We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
192
80
26
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
192
80
26
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room spa area great spa train station hot food to order mini bar hotel minibus junior suite min drive spoke english excellent hotel small town two nights we stayed half board afternoon tea and cake positive side an excellent choice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 321 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2019

This is a beautiful property with a great spa/sauna/indoor pool. We were in a junior suite, which was very spacious with a nice view of the front of the property. The restaurant was very good, but with prices to match (but that's Switzerland generally). The only really odd part of the stay was that the staff was a bit on the brusque side generally. Nothing off-putting, and every request was handled efficiently, it's just that we never got a sense of warmth from he staff. But the quality of the rooms (at least ours), restaurant and facilities were top notch. Kandersteg itself is a small town within a short walk of the property, and if you want to base your Swiss adventures from this town, this is an excellent choice for a hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JK4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2019

This is an exceptional four start hotel! It offers all the comfort of five plus hotels. It’s located in a beautiful part of the Swiss Alps. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a Swiss touch. Service is excellent; staff are very professional and helpful. There are a number of restaurants in this hotel, we had dinner at the Gourmet Restaurant, and we had eaten like kings. There is an excellent choice in the breakfast buffet and a la carte. The Spa has a nice swimming pool, saunas, hammams, etc. A good place to enjoy nature, eat well and be spoiled. Definitely, we will return!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RuthPasq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Switzerland was experiencing a heat wave and our room wasn't air-conditioned, but our overall experience here was quite pleasant. It's located in a small town and has a relationship with a nearby restaurant. Great headquarters for hiking and outdoor activities.

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank davemh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

Room is well decorated; Dinner price is reasonable. Breakfast is great; close to blausee and oeschinensee 15 min drive; staff are warm and nice; a bit far way from the station (can ask for shuttle service).

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank EmilyNis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

All in all, the hotel is gorgeous and the location ideal. Easy walk to town and the Oeschinen Lake Gondola which is an absolute must-do hike.

There is a very serene Spa available with an indoor pool, saunas, and hot tubs that is worth checking out.

The breakfast is authentic and fresh and your stay includes a cook to order menu as well as a room filled with pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and cheese/meat spreads.

The basic rooms are extremely small and the walls are paper thin. We heard every toilet flush and hallway visitor. Definitely not worth 300 dollars a night.

But the worst part for us was the Front Desk staff. Switzerland for us was filled with kind and welcoming people. We couldn’t get over how genuinely nice everyone was. Until we got to the Waldhotel Dordenoff.

After missing 2 trains, we ended up getting into the Kanderstag train station very late at around 8:45 pm. We got off thinking there would be cabs and lights, not realizing it would just be a pitch dark platform. We had no cellular service on our cell phones so had no way of calling the hotel. After tracking down someone who spoke English, We got some vague directions to walk from the station to the hotel. We walked 35 minutes in the pitch dark with all of our luggage, in the wrong way, until someone was SO nice and pulled over and offered to give us a ride.

We were so tired, so sweaty, and so hungry but SO happy to finally arrive at the gorgeous hotel. We arrived around 9:50 pm.

Anje (I think I’m missing on letter) checked us in and right away we felt like children in trouble. Before we even said anything she asked “Are you Aleisha?”. I answered yes...to which she replied in a disproving tone “we tried to call you”. We explained that we had missed trains and gotten lost and had to walk to the hotel but we were so happy to be there. We didn’t get one smile. She told us that we should have called for the shuttle. We immediately felt like an inconvenience.

Every time we visited the front desk to ask about different things to doin the area and to schedule a shuttle we felt as if we were intruding. There was no warmth, no kindness shown.

Lastly, the hotel advertises an airport shuttle to the Zurich airport. It’s a 2 1/2 hour trip, roughly. We asked about it and were shot down right away and told trains would be best. We asked how much the shuttle was... 500 American dollars. We ended up leaving a night early to ensure we could make it to the airport on time as the earliest train is 5:00 am, which didn’t leave us much time for error for our flight if we missed a train. We didn’t expect to get any of our money back but before the words were even out of our mouth we were being shot down in the rudest way. She told us “especially since we already got our room as such a discount rate there was nothing they could do”. Our discount rate was 300 per night.

As we were leaving a French family came in and the same 2 ladies (Anje and Sabina) who were so rude to us the entire stay lit up and welcomed them with smiles and friendliness. We left feeling as if they were not American friendly as we didn’t feel at home during our entire stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank MySoulsAdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews