We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different type of Paradise with superb views and tranquil setting. Wonderful”
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandersteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayloft
Ranked #1 of 14 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This has got to be one of the best places we have ever stayed at. Peter and Kerry are wonderful hosts, you are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. Kerrys food is just to die for. Nothing is too much trouble. We can recommend the Hayloft, its first class with wonderful people. James, Anchor and Snorkel (son, dog and cat) also make you feel very welcome, its just like being in your own home with perfect people to look after you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t20sme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Our experiences at the Hayloft in Kandersteg can be summed up very easily….we travel a lot, and the Hayloft is the first, and only, place we have ever been back to twice! You really can’t go wrong with a vacation at the Hayloft. The Hayloft is a restored old traditional home, which has meticulously been done by Kerry and Peter, not missing a single detail. It sits in a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains, and within a 5 minute walk of Kandersteg. Both of our trips have been in the winter, and skiing is readily available in the area, amongst other winter sports.

The accommodations are fantastic and done in a Swiss country style. We have stayed in the Hayloft room on both visits, and it is fantastic. It is a two level room that sleeps 6 and has a private bathroom. It is perfect for a family. The room has a private entrance if you wish to use it, or you can enter/exit through the house if you wish. For food, you will be treated to a great continental breakfast each day with a variety of choices. If requested, Kerry will prepare wonderful dinners (or packed lunches also) for you and prices you won’t find in the local restaurants. We’ve had five meals I can remember, all of which were fantastic, particularly the fondue. Beverages are also available at amazing prices. All of this is combined with the fun and outgoing personalities of Kerry, Peter and James that will make you want to talk for hours and want to come back again and again.

Ultimately, Kerry and Peter (James, Snorkel and Anchor, too!) will amaze and delight you from the minute you arrive. You will receive 5 star service at a 1 star price, and most importantly, you will leave the Hayloft with a new family of friends. We have enjoyed every minute of our stays there, and you most certainly will, too!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericandlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had a fantastic stay at the Hayloft. Kerry and Peter are wonderful hosts full of wonderful stories and drinks outside with them and at least one meal is a must. The room was lovely with the children being able to sleep up in the loft giving at least some privacy. The view was awesome with a wonderful waterfall cascading down behind us. Everything was very close at hand and Peter and Kerry were always on hand to help with information about buses or trains.
We actually stayed in the valley for the whole week never getting in the car once. It was possible for those who wanted to do long walks and via ferrata to do all that and also those who didn't could use the local swimming pool, walk around the valley or just sit and enjoy the view. The room was welcoming and it was also just great to sit in and read.
One thing to remember with the swimming pool it to get there early as the locals seem to do to get a good space as it does fill up and keep filling. There seems to be no limit to how many people are allowed in. But it is fun and a great way to spend a large part of a day.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Rarely have I felt so smug, as when I biked through Kandersteg village and noticed all the hotels on offer, because MY choice of accomodation was the very best!

The Hayloft is a listed farmhouse that Kerry and Peter have restored to a caramelcoloured blend of British cosiness and Swiss authenticity. Our room had a view to the meadow, no sounds except cow bells and a waterfall. The private bathroom is modern and very clean, breakfast fresh and plentiful. So if you need a charming, clean BB - this is what you’ll get. But if you lean forward for more - as we did – you’ll be offered more. I’m not sure I can tell you what, because I suspect it varies according to who you are. Amusing conversation will be part of it. But also a gentle attentiveness to what small comforts you would like without asking for them.

Often you hear stressed out people say: ‘Oooohhh, I do so wish I had a small BB, what a haven it would be, each guest would feel special, pampered and welcome’, and you smile and think to yourself: Right, a dream never to come true.

And The Hayloft is the place they dream of.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mette-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Staying at the Hayloft was a real highlight of my trip to Switzerland. Kerry and Peter could not have done more to make my stay memorable. Both the Hayloft itself and the surroundings are breathtaking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorrlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Everything about the Hayloft is wonderful, the house, the view, the food, especially our hosts, the location. The only complaint I could possibly have is that it is too difficult to get out of bed in the morning since the beds and bedding are incredibly comfortable. Kandersteg is beautiful, yes--but there are many beautiful places in the world. It is the people and experiences you have while traveling somewhere that makes it remarkable and unforgetable. There are so many hikes to take, a person really should stay much longer than we did (2 days) and should take all of their meals with Kerry--she is a fabulous chef. My teenagers especially loved the talks around their big table at night and count this as one of their favorite places they have ever been.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We knew we had selected the right place to stay when we drove down the lane towards the chalet and Kerry, our hostess, came out to greet us with a wide smile and immediately learned all six of our names. The Hayloft has been meticulously renovated. It has a quaint and authentic feel but with lovely modern bathrooms and other conveniences that travelers want. The views of the towering mountains in all directions are incredible. But, what distinguished the Hayloft for our group were the hosts, Kerry and Peter. They went out of their way to make us feel at home, from the welcome glass of wine to the family-style breakfast we shared each morning. They have traveled all around the world and truly know how to make guests feel at home. If you are looking for an authentic Swiss experience in a quiet, spectacular valley, this is the place. We hope to return soon and stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahoe6215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandersteg
0.6 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#5 of 9 in Kandersteg
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.3 mi away
Landgasthof Ruedihus
Landgasthof Ruedihus
#8 of 9 in Kandersteg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
300 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
860 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Address: Butschels, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range: $48 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hayloft is 1200m above sea level, south-facing and stands in about two acres of its own meadowland. The property is bordered by a trout stream and is very quiet; it has its own private access track and there is NO passing traffic. We have a superb outdoor hot tub for you to use. The house boasts stunning mountain views (over 3,600m) in every direction, clear views of glaciers and a magnificent waterfall. The Hayloft is about 1 mile from the centre of the village of Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland. Kandersteg is a rural working village but has a parallel tourist-based economy. The village has all the expected range of facilities without losing its unique Swiss atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing