We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impossible perfection”
Review of Park Hotel Vitznau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Hotel Vitznau
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Certificate of Excellence
Zug
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Impossible perfection”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

On a sunny day, the most fabulous garden restaurant. Elegance and style, a large selection of wines well exposed in the building's basement. Skilled service, good food in search of excellence. The panorama is unique. Part of the building serves as a rehabilitation center for be neurological affections. The best place for such purpose.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Orzaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
148
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

As you can see from my other reviews, I stay at a lot of good places and I save my top ratings for the best of the best. This property deserves an exceptional rating. It was designed by the same group that renovated the Palais Coburg in Vienna, also a beautiful property, but I enjoyed this one a lot more because it just felt more homey. Both properties are decorated in a modern style with beautiful decor and features such as wall frescoes in the elevator shaft and a lovely garden. Hotel is 25 minutes from Rotkreuz train station 35 minutes ride from Zurich (hotel sends a courtesy car for train transfers) or 8 minutes walk from boat landing in Vitznau (ferry from Lucerne takes an hour). I had the Harvard Suite (deluxe junior suite) overlooking the lake. If you are going to stay here, you want a room with a lake view, and it is a beautiful spot of nature with snow-capped mountains even in June. I really liked the concept of having the themed suites dedicated to famous philanthropists, capitalists and artists, art throughout the buildings and the ability to look in from the outside at the entrance to the unoccupied suites. Unfortunately, the descriptions on the walls next to the suites and the art are all in German but you can look at the English language hotel website for the same items in English. It would make sense, as an international property that seeks to play host to the world, to put small plaques on the walls in English that translate the German texts. The spa is very well designed and has lots of interesting facilities in it that go beyond the norm such as a chill-out room with colored lights and various hot and cold spots. The pool and jacuzzi are also fine. I had two dinners there; Prism was excellent and innovative throughout. The fine dining restaurant's (Focus) tasting menu was too difficult for me, because I don't eat meat or shellfish, but the maitre' d let me order from the outdoor menu and they brought it to the table. At the outdoor garden cafe, the blood orange sorbet literally melted in your mouth and itself was worth the ticket across the ocean. Staff was exceedingly dedicated and sophisticated, and seemed very genuinely hospitable. I felt that the value for money was good. It's expensive but worth it. Dinner at Prism was 127 CHF for a meal which had 3 extra courses on top of whatever I ordered, for example. Breakfast featured some interesting menu items such as Scodella Dmitri (cold custard in a bowl mixed with berries and ice cream) and churros with chocolate sauce -- stuff kids will go ga-ga for. Things I found lacking: Air conditioning in the room was inadequate; they have some kind of ceiling system that is for the pleasure of the environment, but not of the guest. Most of the time, you probably don't care but it was hot the day I was there and opening the door to the outside did not help. The shower was in the bathtub and it was on an angle, and I really expect a room costing over 1,000 CHF a night to have a standing shower in it. I thought the gym was a bit sparse; I had expected more of a facility. From the hotel you have a nice little day trip to the top of Mount Riggi (the view from the top is fair but it is a nice ride up the cog railway) and the ferry to Lucerne is also a nice daytrip with good shopping and a pretty old town there. This would make an excellent spot for a corporate retreat. You could also definitely come here with your kids. I saw some families here. You see people here from all over the world, and it is a refined guest list when you start talking to the other guests. This property stands out because it feels more than just like another hotel; it has an inspired taste about it that makes you feel that it aspires to be something special. And it works. If you want to contrast this review with another world-famous hotel that I felt was overrated, check out my review of the Hotel Splendido in Portofino, Italy where I also visited the same week.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were there for lunch on 20th April and found the service to be outstanding. The food and value was also good. Despite seeing a 5ltr bottle of red costing 658000chf (impressive), there were still many good value wines on the menu. Highly recommended and was a great lunch despite bringing 4 kids with us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Fantastic views of the lake, a excellent spa with great facilities. There is a large outside seating area, but sadly the weather was rather inclement when we were there. The staff at the Hotel could not be more helpful and friendly. The Manager of the two rosette restaurant, David, was very friendly and gave excellent help on the choice of wines and the food. We ate twice in the restaurant. and my husband was overwhelmed by the extensive wine list. We have never seen before so many large bottles on a wine list. The cellars are on view and quite something to look at.
Breakfast was excellent with a choice of fresh fruits yogurts, in fact a large selection to choose from.Lunch in the lounge is a little difficult eating off low tables, nothing spectacular on the lunchtime, the usual hotel menu. Thought that the evening rosette menu was rather disappointing.

Room Tip: We had a great suite overlooking the lake, and it was very quiet with a long terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My partner and I had the pleasure to stay at this property over Easter weekend. This hotel now ranks as my most favorite in the world. The rooms and amenities are of the highest standard, with Nespresso machines, premium teas, wine, and minibar all complimentary in the room. Bath products are Molton Brown (and not the small sizes). The bed was so plush and comfy that I wouldn't have gotten out of it if it wasn't for the amazing breakfast on offer. The weather was splendid so we were able to enjoy breakfast on the terrace with a view across the lake to the mountains. A real treat.

The spa facilities are top-notch and in a striking modern design that pleases the eye. So much detail and craftsmanship has gone into the various design elements around the hotel. The pool is heated to the perfect temperature and again offers great views while taking in some laps.

We had dinner in the Restaurant PRISMA. Food, wine and service were all executed flawlessly. There is nothing I can fault with the meal. Truly outstanding.

Service all around -- from the porters to front desk , bartenders and housekeeping was all performed with Swiss precision and efficiency, but warm and familiar. They really make you feel welcomed.

A hotel made in heaven. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room and enjoy the breathtaking views across Lake Luzern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZRHExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Before starting to write this review, I wanted to come up with something to criticise about the renovated Park Hotel Vitznau. I just cannot find anything, the weekend we spent ther was just absolute perfection. The lovely suite was large, with a nicely stocked mini-bar included in the price, an enormous bathroom and the most comfortable bed.
The pool and spa are pure perfection in set up and design. Nothing in this hotel is left to chance, even the lift shafts are designed with very paintings. This hotel is a real treat and was worth the high price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnogorsk, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was my first visit to Switzerland and hotel present me best views I will remember all my life! Our room was so modern that I feel myself like a human in 22th century. Hotel is good to stay some days for honey weekend. If tou stay more, hotel liitle bit far away from places to go out.

Special thanks to chef-cook Nenad for gastronomic performance! If you you stay in hotel, do not hesitate to spend one evening to test his high cousine!

Hotel is so perfect that people is not enougth perfect to live in it)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Дмитрий М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitznau
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
6.3 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
8.0 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Vitznau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Vitznau

Property: Park Hotel Vitznau
Address: Seestrasse 18, Vitznau 6354, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Vitznau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hotel Vitznau 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hotel Vitznau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitznau Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing