We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - with family rooms”
Review of Hotel Steinmattli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Steinmattli
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with our kids in a family room for 2 nights. I would not recommend to stay a week (there are no coffee/tea/minibar facilities and you have to go elsewhere when your kids sleep) but that is more the consequence of getting a family room . Unfortunately the balconies had no lights, so we couldn't escape outside evenings when the young ones went sleeping.

The room was quite large with a balcoy overlooking a beautiful panorama of mountains (if you have chosen the option of mountain view). There were 2 large comfy beds with duvets next to each other for the parents and a bunkbed for the kids (which they loved!) als with nice duvets and quality linnen. The bathroom had marble finishes, the taps were a bit dated though.

The attraction of the hotel in summer is the inclusion of admission to alle the lifts and buses in the area. We spent a whole day going up and down the mountains, walking, playing and having lunch up in the air. The hotel also provides free admission to the community pool nearby.

The food was a 4 course set meal with coice of 3 dishes / course. (the 2nd course is the salad bar though). The kids have a special main course for them prepared. The quality of the food was good. Their wine list was actually quite big, though pricey (as were the other drinks). The breafast buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are slightly more expensive , but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

At the beginning of March we stayed a couple of days in this fine hotel in the lovely ski resort of Adelboden. A few years ago a dutch couple took over the ownership of this hotel and since then much has improved. Not only the rooms have been redecorated, but the restaurant as well. The result is absolutely great! And despite the fact that the restaurant is rather large, you have a feeling of dining privately. Nicely done indeed. The quality of the food has improved too. The breakfast buffet is excellent.
On top of that, a new exit/entrance has been created for the skiers among us, so now you can easily reach the lifts that are approx. a 100 m away. In short, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: You can choose between rooms with a view on the mountains (slightly more expensive) and rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnyHoevelaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is an ideally situated hotel for skiing (some 100 meters to the lift system). It is a hotel with impeccable service, friendly staff in all areas, great breakfast and dinner menus and nicely renovated rooms. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the main street of Adelboden and it offers a superb price/quality ratio. It can only be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Hitel is good located, clean and the staff (tries to be) nice.
Dinner: all in all good. But when you ask for a little change in the menu it cant be done. You ask whats in the salad - they say they'll ask but they don't give you the answer. The rice was hard, cooked well but then - i dont know - roasted? Or microwaved? When you aak if there are nuts in the dessert they say no, but there are! So if you're allergic to something - take care!!!
Breakfast: coffe from the machine! If you come after 9am the eggs are gone. There's cheese but not declared what kind.
Oh, btw you have to pay for parking and wlan.
All in all not a four star at all.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Six of us stayed in this hotel for a weeks ski break. The hotel rooms were spacious, spotless & with a wonderful view of the mountains; the meals were superb with several choices of dish for evening meal, the children had their own menu. The staff couldn't do enough to help. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trophywife34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Location of the place is excellent for summer or winter tourism. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Service in the Restaurant was extremely poor, breakfast service one person has to attend over 100 guests. The friendly Swiss lady tried to give the guest a good service, however she was completely overloaded with work. How can a 4 star Hotel in Switzerland provide such a service. When she was off duty, the service was not even friendly anymore. Dinnerservice was a bit better, however still very basic. Hotel should definitely not be rated higher than 4 star. What for is the beautiful terrace in summer, we could not get served breakfast or even dinner there. After 2 evening meals we decided to go eat outside. The dutch owener couple was not interested in feedback. They listen only to happy guests. Of course they have many happy guests from Holland or other European countries which are happy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The hotel has now been taken over by new Dutch owners so I am able to compare like with like, most of the previous shortcomings have been addressed notably the underfloor heating which was unbearably hot in the whole hotel, including Lounge, Dining Room, and Bedrooms,
It has been tastefully refurbished throughout,especially the Bar and Lounge areas, whilst the bedrooms now have flat screen TV's with 40 channels and about 15 radio channels. My room was East facing with balcony , two easy chairs. The Bathroom was already upgraded by the previous owners so contained a full length bath, ideal for soaking tired limbs after a day's skiing.
I think I ought to comment on the Dining room, you could sit where there was a table vacant both at breakfast and dinner, ie.there was no dedicated table. The hours were 7.30 - 10am for breakfast with prime time being 8.00- 8.30am with queues for the coffee machine. Dinner was served from 5.30pm -8.00pm personally I would like to see 6.00pm for the children and 7.00-9.00pm for the adults. the menu was all in german so take a dictionary with you as the serving staff spoke little English. There was a choice of three soups ,followed by salad buffet,main course with vegetarian option or a selection off an alternative menu,and finally dessert. The food was good but not excellent, whilst the dining room service was both quick and courteous.
I would certainly visit this hotel again for my skiing holiday being 200m from the ski lift

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 15 in Adelboden
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Steinmattli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Steinmattli

Address: Risetenstraessli 10, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#6 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: $245 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Steinmattli 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adelboden - Welcome to Hotel Steinmattli! Are you looking for a family friendly Hotel? The Hotel Steinmattli is located close to the Dorfstrasse. The centure of the village is less than 100 meters away. The cable car station is only 100 meters away, the hiking pass ist included from June to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Steinmattli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing