We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
111
101
38
22
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
101
38
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room rail journey bath shower kids club public rooms are indoor swimming pool lovely hotel stayed for nights reception staff coffee machine large family small lift views of the mountains short walk from the station boiled eggs old world charm hotel is centrally located
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 278 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night while on a hiking tour.

The hotel is large and has a lovely sitting room and large dining area.

The rooms are good size and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is modern and very functional.

We had a fixed menu dinner although there were some choices. All courses were very tasty and well presented. The only negative comment I would make here is that the time taken for the sweet to arrive after the main course was excessively long.

Wi-Fi was free but due to a technical error did not extend to the rooms. We were however given access to Wi-Fi in the sitting room and dining area.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was exceptional with a huge variety of breads cereals, meats, cheeses,, dried fruits and a hot option of bacon and scrambled or fried eggs. There was also Bircher muesli and varying yoghurts and croissant's, etc.

An elevator is present in the building.

In summary this is a really nice hotel in which to stay with good service and food, and an old world charm.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 915MichaelG915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casi.platzer, Owner at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear Michael
Thank you for your good review and your comments, that help us improving our service quality.
We apologise for the long wait for the dessert after the main course. This should normally not happen.
And good news: the Wi-Fi is of course working perfectly again in the public areas and also in the hotel rooms. So the next time you come and stay with us, everything should be OK.
Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Casimir Platzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We arrived to Kandersteg by train. Hotel is a five minute walk from the train station. A very central location, next to shops, grocery stores and restaurants.

The hotel was very clean, and offered very spacious family rooms. We benefited of a two bedroom with a lovely balcony and views of the mountains.

Breakfast was included during our stay. Excellent choice of cereals, breads, croissants and also eggs and bacon.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Stephcorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

The hotel has a long history. The hotel is centrally located not far away from the railway station. The rooms are ok. The reception staff is kind. Not sure about the restaurant they have. All in all a bit overpriced for what they offer.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claudia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casi.platzer, Owner at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear Claudia
Many thanks for your review and also for the comments. They are very valuable for us in order to improve our services. Apparently you quite enjoyed your stay with us and liked the history of the hotel, the location and also the rooms and front desk staff. It's a shame that you didn't try our restaurant. It is rated in the Gault Millau and also in the Guide Michelin guide and has a wide choice of fresh and local dishes. I'm not sure in which room you stayed and what the price was, but you obviuosly came in our very peak season and the rates are higher than earlier or later in the summer.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon and thank you again for your inputs.
Casimir Platzer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

We spent 3 nights here arriving by train. It was a short walk from the station. Our room on the 2nd floor was very spacious with a dressing area as well as the ensuite. We had 2 small balconies overlooking the street.
The pool is a good size & very peaceful for relaxing on the loungers after a swim with lovely views of the mountains.
We were on the half board option with a choice of food. The standard of cuisine was good but not excellent, however it was plentiful. We enjoyed some local wines.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Moyra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Lovely hotel, which appears to be newly renovated. Everything seemed fresh and new. On top of that, out spacious accommodation had a fabulous view of the Alps. Kandersteg, and this hotel, are the perfect location If you want to go hiking in the Alps. And the food in the hotel restaurant was innovative and excellent. We had a fabulous time here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews