We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Location not so much !!”
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Cambrain is located in Adelboden , about 45 minutes drive from Interlaken. The hotel is very good, staff was excellent (Venessa ), she was very sweet, soft spoken and friendly. The view from the rooms and from their pool and spa area is beautiful. This hotel is amazing, it only loses one star due to the location- there are not many things to do in Adelboden and place is very quiet.
I think it is perfect for a two day break from the noisy hustle bustle from the city.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Mountains !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anarmodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 881 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 nights stay during our recent visit to Switzerland.
The breakfast is simply amazing - what a nice selection of beautiful cheese & bread and great that the hours are extended till noon over the weekend, so we could relax, read, eat, and enjoy!
Nice lobby lounge with fire place and comfortable rooms with balcony and a view.
The spa facilities are small but comfortable and what a fantastic view from the pool!
Service could be a bit more attentive, as for the price paid for the hotel you would expect a bit more...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1970worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

1st time ever in the mountains in summer despite living in Switzerland for 4 years.

Was so relaxing and peaceful really didn't want to leave.
Only downside is that parking is limited and room was a little on the small side.
Plus side the lounge and bar area is just stunning with views over the valley and the whirlpool is also hard to leave.

Will def go back for Ski season.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a lovely hotel for a weekend getaway. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the lobby area is inviting with fireplace and couches, great view and a beautiful, albeit small, indoor and outdoor pool. We also enjoyed a very good dinner at the hotel and the breakfast was terrific, best bircher muesli I have ever had! The spa facilities are nice; had one of the best massages I have had in Switzerland (though the bar is low) but I would say worthwhile. Be sure to book ahead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cb4ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A very modern, stylish and well located Hotel with great views. Very friendly staff. It offers a very rich and healthy breakfast until 11am, Sundays until 12!! The rooms are very clean with a good bed and a practical bathroom. Skiing is easy as it offers a big ski room with ski boot heating and you will get to the lifts in no time. Returning from a day on the mountains you can relax in the generous spa or continue your sports in the very modern gym. Should you want to have any dinner after 9pm they will serve you good food at the bar. Service comes a little slow here. All in all a hotel I can recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cosmocomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had the Cambrian suite- nice and spacious. strangely without any coffee facilities ( i do love my coffee in the mooring ..)- but nice big terrace with a fantastic view- very good and service minded reception staff and the guy who parks the cars is super. Same for the girls in the breakfast room.

But there are girls working in the bar that seriously needs a attitude adjustment- i myself have been in the hotel business previously and a hotel of this calibre can not afford having such staff - unfriendly and unprofessional- this leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Avoid!!

Fantastic small heated outdoor pool - perfect for stargazing at night, small but nice spa area. Restaurant with good menu- would liked a wider choice of wines - but still very pleasant eve. Great place for couples and friends wanting a nice environments with a contemporary twist in a real good ski resort.

Room Tip: the suits south facing are very nice-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asakatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife treated me to a weekend away for my birthday and I'm so glad she chose this place. It was just before the ski season started so it was pretty cheap and not crowded at all. The pool and the view from it was AMAZING. There was never more than 2 people in it at a time which was so nice. The room was super bright, nice and modern with a large balcony with valley views. Perfect. Staff we're polite and friendly and the town was so cute and welcoming. The restaurant however was a little disappointing. It wasn't very busy and the music was so low in volume that we felt we had to whisper. Ambiance really let it down. Food was good though and great wine-for Switzerland it was well priced. I would definitely stay here again but probably eat in the town. Not a complaint for the hotel though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
13.2 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
239 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 13 in Lenk im Simmental
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
71 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#11 of 15 in Adelboden
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: $224 - $1,387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing