We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
216
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsgreat storiesplace to staybreakfast tablelovely hometrain stationfeel right at homeinteresting peoplefamily stylebeautiful valleyanywhere in the worldoff the beaten trackbreadlocal areastayed longerensuite bathroomwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 223 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been to many countries and places. But never before we experienced anything like the hospitality of Kerry and Peter. Their B&B was the perfect place for our family event. The children loved playing in the cosy "Hayloft" room or around the house, the adults enjoyed listening to the interesting stories about the life of Kerry, Peter and their son James and our Dog was happy to have their Appenzeller Montaindog Anchor as a companion. Breakfast and Dinner have been very delicious and varied. The rooms are tastefully furnished; the nice bedlinen from England fit perfectly to the rustic Swiss Chalet style. We are so happy about having choosed The Hayloft and we will return for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

You know when you meet people who love what they do because they are exceptional at it, well Kerry and Peter, the owners of the Hayloft are excalty those types of people.

The Hayloft is more than a B&B, they have created a home away from home atmosphere.
Breakfasts are bountiful and delicious! Expect a leisurely breakfast with charming hosts.
They are both brilliant conversationalist open in every way about their fascinating life story, justifiably proud of the beautiful home that they have renovated. Helpful in every way about ensuring that those staying at Hayloft get all that they can from their stay in Kandersteg.
Peter has tremendous knowledge of the local area and is always willing to help. Kerry's cooking is just delicious. I could go on and on!!!!

I highly recommend the Hayloft , dont just book it for a holiday, you should just go there to meet Kerry, Peter, James, Anchor and snorkel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the Hayloft. My daughters and I stayed at The Hayloft for three nights in July. Kerry and Peter are great hosts. They are very friendly but at the same time respectful of your privacy. Peter knows the area very well and can advice you on the best hikes and spots to visit. We enjoyed very much the food including the wonderful breakfasts featuring local products. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoB002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you need a flatscreen TV or a bar fridge in your room then this might not be the place for you. Come here though and the wonderful scenery starts with the view from any window in the house. The Hayloft is a beautifully restored/rebuilt Swiss farmhouse, just far enough out of the village to be in an open field but still easy walking distance. Kerry and Peter really are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to look after guests. Stay for dinner too. Not only will you be well fed but the dinner conversation with the family and others guests was always interesting. During the course of a six week holiday in Europe I stayed in quite a few nice places but this really was outstanding. I should also mention that Kandersteg is a very good base for further exploring with plenty of good walking opportunities and good train access to other places if desired.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Hayloft is very well organized as you can expect in Switzerland, but with a friendly, cosy touch. Everything was very clean and the beds slept wonderful. The breakfast is a special experience together with the owners at the big table in the kitchen with all delicious, local food. The location is a perfect start for different hikes or cable carts. We started our hike to the Dolderhornhutte from here. Also walking distance to some nice restaurants.
I recommend this to anybody looking for a nice and quiet b&b experience!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank _Frog_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews