We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waldhaus-Huldi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldhaus-Huldi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waldhaus-Huldi
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Waldhaus-Huldi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

After spending 4 days in the 3* Hotel Europe Zermatt, wemoved to the 3* Hotel Waldhaus-Huldi Adelboden with great disappointment. [--]. We were placed in the Huldi, and on initial impression I was ready to get the train back to Zermat. After a good nights sleep however things did improve, marginally. What I have to say however is that the hotel was absolutely spotless, the staff were very helpful and the family owners could not do enough for you. The lounge bar was very outdated or maybe just typical Swiss German. It wasn't a bar in the true sense, and, it closed at 2200. The room I had was spacious as was the bathroom, I also had 2 balconies - beds VERY comfy. The hotel residents were either elderly or part of large walking groups. Can't really put my finger on what was wrong, but I would not return to this hotel. The food was not great, and the service was way too quick, 4 courses in the space of 40 minutes (compared to my previous hotel 3*, 1st class food, evening meal spread out over the evening if you so wished). The Huldi was a very old fashioned hotel, some people would love it, I did not.

The hotel is part of Minotel - Minotel features well cared for, family-owned and -managed hotels at a moderate price. This is the 2nd Minotel I have stayed in and my impression of both is the same. I shall choose more caregull in future.

Adelboden as a place was nice, great walks but the town itself was a ghost town after 1800, very few things to do apart from go to bed!

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — Just didn't like it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PodgeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

We stayed here in March 2007 after booking our skiing holiday through Thomsons. The room was very nice and warm although the bathroom was very small, not a lot of room to put things, however the water was very hot and it was clean. The staff were excellent and so was the food and comfort. Nice lounge with open fire and newspapers (german) and plenty of games and books (english also). The sauna and steam room were very pleasant. Would definately return to this hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

We stayed at the hotel for a week whilst skiing at Adelboden and found the hotel staff to be very friendly, welcoming and the standard of service was above the hotels rating.

It is a mid range hotel and the food and room size / facilities reflected that, but everything was done to make our stay an enjoyable one and when we return to Adelboden we'd certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — Hotel staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in March 2005 while skiing in the resort. The hotel is split into two sections on either side of the main high street in Adelboden, at one end of the town. It is convenient for the main ski link (200m away) and has a secure ski locker. Our room was pleasant and warm, though the bathroom is typical for Switzerland - retro-fitted and brown-tiled; functional but not to everyone's taste. The dining room is very spacious and the food very good. There is a family feel to the hotel and it is among the most friendly and helpful places we've ever stayed at. It is a member of the Minotel chain and their website had rates of 81CHF for dinner (5 courses), bed and breakfast (substantial buffet) - very good value.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nroskilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Steinmattli
Hotel Steinmattli
#8 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhaus-Huldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhaus-Huldi

Property: Waldhaus-Huldi
Address: Dorfstrasse 77/88, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldhaus-Huldi 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waldhaus-Huldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Huldi Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing