We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hayloft
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Alfa Soleil(Kandersteg)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chalet-Hotel Adler(Kandersteg)(Great Value!)
$137
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Blausee(Blausee-Mitholz)
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bernerhof(Kandersteg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Blumlisalp(Kandersteg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpina Hotel(Kandersteg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
213
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubb bgreat hostsgreat storiesbreakfast tabletrain stationswiss chaletinteresting peoplebig roomfamily homegreat companymodern comfortsbeautiful valleyanywhere in the worldoff the beaten tracksuperb foodbread
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 220 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is the perfect place to stay with a great location, lovely & welcoming family. We get great advices for hiking…they provided map in order to not be lost and be on time for the fantastic dinner you can have there :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Hayloft for 2 holidays and had a superb time. Peter and Kerry are wonderful hosts, who run a home from home for their visitors. Peter has an encyclopedic knowledge of the area, being born there and can recommend walks based on your fitness, the weather and your interests. Breakfast is eaten at a long table, where everyone meets everyone else, which gives a nice start to the day. Kerry ensures that everything is clean and comfortable and will cook evening meals if asked. She will also do laundry if you need it.
We cannot reommend it too highly and will be back.
Ian and Joan

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My son and I used the Hayloft as base for hiking in the Alps around Kandersteg and and then as the starting point for a longer trek. Fantastic hospitality, nice family-style breakfast and a location that is close enough to town and restaurants, but quiet and peaceful with beautiful scenery all around. Peter can offer great suggestions for hikes and provide maps etc.

The Hayloft was definitely a highlight of a fantastic two-week hiking trip in Switzerland. Highly recommended and we hope to return again some day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealSteveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is the place to stay at Kandersteg. Family-friendly, great hosts...we have been there two time so far and we love it...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igor_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We have travelled far and wide and stayed in many different places. This was the best.
All the other reviews are telling you the truth and covering all the important things except one.
At the Hayloft, there is a nearly inexhaustible supply of ice. A surprisingly rare and important thing for Americans travelling in Europe.

Room Tip: There is no bad room. All are unique and delightful.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews