We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but some improvements still needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed three nights as part of a group tour in early March 2013. The hotel lounge and dining area is impressive with elegance from yesteryear.

The hotel is undergoing a gradual program of improving its rooms and on this occasion mine was one of those still to be renewed with decor from the late 60s and furniture from the early 70's Ikea-esq style. There were some minor issues with the room on arrival (such as the shower needed to be repaired and the bed itself was so low to the ground I had difficulty in getting in and out) but the staff were quickly on hand to make repairs as necessary. The room itself was not suitable for someone with more of a walking disability than I suffer having steps along the corridor, a step up into the room and a step down into the spacious bathroom (with lino on the walls as well as the floor - I said it was 60's style!). Against that though, had the location of the room been a problem I am sure that the helpful staff would have relocated me had I asked. Bedroom faced the road and had no noise from either the road or the railway overnight.

The food was slightly limited working from set courses in the evening (but that may have been the deal our group was on) but the food was well cooked, tasty and seconds were sometimes available.

The room even managed to have BBC East, BBC Channel Islands and BBC West available - a first for my visits to the Alps.

Solid 3 star let down on this occasion by the room allocated

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landienut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casi.platzer, Manager at Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Landienut

Thank you for your very precious comments.
As you mention, you would have been allocated another room if you had spoken to our front office staff.

Unfortunately your holiday company only books our most inexpensive and basic standard rooms, but whenever possible we try to upgrade our guests, when they don’t feel comfortable, especially with your walking disability. Maybe then you would have given us an extra point…

We have a total of 5 different room categories: suites, mini-suites, comfort rooms, chalet style rooms and the more basic and simple standard rooms, which are of course the most inexpensive.

Re. food, our usual halfboard dinner menu consists of a 4-course dinner with a choice of 3 menus. As you were travelling with a group with a slightly limited budget, the menus only have 3-courses and you get a choice of 2 different main courses.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future, of course in a more suitable room for you.

Best regards,
Casimir Platzer, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 231 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as a group holiday. The reception, lounge and dining areas are very beautiful and elegant. A sort of grandeur from a bygone age. Very pleasant.
Our room on the 4th floor had stunning mountain views. It was comfotable, clean, and quite spacious. No complaints, though others on our trip had faults with their rooms. But ours was fine which is all i can go by.
The breakfasts were good and food was plentiful, staff were always busy refilling and restocking. All efficient and good.
The evening meals were a set meal and were the worst part of our stay. The first nights portions were so small, grumblings of discontent reached the managers ears and a selection of cheeses and fruit was brought out to appease the still hungry guests. Not really up to standard for a quality hotel. The second night brought second helpings but the lack of choice was poor, with the main course being tuna which i had to eat as it was the only offering even though i'm not fond of tuna. The lack of any choice for the meals was awful, and spoilt the stay for me. I would love to stay here again as Kandersteg and the hotel are beautiful, but the poor food would prevent me doing so.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badcat110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a comfortable and well appointed hotel in the centre of the village of Kandersteg. The staff are friendly and well trained and the rooms comfortable. It is an excellent base for exploring the valley and the slopes. The indoor pool is a welcome retreat from the freezing weather and has wonderful views of the mountains. The food was OK but nothing special; the main improvement for me would be if there were tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.

Room Tip: not the 4th floor: some staff live on the 5th and it can be a bit noisy at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandabout31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The main parts of the hotel are extremely impressive with its massive but comfy bar/lounge area with more than enough sofas to sunggle up on. The dining room is outstanding with its long tables, chandeliers, and lovely big glass doors.

Next noteworthy area is the staff- lovely, friendly, approachable staff. Most of the ones you deal with on a regular basis (bar staff, waiters, reception) are fairly young in age but they are a real asset to this hotel. The girl behind the bar most nights was professional yet very friendly and willing to chat. The waiters were also polite and completely unflappable- especially when some members of our party gave the poor lads a grilling about what type of fish we were eating as they didn't know the English translation. They dealt with it a lot better than most would have!

The chef was great and his food was outstanding (apart from the veg lasagne!) We had set 3 course meals each night and the quality showed through. Breakfast may have benefitted from a cooked menu but that being said, the freshly baked rolls and croissants were to die for!!

There was an older lady who I presume was some kind of manager, I got bit of a harsh vibe from her on a couple of occassions (maybe she could take some customer service tips from her young employees..) The other senoir staff seemed friendly though I can't comment too much as I didn't have any direct dealings with them.

The ski bar downstairs was a welcome informal change to the main hotel bar and provided somewhere to have a pint and play some darts, so something for everyone.

The only negative I have to say about this hotel is the bathroom in our room. The room itself was spacious and had tea and coffee facilites and a nice big tv, but the bathroom was a bit neglected. The shower needed descaling and was quite low pressure, but that said it still did the job it was intended for.

I'm not one to go back to the same place twice as I like to explore new ones, but I would love to go back to Kandersteg and see what its like in the spring, and when I do I would stay at the Hotel Victoria Ritter again! THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful Xmas week with all our family of selves(grandparents),3 couples(our 3 children+partners-average age 40) and our grandson(14 months).Picturesque village,magnificent scenery and snow coated mountains and so much to do by way of skiing in Kandersteg and elsewhere nearby to whatever standard you are.Plenty trips available for walking or train down to the lakes to visit Thun and Spiez and perhaps sail on lake.Excellent train service from airport to hotel and locally complemented by good bus service,
In hotel,everything was excellent.Great food,superb helpful staff,accomodation first class and pristine clean-a very welcoming atmosphere.Great hotel facilities with a decent sized swimming pool,sauna and well stocked play area for children of all ages.Petty good altogether

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just returned from a christmas break in the hotel victoria kandersteg. It was fantastic.
The hotel holds a perfect balance between making the holiday special with very little outward fuss. The food was fantastic. The service impeccible. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The comfort rooms we had were just that, comfortable. Very clean and spacious with satellite tv.
The hotel is well located to all amenities. excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Una K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The perfect fairytale Christmas break. It was just as I imagied in my dreams. The arrangements by the travel agent 'Inn travel' were spot on. The hotel a delight. Old world charm, very clean, modern TV, exquisite food (5 course gala dinner on Christmas day). Heaps of choice for breakfast - as much as you wanted. The hotel was by the road but no road noise heard. Toasty warm all the time. Lots of hot water for showers. The included extras such as skating, curling, torch lit stroll with mulled wine, sleigh ride and fondue evening all happened perfecly without any drama. Plenty of snow around but not much fell during the 5 days. Nothing that the hotel could do about mother nature! Beautiful mountain location. Free village busses during our stay. Borrowed the free sledges and enjoyed lots of places to use them. Lots of shops in the village to mooch around. Close to the station. Enjoyed the cable car up the mountain and sat in the sun at the top and watched the skiers. A great holiday for non skiing, not overly action family. Lots of action had we have wanted to join in however.
Brilliant 6 days - even enough to keep our teenagers amused.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor views excellent.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lem0nL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 2, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland (Formerly Victoria Ritter Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: $158 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Victoria is centrally located with a great view on the snow topped mountains. You will find a cheerful and familiar atmosphere combined with best Swiss hotel tradition. The ideal place to relax and enjoy oneself.Various recreational activities are at your disposal: indoor swimming-pool, sauna and steam-shower, a beautiful park and a sun terrace. In our restaurant Ritter you will enjoy excellent dining. Our rustic rooms in the Ritter or the comfortable rooms in the Victoria are all equipped with radio, colour-TV and direct-dialling telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Ritter
Victoria Ritter Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing