We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alfa Soleil
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bernerhof(Kandersteg)
$199
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blumlisalp(Kandersteg)
$165
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet-Hotel Adler(Kandersteg)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpina Hotel(Kandersteg)(Great Value!)
$127
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Alpes(Kandersteg)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$234
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
148
54
14
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
54
14
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic lunchstaff went out of their wayclassic swisswalking routeslog firereception staff aregourmet experienceholiday repswiss railstayed here for one weekweather conditionsswimming poolcross country skiinglocal ingredientswalking holidayrailway stationpacked lunch
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 225 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for the second year running in May 2013. We were upgraded as soon as we arrived and everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. The Seiler family both junior and senior are charming hosts, the food at Nico's restaurant is delicious and inventive, the rooms are beautiful and are kept immaculate by the cleaning staff. All staff are very courteous and charming. We feel sure that any prospective guests will enjoy a marvellous holiday at this hotel! The surrounding scenery is breathtaking and we found the village very friendly.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and detail your requirements, they will definitely help
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 596Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Having been now the third time in this hotel we cannot help giving it highest marks. The service of family Seiler and their staff is unbeateble. The rooms are nice and spacious, with a breathtaking view on the mountains. The hotel's own restaurant (Nico´s Restaurant) offers superb food, real value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnabel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

For our recent ski weekend to Adelboden, we had the great fortune that all hotels were booked and we had to look elsewhere. Our discovery ... ALFA SOEIL in Kandersteg. Herr Seiler and his family took extremely good care of us. The hotel was in tip-top shape, our room - spacious and boasting a terrific balcony / view. They also put out a great breakfast, with locally baked breads and home made jams.

An absolute must is the Restaurant NICO, located in the hotel. A 2-crown Gilde rated restaurant. Food to die for. Splurge ... it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adlai_n_Ewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We met Agnes in 2004 when we were searching for a hotel in Kandersteg looking for a good hotel to bring a group the following year. We took an option for twelve rooms and returned with twenty four Americans for 12 nights the next September.
Everything about the hotel met our expectations and more including each days breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant. This year (2013) will be our ninth consecutive year to return to Kandersteg and the Alfa Soleil. Peter and Agnes do everything possible to make our visit exceptional including finding out when the decorated cows and sheep will be brought down from the alpine pastures and where we may attend local festivals in the area.
The Alfa Soleil is not to be mistaken for a Holiday Inn or Marriott but if you want to experience the REAL Switzerland, it's our favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: Balcony Rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alacartetours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Not a good value for the money.
Good location. Good restaurant (a little expensive ! ) .
However hotel rooms are NOT at 3 stars as the hotel is classified.
Old furniture, old equipments ( bathroom), one can hear EVERY noise in the near rooms, plus screechings and steps from the room on the top. Almost like a haunted house !
Couldn't sleep in that room.
I wouldn't stay at this hotel even for LESS money and I definitely wouldn't recommend the hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pilles56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews