We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in kandersteg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

just had an amazing week at Walhotel Doldenhorn, food, staff, spa, room everything perfect.
How this hotel is only 5 out of 9 hotels in Kandersteg is crazy as it is the best by far.
Loved the different eating options especially the Old chalet and the Igloo, had a great gourmet meal one evening.
Spa and pool are exceptional great for relaxing after a day skiing, and of course feeling very special getting picked up at the chair lift by the hotels car
Very classy place highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Waldhotel Doldenhorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I always try to read the last few reports before writing mine. I recognise some of the grumbles. Yes, there were a couple of minor mistakes made during our week’s stay. However, neither of them was critical and all were put right with generous apologies and courtesy. There is a difference in the way different cultures run their hotels. Once you understand the Swiss they are hard to beat!

Nothing as complicated as this hotel will ever run without the occasional hiccup – it is the way in which it is resolved that matters. Each time the Waldhotel scored ten out of ten.

We also had stayed at the Royal Park. Our stay at the Waldhotel was a far better experience in almost every way. In terms of location the fact that it is not in the centre of Kandersteg makes it quieter and if you want running into town or collecting you only need to ask.

For us one of the greatest unexpected benefits was the Ruidihus. Less than ten minutes walk away it provided a totally different evening dinner experience. The set dinner in the Waldhotel tended to be excellent but quite rich. The Ruidihus specialised in simpler food like fondue and raclette. It made a wonderful alternative and helped one appreciate the hotel menus that bit more. On our last night the hotel dinner was a fish buffet, part of it collected by going into the kitchen – fantastic and what a brave chef!

The Waldhotel has effectively four dining areas. The Winter Garden, the wooden bistro, the blue (gourmet) restaurant and the (larger) green one. Add the Ruidihus and the Ice House and you could eat in a different area for six consecutive nights if you wanted to.

Our ‘ambience’ room was generous in size and had a balcony. We had occasional problem with the hot water and heating. However, the staff were quick to react to phone calls and the problems were solved.

The Wellness Centre is most impressive and the day we arrived they launched their new Salt Room (first in Switzerland we are told). As we were staying across Christmas the pool was dominated, in the late afternoon, by noisy children – but that cannot be blamed on the hotel and we soon worked out how to time our visits to avoid them.

Our impression of the staff was that they were, without exception, friendly and efficient. Quite a few that we chatted to had been there for twenty or more years. At the other end of the spectrum were several students still training – but no less helpful.

We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TandCFulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

By any standards, this is a very good hotel. Fabulous room, great location, brilliant spa area, high quality food, and yet.... there is something about the service that is not quite so spontaneous or helpful as one would expect in this quality of hotel. There was no immediate offer to help with our luggage, the reception staff would be busy with paperwork and not respond to the customer at the desk, standing at the bar did not seem to convey the message that I would like to order a drink. The staff were all impeccably polite and helpful (eventually), but we came away with the distinct feeling that the non-Swiss staff were more naturally eager to please. Nevertheless, this is a really good hotel and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moratin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed in several hotels in Switzerland (including Wengen, Davos, Murren, Zermatt and St Moritz), and we liked this hotel very much even if our favourite resort is still Wengen. This hotel does have many plus points - in particular the lovely quiet location away from any main roads, and a very tastefully decorated "wellness area" comprising the swimming pool and spa area. We were given an upgrade from an ordinary double room to a suite when we arrived, which was super - again the decor was very tasteful and it was lovely to have two balconies. Being able to make up our own packed lunches from the breakfast buffet each morning was a significant bonus. The visitors' card giving us free use of the bus into Kandersteg was useful. And the hotel also had easy access to a number of lovely nearby walks.

On the down side, we did have some minor criticisms. For example, we were surprised to be charged 4 francs for a half litre of still water at dinner each evening. I had asked for tap water but the waiter indicated that this was what they provided. The waiters and waitresses generally were very friendly but we felt they probably needed a more experienced head waiter to be in charge of the restaurant to ensure that people weren't kept waiting too long, or that language barriers could be overcome more quickly. Also, the hotel restaurant is closed one day a week, and so we had to go to a neighbouring restaurant one night for dinner. Fine if you like raclette or mountainous slabs of meat and sauerkraut - probably very traditional but really not very enticing. We also found that the hotel minibus 3 times a week to Adelboden advertised in the Swiss Travel brochure did not happen at this time of the year. My bedside light was so dim that it was impossible to read by it, and my husband would have liked to have been able to get an English speaking TV station e.g. CNN to catch up on the news.

We might go back again one year, but on balance feel we are much more likely to return to Wengen.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite looking across the valley
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is set in amongst trees and it has wonderful views of the mountains.
the room we were given was massive! it had a jacuzzi at the foot of the bed, two toilets a sitting room and a but you up bed if needed. the verandah had beutiful views. I lay on the sunbed at night listening to the small babbling brook next to the hotel and watching the mountains light up with lightening.
the food was first class
ths swimming pool and fitness room very good.
over all a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: if the room is not to your liking ask to change
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Kandersteg is surely one of the most beautiful places in the world. It walls within the Junfrau World Heritage area. South west of Interlaken it is not yet as crowded or commercial as the towns on the South East (Grindenwald, Lauterbrunnen etc). This was the second year in a row that we spent summer in Kandersteg. The last year (2011) we were at the Royal Park which as a hotel was a huge disappointment - surely falsely claiming to be a 5 star property. This year royal park shut down and the "next best" place we heard was Doldenhorn. And I am so happy that Royal Park shut down otherwise we never would have discovered this Gem. Here are the things I loved about this place (in no particular order)
1. Nice location - not as nice perhaps as Royal Park - in terms of the view - but still very good and more secluded and private. Right behind our room ( we had almost the whole of one of the chalets) was a huge wooded cliff soaring high. Ample car parking and ground spaces.
2. Outstanding food - really a class above anything else . But they need English menus. Surprising they just didnt have English menus. Fortunately Annika - spoke excellent English and explained everything for us. Great Breakfast - and with some trouble - special requests were eventually accomodated
3. Large, comfortable, modern and very clean rooms - nothing fantastic - but with the amazing natural environs - really who needs or even wants - the typical over the top rooms at the fancy big chains or the small chic boutiques.
4. Bar open round the clockl
5. Pool - what an amazing pool and spa. Many saunas, steam room, cold plunge etc etc. But the highlight is the pool - which is indoor - but has a small "door" through which one can swim into a part of the pool which is in the outdoors - mmmm - savor the crisp air and mountain views and then come back in. We did this all the time.
6. Staff was efficient. Not super polite - but by swiss standards - very good. And very willing for pickups and dropoffs from/to the station and restaurants (Des Alpes was a place we went to often - nice pizzas/burgers/pastas and a place where you can let the kids run and scream - when you've had enough of the formal atmosphere at the restaurant in the hotel)

Nothing really negative to report about the hotel as such. Overall in switzerland one does sometimes find the service to be a bit reluctant and unwilling - even if its efficient. I am not sure how to describe it. Some of my friends felt there's a racist attitude in switzerland. I am not sure quite what it is. The staff is usually efficient but in a "matter of fact" way - not warm or friendly. But in my experience this is "normal" in Switzerland.

Simple, comfortable - great food - great pool

Best things to do in Kandersteg
Oeschinen see - got to do the toboggan up there
Sun Buhl
Excursions to Frutigen, Adelboden and of course interlaken
the Rothorn Bahn in Brienz is outstanding - google it !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RishiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

After our first visit in May, 2010 I have returned twice: Christmas 2010 was nothing short of perfection. The decorations all around the hotel were so elegant and understated, ambience like that of being in someone's home for the Holidays. Toss in heavy snowfalls while swimming in the indoor pool and in the outdoor jacuzzi with cross country skiieres zooming within feet of you as you soak in the warm water, it simply cannot be out done. The Christmas Eve dinner was very special with the owner telling the Christmas story in 3 languages.
In June 2011 my husband and I returned to share hotel with friends for their first visit. The weather overcast with the Alps in view only the day of arrival and day of departure. That said, we relaxed in the steam rooms, jacuzzi, and savored the remarkable food. True R & R after two weeks of non-stop travel through Tuscany. Only glitch was the lack of a full time masseuse as we had in the past but the staff went out of the way to have someone there for us. Hoping to return for Christmas this year. Note: For the reviewer who said the steam rooms were not on-phone ahead and ask them to turn them on. Otherwise they do not waste the electriciyt as so many people go out early for skiing or hiking. I stop at the desk after breakfast and tell them what time I plan to go to the spa area and they are glad to accommodate.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandersteg
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.7 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#5 of 9 in Kandersteg
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Landgasthof Ruedihus
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
215 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Doldenhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Doldenhorn

Address: Doldenhornstrasse, Kandersteg CH-3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range: $252 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waldhotel Doldenhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Staying with friends" In Kandersteg, the most beautiful place in the Bernese Oberland, to expect the Waldhotel Doldenhorn **** Superior with its award-winning cuisine, which you can enjoy in various restaurants and bars. The Resort features a generous wellness & spa area, where you can bathe in the purest mountain spring water. In enchanting little park, the mountain water flows harmoniously through small streams. Our hotel invites you to relax, enjoy and feel a. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldhotel Doldenhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel Doldenhorn Kandersteg
Waldhotel Doldenhorn Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing