four nights here in July. The city of Kandersteg is beautiful. Our hotel was at the edge of town, but still an easy walk to the train station. Nice views of the mountains from our room. Our room was the the older part of the hotel. It was large, but pretty basic and not too cheery. The bathroom had been redone which was nice.
The breakfast was in a bright and sunny room and the presentation was nice. There were choices to fit everyone's taste.
This is a husband and wife run hotel. The wife was one of the most unfriendly and unhelpful peope I have dealt with in a long time. She seemed irritated everytime we asked a question-which we rarely did. This was true of our whole stay there. We only dealt with the husband a couple of times, but he was very nice. He should be at the front desk and she should be behind the scenes. Because there are many other lovely hotel choices in Kandersteg, knowing what I know now I would not have stayed at the Blumlisalp due the the proprietor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

For Switzerland a reasonable price. NIce big room with views of mountains, great to watch huge summer thunderstorms! Good breakfast, staff professional but not over friendly. Kanderstag is very quiet in the evenings - we never ate in the restaurant, but perhaps we should have as the others were all very average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaja_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My 18 year old son, wife and I spent two days in the Hotel Blumlisalp in Kandersteg in late June. Kandersteg is not as convenient to Interlaken, Thun and other high point areas in the Oberland, as some of the other options, but the drive to those areas was not much more than 30 minutes or so, so never a problem and we found Kandersteg less expensive than some of the other towns in the Bernese Oberland. Our room was spacious with a twin bed, sofa and television in one area walled off in part from the double bed on the other side. The bathroom as spacious with wonderful amenities. There were, among other things, washcloths--unusual in Europe, and longer than usual towels, etc. The hotel, like most Swiss hotels, is spotless. Breakfast, which is included, was very good. We sat in the restaurant area of the hotel and enjoyed Swiss breads, a new breakfast tart daily and plenty of juice, cheese, fruit, etc. along with our wonderful "kafe mit milch." I very much enjoy breakfast in European hotels, and this was one of the best I have had.

We had dinner one evening, which was likewise quite good. We expected an informal, regional menu, but instead were treated to fine dining.

Service was excellent from the assistance of the owner of the hotel to the waitress who served us dinner one evening and breakfast coffee the next.

The hotel also has an elevator, which we appreciated. We visited several hotels while in Europe without an elevator. That is not uncommon, but after lugging some heavy luggage up three flights a few times, the presence of the elevator was a welcome amenity.

Hotels in Switzerland, like most things, are expensive compared to other countries in Europe. Compared with other options, Blumlisalp was relatively reasonable

Finally, nestled in the Alps, our room had a balcony with a wonderful view of the mountains. Waking up to a rising sun in the Alps, is an experience to be savored, as is a quiet cup of coffee or glass of wine while savoring the majesty of those mountains.

My family and favor small, privately owned European hotels and we tend to avoid the large American chains, and even some of the European chains. The Hotel Blumlisalp has certainly been added to our favorites list.

In short, we had a wonderful stay at the Blumlisalp and we would readily return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and the experience was excellent. Staff is helpful and nice, room is large, clean and cozy. The room we got have a nice mountain view. The food in their restaurant is excellent. It is the first time ever I spent all dinners in one restaurant! There was not many options in the menu, probably because of Xmas? But it doesn't matter as the food is great. Particularly the salad and fish are fresh and tasty. Because of Xmas time, they gave us free soups every night as well!
The only downside is that the hotel is not close to train station, taking a bus is preferred if having heavy luggage, However, the bus schedule is infrequent. But in general, it is not important as carrying luggage is required for first day and last day only.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is a great hotel! This was my third stay and I have been pleased each time. My son and I were treated wonderfully as the staff was very attentive and helpful. As we were hiking though Switzerland, this hotel offered the much needed laundry machines! Also, the hotel will pack lunches to take with you which we found to be excellent. The rooms were large, clean, and quiet. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street to assure the most quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happymountainhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is well located, especially if you book a room with a balcony view. It has a good common area and a good restaurant. It also has a small outdoor and indoor play area for little kids - important for our 2 year old.
The only negative was the woman who runs the place. The poor dear, she has the wrong personality for the hospitality industry - distant, cold, and very few people skills.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellowdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Positive:
My room was large, clean, well presented and I had great views from my balcony. The food was very nice if a bit pricey. The staff spoke good english and were very helpfull when required.
Negative:
The flies. There were flies everywhere, not just in the hotel but around the whole town. I was amazed to find that no measures seemed to be taken to deter the flies from the restaurant. Maybe some sort of insectocuter or even fly paper would have been better than having to constantly waft flies off your food. Also the rooms did not have air conditioning. And on another, rather petty note, when i use the small bar of soap provided in the room i expect it to be replaced daily with a fresh bar. Mine got so small that i eventualy lost it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mani-Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#5 of 9 in Kandersteg
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
256 reviews
0 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blumlisalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blumlisalp

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 84, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: $154 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blumlisalp 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blumlisalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blumlisalp Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing