We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel did not match the beautiful surroundings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hotel did not match the beautiful surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

From the outside this looked an excellent hotel situated at the centre of a village in a stunningly beautiful alpine setting. The public rooms were similarly attractive. However, our bedroon was a disappointment. None of the furniture matched and was old and scuffed. The bathroom was dark and the flooring was lino which had seen better days. Overall the impression was that this was where they stored the old furniture before taking it to the tip. However on the positive side the room / bathroom were clean and fresh towels were provided each day. Also when we did encounter a problem the staff responded promptly and sorted it out quickly. Food was reasonable but the breakfasts were somewhat chaotic with staff unable to meet the needs of guests in a timely fashion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 288Eurotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    68
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
53
100
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hospitality was excellent. Staff are friendly, polite and very helpful. The food was great with vegetarian options. The hotel itself is nice, tidy and style is in keeping with the town feel. Room ws great as well. Our only dissatisfaction were the pillows. They use down pillows which offer very little neck support. However, this seems to be a common practice throughout Switzerland and Austria and therefore not really a fault of the hotelier.

We stayed at this hotel via Inntravel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_June_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geordie land
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

As part of our Great Rail Journey this was our second Swiss Hotel and officially closed, they had opened specifically to accommodate us. Old fashioned grandeur with recently refurbished rooms made this a wonderful, unforgettable, experience. Our room was on the front, the poorer view onto the village but still good with french doors opening onto one large balcony that ran the length of the first floor. Everything was spotlessly clean and our only problem was we could not get the Tassimo machine to work properly, giving only a tiny amount of coffee, could have done with more comprehensive instructions. From the corridor outside our room there were circular windows overlooking the very grand dining room with high ceilings and huge chandiliers. On the walls were excellent modern paintings, mostly animals, by a local artist. There was a skeleton staff looking after our group of 39 but you would not have known that from the service we received, superb. Long tables seating 10, dressed with crisp white linen, massive candelabras and expensive cutlery enhanced the feel of times gone by. Dinner was acceptable but not memorable. Breakfast was fantastic with everything you could want for a continental breakfast with theories around the water boiler of why it took eggs longer to cook at altitude abounding and providing much merriment. They also invited us to make our own sandwich for a packed lunch to take away for 3 Francs, a bargain we happily took up. A cooked buffet would have made this perfect for us but understandable with few staff. After dinner Keith kindly played the grand piano and we all sang along, making a great atmosphere.
The swimming pool was a good size with sauna and steam shower if you wanted them and a childrens play room with toys and books. Wifi was free in the lounge and available in the rooms for a charge.

We have had several holidays in Switzerland but Kandersteg was the most perfect village we've stayed at, small but perfectly formed and the last place you would expect to find such a large, grand hotel. We would love to have spent more in this delightful hotel in perfect Kandersteg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank col-sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited Kandersteg and the Victoria hotel for a much needed last minute break. it was delightful to find the The team know their customers and nothing it seems is too much trouble. The highest standards still apply from decor, cleanliness, delicious food to fantastic multi lingual staff. it is so comfortable and quiet and as a base to walk from, it is perfect. The rooms are quiet, spotless and we were fortunate to have beautiful views of the mountains. Whether or not this is a full blown walking holiday or a few days break, we cannot think of a lovlier place to base yourself than this great hotel in beautiful Kandersteg. We will definitely return again next year

Room Tip: just ask, all requests are met with willingness to please the guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

For the second half of our great rail journey we stayed in Kandesteg. The hotel was comfortable and the room we had (417) was large with a good view over the mountains and cable car. The bathroom could have benefited with a makeover but had plenty of
space. The dining room was very opulent and had a feel of 1920/30's decadence. The food was well presented and whilst there was a limited choice between either meat or vegetarian we enjoyed it. Breakfast offered a good choice however the two slice toaster was too small for this size hotel. The indoor pool was large and very clean, nice to swim in a warm pool whilst enjoying views of snowy mountains.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wendywoos2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The second main centre on a recent Great Rail Journey was here in Kandersteg. The Hotel Victoria has a lot to like particularly the genuine if slightly fraying "Belle Epoque" touches. The public rooms - lounge and dining room - are splendid spaces with elaborate glass chandeliers etc. The bedoom (112) we were given as a couple was more like a family suite with a separate room with bunk beds and comfortable sofa. The main room with two attached single beds was very spacious and both rooms had access to a balcony (no outside seating) with mountain views. Getting in and out of the bath/shower was a bit of a challenge as the shower doors on top of the bath got in the way of easy access. Unusually there was a machine for hot drinks although this proved to be a bit temperamental.

We liked Kandersteg very much and the hotel is only a few minutes walk to the station and there are shops, bank etc very close.

On a package tour the food was only just O.K with no choices apart from a meat main course or vegetarian option. Foolishly some of us tried the veggie dish one evening - the alternative was chicken curry with rice! - but we struggled with 3 stalks of inedible white asparagus, a bit of mushroomy scrambled egg and a baked potato beautifully presented in foil shaped like a swan!

Breakfast also presented a challenge if you wanted a boiled egg (the only cooked option). Mastering the egg boiler became a matter of great hilarity amongst our party but rarely did any one get away with an egg boiled to their liking.

The hotel features a swimming pool, library/ quiet room and games room. In the lounge there is a grand piano where I "entertained" the great railway travellers on three nights culminating in a grand finish with everyone singing "Auld Lang Syne". Not perhaps the up-market image which the MD of Great Rail Journeys wants to convey!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Only stayed for a few days but wished it could have been for longer. Best hotel and food that we have enjoyed during tour of Switzerland. In an excellent location with just a few minutes pleasant walk to the railway station.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms have good views but you can request a mountain view should you wish
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria

Property: Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 2, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland (Formerly Victoria Ritter Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Victoria is centrally located with a great view on the snow topped mountains. You will find a cheerful and familiar atmosphere combined with best Swiss hotel tradition. The ideal place to relax and enjoy oneself.Various recreational activities are at your disposal: indoor swimming-pool, sauna and steam-shower, a beautiful park and a sun terrace. In our restaurant Ritter you will enjoy excellent dining. Our rustic rooms in the Ritter or the comfortable rooms in the Victoria are all equipped with radio, colour-TV and direct-dialling telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Ritter
Victoria Ritter Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing