We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Baren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Baren
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Stayed in hotel Bären with my sicnificant other for 4 nights this march. We were lookin for a convenient hotel for our skiing trip. Bären has nice rustical rooms with balconies and our room had a very good bed. Every morning we enjoyed very nice swiss style breakfast with a plenty of choise for cheese... They also have a finnish sauna you can book for yourself free of charge (for hotel guests). Room was suprisingly quiet even though it was facing the main street.
We also ate at the hotel restaurant one night, we enjoyed fondue chinoise (meat fondue). You can also book a half-board.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed here for 5 days in July. While the weather was terrible, our accommodation helped to make up for it. We paid extra for a more luxurious room and were allocated a room on the top floor with a sitting area, vaulted ceiling, double sinks in the bathroom, fluffy bathrobes and fruit bowl.
We were staying half board and the food was excellent.
A good option if you plan to stay in Adelboden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogaladyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

What a lovely 5 night break we had here - we booked a walking package for 5 nights on half board and walking pass for 4 days. We had requested Grandma's Parlour room and were not disappointed. A large room, windows and balconies on two sides overlooking the main street and the main square of the village. A wonderful mountain view and in the distance we could see the waterfalls which were illuminated at night..

Our room had old style furniture which was colourfully hand painted - really quaint. Many other rooms are themed and also includes a 4 poster bed - just 14 rooms in this rustic centrally placed hotel. Bathroom was well equipped with a powerful shower over a bath, hair-
dryer and large illuminated mirror over the wash basin. Hot towel rail and bathrobes were also included.

We booked half board which consisted of 4 courses: soup, salad from buffet, choice of main course and desert - all were delicious, gourmet style food being well presented and always filling. I would have no qualm in returning here and would recommend to others. Its the best 3 star hotel I have stayed at in Switzerland - and there have been many of those! We noticed its listed in the idyllic hotels of Switzerland and deservedly so.

Cost for our package for the 5 nights was Sfr 659 each - a bit pricey but for the standard and quality was well worth it and we were really spoilt here during our stay in July 2008.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank photolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2005

By far the best 3-star hotel we stayed in during our three weeks in Switzerland. Very nice rooms, with sitting areas and balconies. After two weeks of hiking, the bathroom was a sight for sore eyes -- a full bathtub and heated towel racks. The restaurant downstairs was quite nice and has a large wine list. The night we were there (July 2004) they were having a folk music night which many of the locals were attending -- it was genuine, not something kitschy put on for tourists (e.g., no Lederhosen or alphorns). The breakfast was fantastic. I felt that the CHF 88/person was well spent here -- we spent far more for much more mediocre hotels in Montreux and Geneva.

7  Thank OffTheBeatenPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank AdolfKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 15 in Adelboden
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#4 of 15 in Adelboden
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baren

Address: Dorfstrasse 22, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Price Range: $141 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baren 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Baren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing