We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cambrian
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Beau-Site(Adelboden)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Crystal(Adelboden)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Des Alpes(Adelboden)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Adler Adelboden(Adelboden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Baren(Adelboden)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveler rating
536
244
81
27
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
244
81
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolspa areadesign hotelpanoramic viewlobby barsteam roomski resortswiss alpssmall gymwinter gardenski roomspa treatmentssouth facing roomjunior suiteevery eveningbeautiful hotelgreat spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 914 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Centrally located hotel with magnificent views, great food and good service. The hotel's design is classically simplistic in a modern way and offers the guests a very warm and welcoming feeling.

We stayed in a junior suite which was very spacious with a well appointed bathroom. Make sure you stay in a room facing south since the view is breathtaking, the extra cost is worth it!

The spa is definitely worth a visit alone, and treatments are very good.

We were there during a normal weekend in October and the spa and terrace did get rather crowded. We can only imagine how it would be during peak season.... a pity.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Great hotel, very clean and modern. PRO's: The room and the bathroom were really nice and clean. The view from our room, the lobby and the outside Whirlpool was amazing. The SPA (including massages) is great. The employees were young and very friendly. The lobby including pool table and fireplace was really nice. CON's: the staff in the restaurant was inexperienced and not very professional. The bathrobes were not soft anf not very comportable. The gym was really small. Also very small parking spaces.
However all in all it's the perfect place for a romantic / relaxing weekend and we can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlynala_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

It was the last stop during our honeymoon. And we enjoyed it very much. If you plan to go there, choose low season then you will avoid all the craze in the swimming pool and in the little town:)
PROS:
* location
* nice designed interiors
* our room was very spacy and clean
* spa area with really cool outside pool
* delicious breakfasts with very friendly staff (especially young waitresses)
* welcome dessert :)
* cable railway pass for free
CONS:
*lack of help with luggage (for this money it should be arranged)
*a little parking lot in front of the hotel (we parked in the street, and paid 50% less)
*a bit pricy

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitbulltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Located in central Adelboden this is a very well designed hotel, good room sizes, excellent spa and pool. Service is exemplary by both the front desk and the restaurant staff - always keen to help and be flexible where possible. Do go for a room with a south facing view - the view is amazing. The Cambrian is not cheap - but what in Switzerland is - but it is good value for money. Parking is limited - yes - but what else does one expect and its free if you park in town car park. if you go in summer make use of the maps the hotel can provide, use the cable cars to get up high, buy your lunch in the Coop or Hautener - and off you go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasterG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Cambrian and had a great time. The lobby, bar, restaurant are very elegant, yet not intimidating. Staff is really professional, yet friendly. The view is incredible. The spa, although small, is welcoming, cosy, clean, well-maintained. Our room, on the north side, was without a view but very comfortable, with great design and an incredibly comfortable bed, firm and soft at the same time. Breakfast is buffet style, except for the warm drinks. No problem, plenty of choices and good quality. Eating out on the sunny terrace, enjoying the view, was truly enjoyable.

The only minor minus we noted was that dinner does not offer the best value for price. What we ate was very good, but we found it slightly too expensive (15% -20% more than what we thought would have been the right price).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miam_miam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews