We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkhotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Bellevue
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed in the room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Based on reviews, I expected much more from this hotel. It is not worth the price we paid for a "nature" room. I should have paid closer attention to an earlier reviewer who commented on the ridiculous placement of hanging wooden sphere light fixtures directly over half of the small sofa and over the bed. Whose idea was it to place 24" diameter wooden slat spheres only 30" above furniture? They look randomly placed within the room. My husband, who is 5'10" repeatedly hit his head. He was threatening to tie a knot in the cord to put the light at the correct height. FIX THIS, hotel management. Replace the fixtures.

Breakfast was quite good.

The view out our north facing room was not great. That was my fault for not inquiring about the views before booking. But for the price we paid, I expected much more. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Inquire to be certain you have a view of the mountains rather than staring into the hillside and at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayZee1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    36
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
121
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

As an English couple one of the good things for us is that the hotel was not full of English people as in Murren and Wengen. Adelboden is at the end of the road - you cannot go any further by car so thankfully this seems to put some people off. It is a charming unpretentious village.

The parkhotel Bellevue was perfect for us. We found it romantic, quiet,elegant like something out of a novel with a hint of being in a different age such as the fifties. Our room was the tradition room on the top, spacious, with a balcony with south and west facing views. We went in August when there was still some snow on the mountains but the valley was a very vivid green. The hotel gave us a free pass for the cable cars which was very useful as this cost can mount up. There were superb mountain walks not too far away.

The hotel has a beautiful spa with all the usual facitities.

Excellent breakfast included in the price. Good food in the evening, although slightly complicated menus if you are not staying demi-pension.

One of the main plus points is the service. Martin and Irene run the hotel with an eye to every small detail and nothing is too much trouble for them and their very able and friendly staff.

Highly recommended. I hope this review does not attract too many people!

Room Tip: Tradition room on the top is south and west facing with a balcony and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPhilipG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

This Spa hotel is so comfortable and welcoming (including live piano music accompanying tea and dinner) and has such a beautiful view, so many activities and Spa treatments, there is no need to go skiing to experience the Swiss Alps!

It is betwixt Geneva and Zurich travel-wise. I.e. you can get there by public transport from either city (& airport) by train and postbus. It is a very Swiss resort and hotel, and when we were there the place was not full, and there were no children, except at the weekend, (though the young owners say they welcome young families). As off duty grandparents, we liked the peace and the elegance of the place, and especially the outdoors salt water pool, after our snow-shoeing and cross country skiing adventures.

The area has many winterwanderwegs, pistes devoted to walkers, so a cheaper liftpass gives access to a similar mountain experience as skiers. The reception staff were brilliant at suggesting routes and outings and lent us walking poles.

You need exercise to help manage the 5 course dinners: Table d'hote, with 1 veggie option. Cheese board 5* and generous salad buffet. Breakfasts are very good, with the sun on the mountain opposite, you just want to sit there forever ...

Extras are expensive, but so is Switzerland, so try and get a combined package of room, dinner, spa treatments, lunches on the piste, and lift pass, if available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrylovers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallanden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is very nice and you feel very welcome. Spacious room, good breakfast and great dinner. Spa is very nice and not crowded.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo e Michel... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is located 2 minutes up the hill from Adelboden a popular mountain resort with Swiss people.
The hotel is family owned and the Managing Director and his staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They will go the extra-mile and do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Top mark for the staff.
The building itself is unusual. There is the main building dating back to the 1930's which is very traditional that will appeal to the more mature generation, then there is a more modern extension which will attract young professionals.
Our room in the traditional building was disappointing despite the south facing and the great views. It was of a very small size and the decor totally dated. The sofa should have been replaced 20 years ago. As a frequent traveller I experience many hotels and this one was certainly below average.
The week-end package included the 4 course evening meal, which was good. We were seated in the modern part of the building and felt very comfortable. Drinks are expensive.

The hotel has a newly built spa which opens late morning and offers all kind of sauna's, pools and relaxation areas. It is very nicely done but quite small and feels overcrowded on a day with bad weather. There is complimentary tea and apples in the spa area, which is a nice touch.
The hotel has a small gym with modern equipment. For cardio exercise there are however only bikes, no treadmill or cross-trainer.

In short: fantastic staff, average hotel, expensive for what you get (in addition to the hotel rate, you have to pay a resort tax, parking, WiFi.....) and not great value when compared to other mountain spa-resort hotels in Austria or Germany.

Room Tip: Select a room in the new/modern part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

We were in Adelboden for a weekend and had booked a package including a dinner menu and access to their large spa.

The comfortable hotel is located just above the center of Adelboden - only a couple of meters away - and profits from a perfect view on the mountain scenery across the valley. Given that we had booked a room with a view in the same direction, we got some spectacular pictures shot!

It was obvious that the hotel is very well managed: service and cleanliness are outstanding and with a personal note, which we highly appreciated. The hotel itself is not a new building, but it has been completely refurbished in the public areas, the Spa and in some of the rooms (ours was still in 80's design but still kept very well). It is fair to say that this hotel fulfills any expectations you could have towards a 4-star hotel!

The food was very good but not quite as outstanding as expected, while the wine selection was great. The restaurant is run well with efficient service and a relaxed but still slightly elegant and sometimes romantic atmosphere.

One of the highlights of the Parkhotel is clearly its spa with excellent amenities, including an outdoor hot pool with a view, and the usual massage services etc.

We felt very well treated and at home for the short stay and would return any time!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

In short our very high expectations were overachieved by the gentlemanlike team at Parkhotel Bellevue, its spectacular location and topnotch restaurant. Our stay was a truly breathtaking experience and a memory for life.

Even our 2 kids (age 7 and 10) were overwhelmed by the incredibly friendly staff and wanted to stay more. We are definitely going back.

Book a "privilege" room and you can rest assured that it doesn’t come any better in Adelboden - and unless you want to spend time on a lake, Adelboden doesn’t come any better in Switzerland.

5 out of 5 stars *****

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KlausK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldhaus-Huldi
Waldhaus-Huldi
#7 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hari im Schlegeli
Hotel Hari im Schlegeli
#5 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Bellevue

Property: Parkhotel Bellevue
Address: Bellevuestrasse 15 | 3715 Adelboden, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#4 Family Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel Bellevue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Alps Parkhotel Bellevue & Spa Adelboden Welcome to our historic Adelboden hotel. We combine a fascinating history with high-quality design, first-class service and hearty hospitality. Our guests enjoy relaxation, space, light and views as well as a cuisine inspired by regional products and distinguished by 14 Gault Millau points. Originally constructed in 1931 in classical modern style, the four-star hotel was renovated in five stages from 2006 to 2015, carefully bringing it back to its roots. A charming hotel for refined tastes where children are very welcome. We look forward to welcoming you! Denise Mani und Daniel Schüpfer, Directors Richard Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Parkhotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Bellevue Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing