We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
307
58
6
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
307
58
6
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews owners and staff superior room catholic church half board plan every afternoon room was spotless panoramic view swiss hotel this wonderful hotel perfect location set menu favorite hotel cable car further afield hotel management dining experience swiss hospitality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly hotel where you will find everything you need for a hiking holiday. Clean and comfortable with good facilities in an excellent location for the bus and train to explore further afield. The food was excellent.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cariad124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

My wife and I first came to Kandersteg as poor college students with dirty backpacks and no money--so we did not stay at the Hotel Bernerhof. However, on a sentimental returning to Kandersteg, we had the opportunity to stay. What a lucky chance.

The ownership is involved in checking you into the hotel, and following up on your meal. The views are extraordinary. The rooms are clean, well-lit, with marvelous down comforters, and space. The food is fabulous and varied.

However, the service, the service, the service. At every stage gracious, friendly, accommodating. Kandersteg is a must visit city in the most beautiful country in the world and the Hotel Bernerhof is a "must visit" hotel in Kandersteg. Stay a day or a month.

Room tip: Views on the east side are of the mountains
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wdokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019

A hidden gem below the Blumisalp with wonderful hosts. The food and service is excellent. Rooms with a view of the mountains in front are larger but those looking towards Allmenalp are cosy and comfortable and less expensive. A lovely hotel with it's own cat where we would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Best views are in the front facing the Blumisalp.
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamjparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Just spent a week at the Hotel Bernerhof and what a terrific week it was. The owner, Claudia was so friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Our room, a standard, was on the front and gave great views of the mountains and was very clean and comfortable. All the staff at this hotel were friendly and accommodating and special mention go to Monika and Goran who did everything to make our dining experience pleasant. All the staff spoke excellent English. The position of this hotel could not be better, centred in the village and a very short walk from the rail station. In conclusion, we highly recommend this hotel as comfortable, with outstanding food of the highest quality and with the very best friendly staff.

Room tip: Rooms on the front ar3 best for views
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downhilljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

We went on a Great Rail Journey and this hotel was the best we stayed in. Absolutely beautiful, clean with amazing views of the mountains. The food was superb and the staff who were family were just perfect. Friendly, cheerful and could not be more helpful. I would love to go back in spring or summer to see what the area looks like without snow but we loved the hotel, the village and the surrounding area. Fabulous!

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank flyingsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews