We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week at Alpina”
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpina Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We returned to the Alpina for the 3rd time at the end of July. Herr Hari is as friendly & welcoming as ever. We love the simple, clean rooms, the great atmosphere and the food. A highlight was the special menu for Swiss national day on 1st August.

We will surely return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexTrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stopped off for one night while taking the train from eastern France to Milano and I certainly want to go back for a few days. Run by two very friendly families. The furniture and decor are perhaps thirty years old but have lasted well and it has character. You might not want to go there for a romantic weekend if you're young and like the bright lights, but for families and older couples I can't think how you could beat it.

The restaurant now serves just one option for dinner, the night we were there it was consommé with sherry, steak with tomatoes and sorbet with vodka; you can have the main or all three course. There's a good selection of Swiss wines. The meal was delicious - I can still recall the taste two weeks later.

During dinner we were invited to step outside to see the procession of cattle moving up to the summer pastures. Perfectly relaxing and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank re06202014c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My Family (2 Adults - 2 Children) stayed two nights in the Hotel Alpina. The owner and his family provided us with a wonderful room with a loft for the kids. The room was super clean and the meals were excellent and very reasonably priced. Herr Hari and his wife attended to all of our needs and we would certainly stay here again. We all loved it!

Finley Family

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finley-Linnarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stopped here in the summer for a night and the owner was welcoming.

The rooms are a little small, but this is typical of a Swiss mountain area. The price was a little high, but again, this is typical of Switzerland which is not a cheap country by any means, and is probably more symptomatic of the weak british pound! Also, it is still cheaper than other hotels in the area I think.

Breakfast is a a fairly basic continental affair.

We didn't have dinner in the hotel but there seemed to be a nice set menu available. Would recommend staying here and would do so again if in the area. The only negative was that the wi-fi reception didn't reach our room, though it didn't bother us much.

This is a really beautiful area, and there is a lot of hiking etc to be done. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foiegras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in Jan 2012 for the Belle Epoch week. It was out 12th stay at out 'Swiss home' We have ben coming to Kandersteg for years and stayed with the Hari's on all occasions.
We come back year after year because the village and surrounding areas are beautiful and the hotel is very comfortable and the food excellent.
If you are expecting 5 star luxury, this isnt it. If you want normal Swiss people and a clean a comfortable hotel, you have found it here.

I have travelled all over the world on business and stayed in many luxury hotels and if I could choose just one that I was allowed to stay in again it would be Alpina.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thighsofsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This little hotel is a charmer; reasonable rates, clean and comfortable rooms, generous breakfast and an interesting and helpful host. We had a nice balcony with a view to the surrounding mountains. Herr and Frau Hari are very attentive in the dining room, making sure one has all one needs. We had the prix fix dinner one evening and it was quite delicious. The breakfast buffet is stocked with fresh ingredients and more than enough. We stayed 5 nights here and felt very much at home. Herr Hari invited us to a jodlefest in which he was participating and it was beautiful. It was a wonderful place to return to after a hard day hiking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

A friend and I stayed in Hotel Alpina in the 2nd week of Sept, had mostly wonderful weather. The owners were very friendly and helpful, giving advice on hiking trails, etc. and made us feel at home. We had "half-pension" (fixed menu dinners) in addition to the buffet breakfast, which was very good and plentiful. The dinners were very good, served very nicely so that seconds were easily available, and the service was very attentive. The room and bathroom were a little on the small side, but adequate, and well compensated for by the beautiful view from our balcony. The location was on the main street and we enjoyed the atmosphere of Kandersteg very much. We found the building charming and comfortable. There is a large grassy yard with lawn chairs available as well.

Room Tip: room with balcony in main section had great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrock87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.3 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#5 of 9 in Kandersteg
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 92 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: $128 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing