We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique hotel in a unique setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berghotel Oeschinensee
Ranked #2 of 14 Kandersteg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

great small hotel with just mountains and trees around, and the rest of the world far far away.
no noise whatsoever, except for the sounds of the waterfalls.
truly friendly, interested and competent staff, with a welcoming personal attitude.

rowing on the lake is magic!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Jacqueline
Congratulations - you experienced the magic of the lake. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Hotel Oeschinensee has been in the same family for four generations, and one can feel their love for this place. At check-in, they don't just hand over the key, but show you around the premises to make sure you don't miss out on anything. The rooms are newly renovated and very comfortable. The shared bathroom are spotlessly clean. There's a large living room at the guests' disposal, with games, books and drinks. The beautiful terrace overlooks the breath-taking panoroma of Lake Oeschinensee and the surrounding mountains, and I could have sat there for hours, just contemplating the beauty of Mother Nature. The choice at breakfast wasn't very extensive, but the three types of home-made bread, the jams and the regional cheese were super tasty. The only slight downside are the room prices. 180 CHF for a double room is pretty steep... Nevertheless, I would totally recommend the Hotel Oeschinensee, as it is a Swiss experience straight out of a postcard!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monicakatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you fro your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent my birthday with a group of 6 people at the hotel Oeschinensee. Besides that the view is breath taking up there, we were very happy with the hotel and restaurant. Staff was very friendly with the extra bit necessary to feel like at home, the food great (we had dinner and breakfast - homemade bread!). It was a great decision to spend a night there and not only make a day trip, so we could enjoy the site without the mass of tourists that come there only for the day. Prices are completely fine for Switzerland. A place where the guest is still king (or in our case queen ;-). Will definitively go again, but for more than just one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

:-) :-) :-) Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for a night after hiking over the pass from Griesalp. After a long hot day it was pure bliss to arrive at the hotel. The location is second to none - we had the most amazing view of the lake and the mountains from our bedroom window. The staff are very friendly and helpful- they came up to our room to let us know that the restaurant would be closing soon. The food was excellent. Would definitely stay here again- it's the stuff that perfect holidays are made of.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninjacat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

It was a pleasure to host you in our house and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in September 2012. We absolutely adored our stay here. My husband has nicknamed this place "a little piece of heaven." It was so serene and beautiful. You are completely surrounded by mountains and have to take a chair lift up. The mountain lake you overlook is like glass with perhaps a few fisherman here and there. You can hike quite far around, but not all the way due to the massive mountains that create a vertical wall opposite the hotel/restaurant. The food here was really good too (although a bit pricey, but what in Switzerland isn't), they have many locally farmed items and take great pride in their place as well as your comfort and happiness! We would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

It is our little piece of Heaven too :-) Thanks for visiting us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Always ask for the daily special, it is really fantastic!They provide menus in different languages so don't be scared to ask.The daily tart is always fabulous too. This place is the same price if not a little less than the restaurant by the gondola, there is more choice and it doesn't focus on chips, you can ski at you leisure and then feel spoilt for an hour or so in real warm and luxury. The log burning stoves give that cosy feeling and the view from every window of the lake is stunning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daddyORchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I spent a few nights here with our 6 month old son and absolutely loved it. We have traveled extensively and rank this as a "top 3" destination. The views are out of this world!! If you are visiting Switzerland this is the place to go...trust us. The staff are incredible and the food is delicious. We will be back...

Room Tip: Lakeside family room is the best option!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattNSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oeschi1, Owner at Berghotel Oeschinensee, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We wish you all the best for your future and maybe one day you visit us again... we remember: room no1 with the best view over the lake:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kandersteg hotels
1.9 mi away
Belle Epoque Hotel Victoria
1.9 mi away
Chalet-Hotel Adler
Chalet-Hotel Adler
#4 of 9 in Kandersteg
440 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#1 of 9 in Kandersteg
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
Waldhotel Doldenhorn
#2 of 9 in Kandersteg
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kandersteg
67 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Blumlisalp
Hotel Blumlisalp
#9 of 9 in Kandersteg
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Oeschinensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Oeschinensee

Address: Oeschinensee 10 | 3718 Kandersteg, Kandersteg 3718, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Kandersteg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kandersteg
Price Range: $152 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mountain lodge is owned and runned in 5 generation by the family Wandfluh. Famous for its organic lamb dishes from the own farm, the food is healthy and served fast. There is a rich vegetarian choice (gluten free, milk free and vegan as well). To sleep here is more than just staying in a hotel. Relax on the terrace or in front of the fireplace in the evening. Enjoy the silence at night and wake up with the sound of waterfalls. A real Swiss breakfast is waiting with home baked breads, cheese from the valley and apple juice of the region. Yes its true, there are is bathroom in the room, but there are shower cabins which standard is completeley up to date. The family Wandfluh is looking forward to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Berghotel Oeschinensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing