We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, great staff and well presented.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a hiking trip and were initaially a little embarrassed about our tattered appearance upon arrival....no worries though!

The hotel staff had been kind enough to upgrade our room and we had a clean and good sized "Mini-suite" with a great bathroom and walk-in wardrobe/ closet.

The hotel staff were brilliant and very helpful, the service was fast and discrete and the receptionist (Doris) was able to deal with our enquiries in a very professional manner.

The food was way above what we expected....it was amazing. Breakfast was a sumptuous banquet and the evening meal was heavenly, delivered in a speedy and friendly manner.

Our only critism, and it is only a very small one, is that we did not have a balcony to sit on and enjoy the beautiful views.

Room Tip: Try for a mini-Suite or ask for a room with a balcony to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pleione73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in June.all staff were so helpful and welcoming and the restaurant food divine.
We stayed in an apartment which was modern ,spacious and beautifully appointed.
Very central to everything in Kandersteg,
Highly recommended from New Zealand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARILYN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria in Kandersteg is a very nice hotel, located in village center. Very close to the train station and the perfect place for all activities.
I enjoyed my stay and recommend this hotel to everyone. This hotel is clean and well maintained; the staff is friendly and well trained. Extended breakfast buffet, nice swimming pool, beautifully garden, nice bar, terrace and restaurant. Everything you need for a nice stay in Kandersteg.
The historical part of the Hotel is noisy (grinding), but nice experience.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yamatthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

There was a warm welcome when we arrived and throughout our stat. The food and service we both very good. The room could possibly do with a little updating, particularly the bathroom. I would recommend you also have a meal in A la cater restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Shure the place was basically only opened up to the GRJ group and there were some shortfalls as expressed by Gordon and Conner but ...... As a base to start or end but still to do some more exploring of the Swiss trains it does have a lot to offer as a base away from Brig .

It is located in a small Swiss village with nice walks on the flat after train trips where you have been sitting for a few hours .

Yes it would have been nice to have had a swim.

5 franks for a limited Wi Fi connection was a bit steep and we should all press for free Wi Fi these days

Ronnie ... hope you can get the TV'S to work for the English stations without the pixilation problems

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldermorleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casi.platzer, Manager at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Oldermorleys

Thank you for your comments and relativizing the comments of Gordon and Connor.

Again another fairly poor rating, mainly because of the same reason as Gordon and Connor.
A little unfair, as your holiday company had not given you the right information…

Anyway, at least you liked the location and we hope that you will be coming back to visit us soon.
Kandersteg is a lovely, very genuine Swiss mountain village and the scenery is absolutely world class.

Kindest regards,
Casimir Platzer, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys holiday in May. During the time of our stay the holiday was actually shut (as was most of Kandersteg) for "Betriebsferien" but prepared to open for groups only. This meant that none of the leisure facilities were open (pool and sauna) and some renovation work was underway. Unfortunately GRJ had not provided any information to their customers on this before arrival at the hotel.
Hotel and rooms in many places looked very tatty, food was disappointing and staff not very helpful (except for Ronnie the manager).
Our room was OK (except for a cracked sink) and had been converted into a suite.

Room Tip: Avoid single room 115. Small and bathroom heater has badly burned the wallpaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casi.platzer, Manager at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Gordon

Many thanks posting some comments on our hotel. We appreciate this as it helps us to develop our services.

As you mention, the hotel was actually officially closed when you stayed with us and some of the services as e.g. the indoor swimming-pool was not available. Your holiday company actually knew this and they should have told you.

Apparently you were happy with your room, but still gave us a very poor rating.
I think you should have given this rating to the company you booked with and not to us.

We hope that we can welcome you back on another occasion, hopefully during our season and you can use all our services.

Kindest regards,
Casimir Platzer, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights as part of group. Hotel closed to other guests as between seasons. We were well looked after, improvements underway to some rooms. The location is great lots to do in all seasons.
Would recommend rooms at the back of the hotel as less traffic noise early but all rooms very good. Good food.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandersteg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
300 reviews
0 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#5 of 9 in Kandersteg
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
256 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 2, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland (Formerly Victoria Ritter Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: $139 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Victoria is centrally located with a great view on the snow topped mountains. You will find a cheerful and familiar atmosphere combined with best Swiss hotel tradition. The ideal place to relax and enjoy oneself.Various recreational activities are at your disposal: indoor swimming-pool, sauna and steam-shower, a beautiful park and a sun terrace. In our restaurant Ritter you will enjoy excellent dining. Our rustic rooms in the Ritter or the comfortable rooms in the Victoria are all equipped with radio, colour-TV and direct-dialling telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Ritter
Victoria Ritter Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing