We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional style Swiss hotel in wonderful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bernerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Traditional style Swiss hotel in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were made very welcome indeed by the owners of this charming hotel. Situated opposite a flowery meadow and the mountains as a backdrop it would be hard to find a betterand more relaxing location in the Bernese Oberland. Close by is cable car to Oestenensee plus a few shops including a bakery that sells delicious cakes for afternoon tea. The hotel is also a few minutes walk from the railway station. Rooms are very comfortable with the lightest of duvets and softest of pillows. the food is excellent too - try the special home made muesli.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have the best views but all rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    43
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
38
150
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just spent a week in this hotel. If you want the most fantastic view book a room on the front of the hotel. It looks towards stunning mountains and a picturesque church and meadow immediately in front of the hotel. It is a family run hotel. All are made very welcome. The restaurant is of a high quality. We had excellent meals every day. After walking all day tea and cakes were served when we returned. Would not hesitate to stay here when we return to the Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

On entering this hotel we received a very warm welcome from the owner, this set the scene for the rest of our stay. Our room had a balcony with wonderful views of the mountains. The room was spacious, clean, warm and cosy, everything we needed including a large, powerful, modern shower. We had booked on a b&b basis, the food was so good we dined here every night except one. We tried a local hotel for dinner one night and regretted it. The Bernerhof food was much better, not only this but the ambiance of the hotel, the friendliness and professionalism of the owners and staff was excellent. On cold snowy days the complimentary afternoon tea each day was very welcome! A lovely relaxing hotel, very well managed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and were very pleased with this hotel. The first room we were allocated was rather small for a long stay so the hosts happily transferred us to a larger room with no extra charge. The hotel has a friendly warmth about it and the staff were helpful. Our new room was spcacious, very clean and comfortable bedding. The views from our balcony were breathtaking. Breakfast was typical European but adequate. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for three weeks in February in a one bedroom self catering apartment on an upper floor. The views of the mountains and village are stunning from the balcony. We have been going to Kandersteg for many years and love it but this was our first time at the Bernerhof. It's a more traditional Swiss style family run hotel. Service is great and we quickly felt at home. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed including access to laundry facilities downstairs which makes a difference on long stays. The hotel's restaurant is very good - we have never had a less than excellent meal there over many years. Only about 8 minutes walk to the gondala up to the ski fields or the bus passes by out the front. Shops and lots of alternate restaurants are really handy. There is a gym, sauna and spa downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Bernerhof is a good hotel -- it has spectacular views of the mountains (I second all the "pay more for a balcony room" recommendations -- it is worth it), the location is convenient, and the staff are friendly. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is a decent continental spread of bread, meat, cheese, cereal, yogurt, etc. A few things that I consider to be important and haven't seen mentioned in other reviews -- it has free Wifi (yay!), guests are issued with a Guest Card which gives discounts on the gondola (among other things), and it gets BBC1 (always nice if you are worried about missing Call the Midwife). Overall, a very good hotel. I enjoyed my stay there, didn't have anything to complain about, and I would probably stay there again if I were to go back to Kandersteg. I didn't eat in the restaurant (too expensive), so maybe I missed something there, but I wouldn't rave about it the way some other reviewers have -- I'm not quite sure what the fuss is about -- it's not some sort of accommodation paradise, just a good hotel.

One thing in Kandersteg I would rave about: the sledding run -- fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abspanfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this delightful hotel while on an organised hiking trip in the Alps. The owners were very warm and welcoming and the wait staff in the restaurant really made our evening when we ate there. The food was excellent, both for breakfast and dinner and beautifully presented. This was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our 12 night visit to Switzerland - we agree with other reviewers that everything about it is 4 star - in fact it was superior to some 4 star hotels we stayed in elsewhere in Western Europe on this trip. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and very clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kandersteg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#7 of 9 in Kandersteg
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof

Property: Hotel Bernerhof
Address: Aeussere Dorfstrasse 37, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing