We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To ski or not to ski?”
Review of Parkhotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parkhotel Bellevue
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This Spa hotel is so comfortable and welcoming (including live piano music accompanying tea and dinner) and has such a beautiful view, so many activities and Spa treatments, there is no need to go skiing to experience the Swiss Alps!

It is betwixt Geneva and Zurich travel-wise. I.e. you can get there by public transport from either city (& airport) by train and postbus. It is a very Swiss resort and hotel, and when we were there the place was not full, and there were no children, except at the weekend, (though the young owners say they welcome young families). As off duty grandparents, we liked the peace and the elegance of the place, and especially the outdoors salt water pool, after our snow-shoeing and cross country skiing adventures.

The area has many winterwanderwegs, pistes devoted to walkers, so a cheaper liftpass gives access to a similar mountain experience as skiers. The reception staff were brilliant at suggesting routes and outings and lent us walking poles.

You need exercise to help manage the 5 course dinners: Table d'hote, with 1 veggie option. Cheese board 5* and generous salad buffet. Breakfasts are very good, with the sun on the mountain opposite, you just want to sit there forever ...

Extras are expensive, but so is Switzerland, so try and get a combined package of room, dinner, spa treatments, lunches on the piste, and lift pass, if available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrylovers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Parkhotel Bellevue
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is very nice and you feel very welcome. Spacious room, good breakfast and great dinner. Spa is very nice and not crowded.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo e Michel... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is located 2 minutes up the hill from Adelboden a popular mountain resort with Swiss people.
The hotel is family owned and the Managing Director and his staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They will go the extra-mile and do anything to make your stay enjoyable. Top mark for the staff.
The building itself is unusual. There is the main building dating back to the 1930's which is very traditional that will appeal to the more mature generation, then there is a more modern extension which will attract young professionals.
Our room in the traditional building was disappointing despite the south facing and the great views. It was of a very small size and the decor totally dated. The sofa should have been replaced 20 years ago. As a frequent traveller I experience many hotels and this one was certainly below average.
The week-end package included the 4 course evening meal, which was good. We were seated in the modern part of the building and felt very comfortable. Drinks are expensive.

The hotel has a newly built spa which opens late morning and offers all kind of sauna's, pools and relaxation areas. It is very nicely done but quite small and feels overcrowded on a day with bad weather. There is complimentary tea and apples in the spa area, which is a nice touch.
The hotel has a small gym with modern equipment. For cardio exercise there are however only bikes, no treadmill or cross-trainer.

In short: fantastic staff, average hotel, expensive for what you get (in addition to the hotel rate, you have to pay a resort tax, parking, WiFi.....) and not great value when compared to other mountain spa-resort hotels in Austria or Germany.

Room Tip: Select a room in the new/modern part of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We were in Adelboden for a weekend and had booked a package including a dinner menu and access to their large spa.

The comfortable hotel is located just above the center of Adelboden - only a couple of meters away - and profits from a perfect view on the mountain scenery across the valley. Given that we had booked a room with a view in the same direction, we got some spectacular pictures shot!

It was obvious that the hotel is very well managed: service and cleanliness are outstanding and with a personal note, which we highly appreciated. The hotel itself is not a new building, but it has been completely refurbished in the public areas, the Spa and in some of the rooms (ours was still in 80's design but still kept very well). It is fair to say that this hotel fulfills any expectations you could have towards a 4-star hotel!

The food was very good but not quite as outstanding as expected, while the wine selection was great. The restaurant is run well with efficient service and a relaxed but still slightly elegant and sometimes romantic atmosphere.

One of the highlights of the Parkhotel is clearly its spa with excellent amenities, including an outdoor hot pool with a view, and the usual massage services etc.

We felt very well treated and at home for the short stay and would return any time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

In short our very high expectations were overachieved by the gentlemanlike team at Parkhotel Bellevue, its spectacular location and topnotch restaurant. Our stay was a truly breathtaking experience and a memory for life.

Even our 2 kids (age 7 and 10) were overwhelmed by the incredibly friendly staff and wanted to stay more. We are definitely going back.

Book a "privilege" room and you can rest assured that it doesn’t come any better in Adelboden - and unless you want to spend time on a lake, Adelboden doesn’t come any better in Switzerland.

5 out of 5 stars *****

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KlausK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This hotel has been owned by the same Swiss family since 1930. Each generation has received the required national training and year after year have invested in the upkeep and development of the hotel facilities. Its guests come mainly from Switzerland, Germany and the Low Countries, with some British when the pound is at a normal level. A good percentage of them reserve from year to year, even for the same rooms. The management in all areas are hands-on: they really do walk the floor and ensure that their staff, from longterm to apprentices, keep to their high standards, while keeping friendly to guests. Their progressive mindset is amazing - each year there is something new and better. For exemple this month, a weekly aperitif for all guests with all managers present, daily afternoon tea/coffee and Swiss cakes, and an expansion of the already impressive swimming and spa facilities (into the mountain) all of which are free to guests. The food is very good at all times, breakfast, lunch and the five course evening meal. The wine list has deliberately been developed as one of the best in Switzerland; the Swiss wines are the less expensive and very good. The guests come by and large for outdoor activities - skiing, walking, climbing - and/or spa treatments. Staff, and most guests usually, can communicate effectively in English. We have been going to this hotel only for 20 years; there are happy guests who have 30 or more years in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johannes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We have traveled in Switzerland for nearly 20 years and had never been to Adelboden because the road ends there. My husband wanted to go to a spa this year and we read about the Park Hotel-Bellevue so we tried it. We loved it! Thanks to the trip advisor reviews, I knew a "traditional" room would be more to our liking and that we wanted a room facing the mountains. We have always loved Zermat but we now prefer Adelboden for it's beauty and the wonderful Park Hotel. The rooms are reasonable (for a Swiss hotel) and the price includes dinner. The wine selection is extensive with a knowledgable wine steward. The thermal, outdoor salt water pool is absolutely fabulous. After a day of hiking, skiing or just getting a massage, the jets in the pool feel great. Unfortunately, we did not take the confirmation seriously enough when they recommended we "book wellness treatments prior to arrival". Almost all appointments in the spa were filled when we arrived. We were able to make a couple of treatment appointments when we checked in and we picked up a couple more during our stay as other guests cancelled them. If you are going for the spa however, make your appointments early. We presume the beautiful lady who came around to take our dinner order every night was the owner and she certainly handled herself as the owner. She made sure all of our "wants" were taken care of when we dined. As we left, I asked if I could purchase the wonderful honey they had on the breakfast buffet somewhere in the village since my husband liked it so well. She went to the back and brought me a jar. She said they purchase it from a local farmer and it was not available in the stores, now that's service! We will be back next year and are bring friends with us. The staff was very helpful and friendly.
The only change we would make is to get a larger room. The rooms are a bit small with lots of furniture in them. Also, as mentioned in another review, the Swiss love their heat so just remember to wear short sleeves inside.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank temp.europeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
0.3 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
841 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#6 of 15 in Adelboden
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
127 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Bellevue

Address: Bellevuestrasse 15 | 3715 Adelboden, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#4 Family Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: $228 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Parkhotel Bellevue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of the Alps Parkhotel Bellevue & Spa Adelboden Welcome to our historic Adelboden hotel. We combine a fascinating history with high-quality design, first-class service and hearty hospitality. Our guests enjoy relaxation, space, light and views as well as a cuisine inspired by regional products and distinguished by 14 Gault Millau points. Originally constructed in 1931 in classical modern style, the four-star hotel was renovated in five stages from 2006 to 2015, carefully bringing it back to its roots. A charming hotel for refined tastes where children are very welcome. We look forward to welcoming you! Denise Mani und Daniel Schüpfer, Directors Richard Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Parkhotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Bellevue Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing