We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent will return many times”
Review of Chalet-Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
GreenLeadersBronze level
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent will return many times”
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We have spent two separate holidays at the Chalet Adler Hotel. The first time being via a coach tour and the second time booked directly with the hotel ourselves.

The first time we stayed there we were a family of five people as part of the bus tour. We were made to feel welcome with exceptionally friendly and helpful management and all staff. The rooms were of a high standard and were kept immaculately clean as was the rest of the hotel. The food was of good quality and presentation was of high standard. We also enjoyed the benefits of swimming pool, sauna and games room.

The only problem with this holiday was it was not long enough to enjoy everything about Kandersteg and the local area which were absolutely excellent and mind blowing.

My wife and I returned to Chalet Adler as privately booked guests in December 2007 to spend two weeks over the Christmas and New Year period. We travelled by car from the UK. En-route we spent two nights in hotels, (one in Brussels and then one in Zurich). Both of these belonged to a large international group of hotels and they both turned out to be of a rather poor standard.
After this experience we were a little apprehensive on our arrival at Chalet Adler as to whether we would still receive the welcome we received on our previous visit.

We did receive the most friendly, curteous and warm welcome that could be imagined. We felt as though we were royalty. Management and staff could not do enough for us. We even met people who had also returned more than once who were on the first bus tour with us. This made a very happy reunion which was totally unexpected.

Throughout our stay the standards remained of the highest quality as did the attitude of management and staff. The hotel owner/manager gave us extremely good advice on where to visit and method of transport to be used. This proved invaluable.

We are returning this year with our immediate family for summer and a winter break. We find the hotel value for money,and of a very high standard. WE RECOMMEND IT TO ALL.

  • Liked — Central location in outstanding village, cleanliness, friendly, exceptional food, oustanding value for money
  • Disliked — Could not stay longer.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    164
    54
    39
    25
See reviews for
29
325
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Kandersteg is one of the most beutifull and relaxing places in the swiss alps. Hotel chalet Adler a traditional chalet type hotel with good facilitities. The bar, the restaurant and the lovely waiting staff, all made for a lovely break. All except the owner manager who was rude in manner and verbally, beyond belief. If one can avoid this one individual, you are assured of a wonderfull stay.
The walking, the locality and the sceanary surpassed all expectations. Bravo!

  • Liked — accessability, traditional swiss accomm, staff friendly helpfull
  • Disliked — the hotel manager/owner he was very very rude, not on one occassion but repeatedly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eakring
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful week in Kandersteg where we stayed at the Adler Hotel. The Hotel is small and friendly. The room was clean, warm and cosy and a good size with a whirlpool bath, lovely after a days walking. The restaurant was very festive. The food was really well presented and delicious. The swimming pool was very warm and a lovely place to relax. Kandersteg is perfect, the hotel had wonderful views all around of the mountains. There are several small cafes. The walks around Kandersteg are wonderful and varied. Everything is on the doorstep - cross country skiing etc. Kandersteg station is very handy for visiting other areas.
Friends we made while there also had a wonderful time. We would definately recommend both Kandersteg and the Hotel Adler as a holiday destination.

  • Liked — Spacious, informal and conveniently located for all activities
  • Disliked — Smoking in bar
  • Tips/Secrets — We had 2 feet of snow when the rest of the country had none
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauli-Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2005

We had been looking forward to our stay at the Adler and as we walked up to the hotel we were excited. It is very pretty from the outside. The dinner food was great and well presented. Coffee bad though and the breakfast was very marginal. The bar is very popular with locals and others staying in town which made it a bit noisy at night.
The bad news was our room. It was the worst room we have seen in Switzerland! It was clean I guess, but very worn around the edges and the decor was dingy. The windows were dirty (unheard of in Switzerland) and the balcony table had the formica torn off and some dirt had fallen from a planter onto it. After 3 nights it was still there and was never cleaned. The
price was too high for this sort of problem. I would not recommend this hotel. There are others in town that are much better for similar prices. We hate to complain, but this is what we experienced.
The front desk staff were very nice and helped us find our way around town.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandDinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2004

If you want to visit a hotel that makes your stay every inch the most enjoyable experience possible then there reality is no other hotel to consider. I have had the pleasure to stay at the Fetzer's Hotel Adler on about 15 seperate occations and I would not consider going anywhere else when in Kandersteg. It has a fantastic friendly and personal environment which all helps to bring the most from your holiday. Everyone is so helpful and kind you will have no difficulty in enjoying your stay there. The food is excellent and combines the personal touch that only a hotel so long established can accomplish. The rooms are spacious, well equiped and spotlessly kept. Miny Golf facilitys as well as a swimming pool and outside bar are also present.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2003

We have stayed at the Adler about 11 times. It is wonderful! Fine food, nice rooms, the Fetzers own it and are terrific hosts. The village of Kandersteg is charming. The hikes are great! Love it!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet-Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet-Hotel Adler

Property: Chalet-Hotel Adler
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 19 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet-Hotel Adler 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Fetzer welcomes you to the Chalet-Hotel Adler in the bernese alps. Since 1906, already in the 3rd-5th generation, our family takes care of our guests. Our Hotel is based on tradition and innovation. The Hotel offers you comfortable Rooms all with balconies and beautiful views of the surroundings, some with fire-place and some with whirlpools. Apartments in chalet style, for small and big families can be hired. Couples will enjoy our Loverooms some with rolling whirlpools to the balcony. Of course we have a Wellness area with swimming pool, sauna and massage. If you are travelling by train, we will be pleased to pick you up at the station. Guests travelling by car can use our free parking lots. We hope to meet you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Chalet-Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Adler
Chalet Hotel Kandersteg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing