We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cambrian
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Beau-Site(Adelboden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waldhaus-Huldi(Adelboden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adler Adelboden(Adelboden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Bristol(Adelboden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baren(Adelboden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Crystal(Adelboden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveler rating
536
244
81
27
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
244
81
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolspa areadesign hotelpanoramic viewlobby barsteam roomski resortswiss alpssmall gymwinter gardenski roomspa treatmentssouth facing roomjunior suiteevery eveningbeautiful hotelgreat spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 914 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 with two children for a few nights. It really is a wonderful setting with spectacular views and easy access to the mountains. The hotel is a very high standard and the staff are friendly and helpful. We can highly recommend using the trottie bikes...great fun!

My only criticism, and it is a small one, is that as a vegetarian, the menu was very limited if not non-existent. However, that is quite normal for the area!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at this place several times before and had excellent experience, but have to say service and quality have significantly decreased in 2012. It seems this establishment has financial issues. Clearly under-staffed by people who are not having a good time on the job. It's basically become a self-service operation. It's virtually impossible to get the time of day from the few employees working there (bar, pool service, spa, restaurant, you name it).
Some of these folks are nicer than others but barely - front desk is mediocre, bar is non-existent. Restaurant staff (well ok there was one person doing breakfast the whole time) is unpleasant at best.
I won't ever return there and that's a bummer as it used to be the best place in town. Oh well.

Room Tip: Something with a view of the mountains obviously.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Cambrian for four nights and really liked it - the mountain views from our room and sun deck/pool were fabulous, the hotel is well designed giving it a nice look and feel. Beds are comfortable, and the rooms well equipped. After four nights we felt rested and relaxed. The choice and range of the buffet was very nice: lovely breads, yoghurts, muesli, eggs etc. We had dinner at the restaurant, which was excellent.

Breakfast could have been managed a little bit better: the coffee machine broke down several times and it took a while before the buffet was resupplied. And admittedly, we did not expect to pay for parking given the price paid per room.

But none of this affected our stay too much and we think this is probably still one of the nicest places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Makes sure you get a room with an alpine view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been living in Switzerland for several years and visited The Cambrian on many occasions since 2007. And it is far from the same hotel it used to be. Something has gone very wrong here. There are clearly management issues to deal with here.

Pros:

* The SPA is still nice. Dressing room is very nice.

* Rooms are ok. Beds are comfortable. Heating works fine.

* Breakfast is suifficient.

However this is pretty much the only good things I can say about this hotel nowadays. Very disappointing.

Cons:

* Alright, get ready for this. Let's say you order a burger at an expensive 4 star "design" hotel and you get something that was prepared yesterday. The meat is ice cold, bread is dry, veggies soft and old. What do you do? You ask the waiter what on earth was this ice cold thing you just received on my plate? The waiter apologizes and promises he'll bring you a new burger, but when it arrives, it is even colder and more sorry than the first one? We expressed our disappointment once again but gave up - clearly having any food from this kitchen was not to be recommended. And of yeah, we still had to pay for the uneatable ice cold burger from the day before.

* SPA area is getting a bit rundown. The wooden deck surrounding the pool is in poor shape. Same goes for the sunbeds. There was a weird smell everywhere in the SPA. The hotel claims to have a heated ouside pool but the water temperature were much too low during the evenings.

* There are clear management issues here. Staff seems to be inexperienced and a somewhat unfriendly (with 1-2 exceptions).

* The hotel announces that no children are allowed in the pools after 5pm. This is clearly to attract couples seeking relaxation. However, there are still lots of children playing, screaming, yelling, and running around like mad in the pool even after 5pm. Nobody seems to monitor the pool area. If you're looking for relaxation, look elsewhere.

* In the bar there was an incredibly noisy group of people playing pool. They were behaving like drunk teenagers, cursing loudly. But, the bar manager just let that go on even though several people were distrubed by them.

* The Wi-Fi didn't work for several hours.

* Parking is a pain here. It's also very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

What more can I say? This is a great place to stay.

Very stylish, very clean, incredible views across mountains and waterfalls, the bed is huge and supremely comfortable, breakfast is extensive and fantastic (and goes till 12 on Sundays, a very considerate move on their part). Oh, and room service is fast and very, very good, and after spending a lot of time in Switzerland we feel qualified to say that this the best burger in the whole of Switzerland (this is not a country that does burgers well – you want fondue, you’re in the right place, for anything else, not so much. And really, there is only so much fondue one can take, you know?)

A good – albeit very small – gym, and truly lovely indoor and outdoor pools with a view over the mountains.

Best of all are the staff. Friendly, warm, and very efficient. Most particularly Francesca on the front desk who went out of her way to make sure that we had the right room to accommodate our baby. Fantastic crib provided by the reception, with a great mattress, etc. The housekeeping staff are also very friendly and sweet.

This is just an excellent hotel. Stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the mountains!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kategem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews