We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, nice spa, great service”
Review of The Cambrian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambrian
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been planning a long weekend only in the hotel, but after these 2 days, I would definitely go back.
This is a design hotel, only renovated a few years ago, thus interior design is really cool and still cozy. The food and service in the restaurant is perfect. You don't have to wait, there is always someone around if you would like to have something.
Same positive impression at the reception. Any request was kindly fulfilled in a few minutes in at least 3 languages if not more ;)
The only backside is that they are in lack of parking places. However, the hotel is located in the city center, 50meters away from the bus station, 3 mins walk from the main street and 5mins walk from an indoor parking lot.
In brief I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to spend relaxing nights after long hiking or skiing tours.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view to the mountains are more expensive, but they must worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szaboemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 860 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've been here in July 2013 and in few words its superb!
The mountains and fresh air make you relax and totally enjoy this hotel.
In the hotel everything is with great taste organise, the swimming pool its superb both inside and outside.
Food is other great thing you will experience if you chose The Cambrian.
People in the hotel are very, very nice and polite... they will make you fell like home with every question you'll go to them.
So, I will just say I will sure plan on coming back in the future.

Room Tip: No noise in the rooms!!! Spa is great - a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stGeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in the Cambrian and could make use of a 3 for 2 deal. Overall we had a very pleasant stay with the following pros and cons:
+ friendly local staff in the restaurant
+ nice spa
+ nice lounge with mountain view
- one customer ignorant reception lady (we asked if we get some help with our luggage and it seemed to be a ridiculous request, she was more concerned about us parking on the correct spot and paying for it...)
- reception didn't know adelboden or the area very well

Adelboden and the Cambrian is certainly a place we would go back to. The Cambrian represents themselves as a top class hotel and they are on the right track but fall short with the reception staff and some small details.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Com4tTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

It's expensive to stay here, but it's a boutique hotel in Switzerland, so that's sort of expected....
Once you forget about the cost, you can enjoy beautiful spacious rooms (ours has a lounge and balcony), a nice lounge areas downstairs, bar, pool/billiards room, swimming pool (not huge, but nice), outdoor heated pool, sauna, steam room and spa treatments (extra cost). The sauna is a naked one but that shouldn't put you off. They put on aquafit, yoga, walking excursions if you are feeling energetic (yoga at extra cost- some others free). There is free cake every day between 4-5pm. The restaurant is nice (I recommend the beef carpaccio!) and there is lots of choice at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is southfacing. The view is spectacular facing this way towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westendie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Cambrian. I would advice to take the mountain view room type, because the view is stunning (when the clouds are gone).
Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with all necessary amenities and little balcony. The hotel offers free sauna + swimming pool access, that's a great advantage and the ideal way to end your busy sightseeing/walking days.
Breakfast is very good with a nice buffet (mini croissants, bread, sandwiches, yoghurt,...)
The staff is also very friendly. Parking is payable but very convenient in this small village. When you explore the region by car, you need consider that the road down to the main cities takes approx 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are spacious and have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Cambrian is located in the centre of Adelboden and has astonishing view on the mountains from the 'south facing rooms', the restaurant and the infinity swimming pool.
Even more important, friendly and helpful staff.
The breakfast was great, fresh pressed orange juice and omelet on demand.
The SPA is wonderful and relaxing with its sauna's, Turkish bath and swimming pool.
As well the rooms are modern and spacious.
Great hide out for hiking and relaxing days in the Swiss Alps.

Room Tip: Take a room south facing, a little bit more expensive but 100% better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco196412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is impressive from inside, it is located in the heart of the lovely village but all the beauty is at the back of the hotel facing the mountains. The views from hotel are great, especially from the tea/lounge room and outside spa area. Spa is divided into indoors and outdoors areas. Be alert the indoor spa area is compulsory nude, but it is not made very clear. We missed out on all the saunas due to this requirement;( The breakfast is good, however it appeared to us that in addition to the buffet it was possible to order as well. However it is not told or advertised in any way, perhaps it is just a normal way in Switzerland.
The hotel offer a free pot of very nice tea and cake every afternoon at 4pm for an hour to all guests. However we got charged for sundays tea (17Fr), perhaps it wasn't free everyday, but it wasn't made clear to us. The hotel has very large selection of dvds to borrow at reception, which we found very useful for a quiet night in. However, as everything else it is not advertised.
The restaurant in the hotel seemed to be a bit more pricy than other places in the village. Therefore, for dinner we went out to explore and we feel it was good decision. Our favourite place for dinner was in the Adler Hotel.

It is very nice, clean, modern hotel with ideal location and views. Only thing we would like to suggest if you go there please read the information pack left in your room very carefully and dont be afraid to ask questions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelboden
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
236 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
729 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 15 in Adelboden
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#15 of 15 in Adelboden
69 reviews
24.1 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambrian

Address: Dorfstrasse 7, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland (Formerly Solis Cambrian Adelboden Hotel and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelboden
#1 Family Hotel in Adelboden
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range: $222 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cambrian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine authenticity meets design. We at The Cambrian passionately believe that during your stay, you should feel every bit as relaxed as you would in your own home. The Cambrian provides authentic local colour, cosmopolitan comfort and inspiring cuisine. It is sophisticated and reliable, and dedicated to providing its guests with unrivalled service. Explore, engage, enjoy, relax, restore and create experiences that will stay with you forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cambrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambrian Adelboden Hotel And Spa
Solis Cambrian Hotel
Hotel Solis Cambrian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing