We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cambrian
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bristol(Adelboden)
$165
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baren(Adelboden)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hari im Schlegeli(Adelboden)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$224
$217
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Crystal(Adelboden)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adler Adelboden(Adelboden)
$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bed & Breakfast Bernerhof(Adelboden)(Great Value!)
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Beau-Site(Adelboden)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveler rating
539
244
82
27
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
244
82
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolspa areadesign hotelpanoramic viewlobby barsteam roomski resortswiss alpssmall gymwinter gardenski roomspa treatmentssouth facing roomjunior suiteevery eveningbeautiful hotelgreat spa
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 918 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel is located in the center of Adelboden, which is a little village quite spread out. Everything is within walking distance, except the ski slopes, so you either need to take a taxi or the local bus to go skiing.
Apart from that, the hotel is great. The ski locker room has heated shoe racks and is very clean. The spa is really nice, with two small pools : one inside (rather cold) and one outside (hotter, as they are not connected). I was there when it snowed and the feeling of being in a hot pool with snow on your head is just fantastic ! The sauna and hammam is also very nice, but not for prudes, as it’s naked only and mixed. I was there off-peak, so I could imagine if the hotel was full, the spa would be a bit undersized.
The rooms are really great : nicely furnished and spacious. The bedding (important to me) is one of the best I’ve seen ; you will just fall asleep as soon as you lay down on it. The free WiFi is available in all rooms/locations of the hotel.
Breakfast is a huge buffet with hot and cold choices. It is very varied and should satisfy everyone (cereals, bread, cold meats, hot food…). I would avoid eating other meals though, as the service was very slow and the food not really up to the standards of the hotel.
Overall, this hotel is great for relaxing. The ski resort is nice for families and beginners to intermediates, although I found it much overpriced. For the same price you could be skiing in much bigger resorts such as the 4 Valleys (Verbier). Also, be aware that is not a ski-in/ski-out hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

this was a birthday treat for five days from 12th december 2011 and i have to congratulate the owner and staff of this superb hotel. the hotel was very quiet being just before the ski season got fully underway and we requested a hotel room with a view of the mountains and were not disappointed - the staff even arranged chocolates and a card on my birthday signed by them all - a nice touch and nothing was too much trouble for them. the reception area and the beautiful bar and lounge we had all to ourselves on the last couple of days and also the spa and outdoor pool which was a real bonus. i dont know what it may be like when all the rooms are fully occupied i could imagine the pool and spa may get quite busy and it is not very large.
the breakfast was superb buffet style but hot alternatives available if you ask and we ate a couple of nights in the restaurant and found the food to be nicely cooked although the wine is terribly expensive - we at out in the village also which is only 5 minutes walk. car parking at the hotel is quite limited and expensive and we parked within 200 yards for about half the price - but other than this small complaint i really couldnt fault this stylish contemporary hotel which is near to the ski area and very central in the village. it was definately surreal swimming in the 32 degree outdoor pool with snow on your hair and lounging in the jacuzzi!!
we got a great deal on this hotel through mr and mrs smith and if the resort had been fully open would have gone skiing but unfortunately the lifts opened the day after we returned home.

Room Tip: corner room south facing higher up if possible
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindalockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Loved this hotel, great stay. One of the best hotels I have stayed for views, location and pool area.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBaker03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We staed at The Cambrian for one night in early August 2011, so this review is based on a very short stay on only one occasion.

On arrival there were no parking spaces available, despite us having booked one in advance through Mr & Mrs Smith. We were on a road trip in our own car which I wasn't happy to park down the street - after being insistent, they agreed to move their minibus so that we could park at the front of the hotel.

The design of the public areas and rooms is very good. Modern but in keeping with the Swiss chalet look and quite relaxing. Bathroom and room were a decent size, plus very clean and everything worked well. Balcony view across the valley is stunning.

Spa areas are nice but very busy (we stayed on a Saturday), plus two teenagers were pretty much going to 3rd base in the outdoor pool. Staff in the spa are thin on the ground.

The restaurant is cripplingly expensive - the a la carte menu is more expensive than The Ledbury in London and the food is more Swiss Beefeater than Le Gavroche. Guigal Cote du Rhone was about 75 euros a bottle!!

I wouldn't say avoid this hotel, but I would avoid the restaurant and keep the stay to 2/3 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nohedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

To be honest, I don't think I'd go to the Cambrian again on a Saturday - it is fully booked to the last room and overcrowded, especially the spa area in the afternoon. This makes absolutely no enjoyable spa experience, except you enjoy being close like Sardines with stranger couples and the occasional group of idiots who do the cannonball into the already overcrowded pool (which is definitely to small for the number of people on a Saturday afternoon). The dinner is also medium great, as you have almost only silent couples in the restaurant.

But: A completely different ballgame on Sunday! After the pack had left, we stayed for the whole day. I think this is superb service that you can use all facilities on the day of your departure! An empty pool with just a few other folks, drinks service in the pool in plastic glasses, a superb panorama from the pool and the sofa lounge above, free cake at 4pm, very friendly staff - the Sunday deserves nothing less than the full score!

Excellent design, cozy bed, DVD player, free Wifi, great bathroom, fantastic. If you arrive by bus, the hotel is literally across the street.

We stayed in a North Side room and while I guess that it is well worth spending the extra bucks on the South Side room with balcony, we spent the time on the terrace or the panorama sofa lounge, had the same panorama and when we returned to the room it was dark anyways.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews