We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location,”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel FloraAlpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel FloraAlpina
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice location,”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel at very nice place. Very pleasant and diligent staff.
We had family room, there was extra room for kids with small table, chair and rocking horse.
Bath and toilet were appropriately furnished, but nothing special or modern.
My bed in double bed was totally sagged. My husband had it ok.
Breakfast was excellent and dinner was excellent too, absolutely best service, free small starters but very much expensive.
So if I can summary this hotel was nice, comfortable, good service, but I will not choose them next time. I am little bit embarrassed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
97
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berne
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is excellently situated above the narrowest point of Lake Lucerne, conveniently accessible by car and five minutes walk (up!) from the half-hourly bus along the "Riviera". The whole place is spacious and well-organized - the rooms are generous, with ample space for sitting and relaxing. The only minor problem was the disproportionately small toilet and shower room. In our case, this could have been much better designed. and getting through the door required a certain amount of contortion to avoid being trapped between the shower and the toilet bowl. The hotel wifi worked faultlessly with a good signal throughout the building.
Breakfast was more than adequate, and meals in the restaurant were excellent, though at a corresponding price. We did not use the sauna and hot tubs on the terrace overlooking the lake, but they looked attractively inviting. The heated swimming pool in the grounds was not yet complete, but also promises to be attractive. The staff were friendly and competent, and we left feeling we would gladly return to the same hotel if in the area.

Room Tip: A lake view is much to be desired. Some of the rooms have balconies, and proportionately larger wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil SG, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Beautiful hotel by the beautiful vierwaldstättersee!
We were picked up at the lake after a wonderful trip on the lake!
The family room is quite old, but there is a seperate room for the children, decorated for them and with a small table and kids' books, so really brilliant. The toilet and bathroom are quite old, but clean. The "main room" (containing a double bed, a sofa and a big table) is really lovely and mordern, with the most magnificient view!

Dinner is quite expensive, but good (but not as brilliant as the view...) and the family room is also quite expensive, but it's worth it for the extra privacy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milsom-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
219 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommended, food of a high level, tasty and sophisticated, not bland. Below the hotel is the lake with bathing areas and a steam bath. Swimming in the Vierwaldstatte See was very refreshing and still. Hotel rooms are above average for such an establishment with a modern and bathroom. Even the free Wifi worked. Covered parking was fine and views are stunning. A couple of minutes out of Vitznau but easily waled whilst enjoying the scenery.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CecilGgibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

On our way back from Tuscany , we had to change our route and had to cancel a reservation made at that hotel . I called the hotel well in advance to cancel the room . I was told that cancellation had to take place via booking.com . I stressed that without an internet access in the remote place where we stayed , I could not do so , I was told by the very rude lady in charge of the reservations , that "this was not her problem" . After all , we were glad we did not have any further experience of the "Swiss hospitality" at that hotel !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel was perfect for our needs. We wanted to spend our last night in the area in a Swiss chalet-style hotel, and the Flora Alpina fit the bill. Beautiful views of Lake Lucern, excellent access to hiking on Mt. Rigi, professional staff who spoke English, fantastic food and presentation. Truly great view of the lake and islands..surreal feel. The dining/bar patio is classy but not overstated...very nice. We had room 19 which had an updated bathroom and large closet, so there was plenty of room for two people. We had dinner in the restaurant, and the food was presented creatively and was tasty besides. The location is just out of the city center, which I prefer. There was beach access on the grounds. Comfortable beds, quiet, clean, beautiful location, great food, professional staff. The only thing I would have changed is the carpet. It seemed like cheaper indoor/outdoor carpet and didn't fit with the style..blue/grey with all the nice woodwork, etc.? I wouldn't let that deter you from staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestUSA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A professional & courteous welcome; comfortable room; excellent breakfast & simply stunning dinner experience combined to produce a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for lakefront views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWMMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitznau
1.1 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rigi
Hotel Rigi
#3 of 6 in Vitznau
130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
445 reviews
3.1 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#8 of 17 in Weggis
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Am See
Hotel Terrasse Am See
#5 of 6 in Vitznau
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel FloraAlpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel FloraAlpina

Property: Hotel FloraAlpina
Address: Schibernstrasse 2, Vitznau 6354, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Vitznau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel FloraAlpina 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel FloraAlpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing