We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hayloft”
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandersteg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayloft
Ranked #1 of 14 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hayloft”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Hayloft is the best place I have ever stayed and after holidaying there with my family five times in twelve months I can’t recommend it highly enough. The unexpected pleasure of the Hayloft is the welcome. To be in the company of Peter and Kerry is such a pleasure, as they are so much fun, always full of cheer and happiness and are extremely helpful. Their wonderful personalities are reflected in their exceptional home which is beautiful and very comfortable. Our family just love coming to the Hayloft in Kandersteg to be pampered, as nothing is too much for the hosts to ensure your stay is a fantastic experience. Add to this the outstanding beauty that surrounds their home and the holiday is made special every time. Kerry, Peter, James, Anchor and Snorkel - we cannot thank you enough for the most wonderful memories that you have created for our family and can’t wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
74
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Hayloft is a very charming and beautilful bed and breakfast. The house, an old and renovated farm full of character, is located just outside Kandersteg and surrounded by high valleys and snow mountain tops. The hosts, Kerry, Peter and their son James know the true meaning of hospitality and how to make you feel most welcome. We stayed there two nights and just wanted to stay more. The dinners and breakfasts are home made and excellent. The room we had was spacious and very confortable. This place is simply unique and we will come back !
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fabulous time on our short stay at the hayloft. The house is wonderfully cozy and Peter, Kerry and their son make you feel right at home. After welcome drinks and swapping travel stories we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal with them and two other couples staying the night. It was great fun and we really enjoyed ourselves immensely, so much so we've decided we must come back soon! The room was lovely, the beds were great and breakfast was another treat. But what I enjoyed most was that we felt like we'd spent a weekend with new friends.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennybasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The Hayloft is an exceptional B & B. It is beautiful, full of character and Swiss Charm, set in the most perfect of situations- surrounded by stunning mountains, yet only a short walk into central Kandersteg. The hosts, Kerry, Peter and James are genuinely pleased to have guests in their home, and welcome everyone with real friendship and a desire to provide the very best for their guests.
We were lucky enough to spend New Year in their lovely home, and what could be more magical after a days ski-ing than to relax outside in the log fired hottub, surrounded by snow and sparkly lights in the trees...typically they provided us with a walkie talkie so that we could call our hosts should we need a glass of mulled wine or anything (they certainly give the impression that nothing would be a problem!) whilst we were in the tub!
The food at The Hayloft is excellent, and we particularly appreciated the hosts eating with us all together...even waiting until 10am on New Years Day for us to appear at the table before starting themselves, as usual full of smiles and happiness.
The Hayloft, as far as we are concerned, far out weighs the 5 star hotel we stayed in, in Kandersteg earlier in the year- we will most certainly be back and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Family room (sleeps 6) excellent and has own sperate entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Wonderful, friendly and helpful hosts. Beautiful situation for scenery and yet close enough to walk to the shops. Can obtain advice about where to go such as one-way system valley. Could get the train through the tunnel and walk from one station to another.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a trapdoor, whichleads down to the bathroom - exciting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCaterham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay with a great location, lovely & welcoming family. We get great advices for hiking…they provided map in order to not be lost and be on time for the fantastic dinner you can have there :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Hayloft for 2 holidays and had a superb time. Peter and Kerry are wonderful hosts, who run a home from home for their visitors. Peter has an encyclopedic knowledge of the area, being born there and can recommend walks based on your fitness, the weather and your interests. Breakfast is eaten at a long table, where everyone meets everyone else, which gives a nice start to the day. Kerry ensures that everything is clean and comfortable and will cook evening meals if asked. She will also do laundry if you need it.
We cannot reommend it too highly and will be back.
Ian and Joan

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
0.8 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alfa Soleil
Alfa Soleil
#3 of 9 in Kandersteg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Property: The Hayloft
Address: Butschels, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hayloft is 1200m above sea level, south-facing and stands in about two acres of its own meadowland. The property is bordered by a trout stream and is very quiet; it has its own private access track and there is NO passing traffic. We have a superb outdoor hot tub for you to use. The house boasts stunning mountain views (over 3,600m) in every direction, clear views of glaciers and a magnificent waterfall. The Hayloft is about 1 mile from the centre of the village of Kandersteg in the Bernese Oberland. Kandersteg is a rural working village but has a parallel tourist-based economy. The village has all the expected range of facilities without losing its unique Swiss atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing