We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the BEST Dinner ever @ focus”
Review of Park Hotel Vitznau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Vitznau
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Hotel was only open for some weeks but the kitchen crew and waiter staff of the focus restaurant worked hand in hand as if they had been a team for ever. The food was fresh, respecting the season and used regional products where ever possible. The love for details and taste by the head chef Nenad Mlinarevic is visualized on every single plate that had been served.
The focus is definitely not a fast food place - it is a place to spend several hours getting tasty food, enjoying the company, the view and the wine.
If you fancy wine - the Hotel has a pretty impressive collection of all kind or wine and champagne. If you are lucky you can visit one ore another cellar.

I can't wait for another great dinner at focus!

Room Tip: Can't give any points for the Hotelpart as I was only in the restaurant focus.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Park Hotel Vitznau
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and me stayed here one night while visiting Vitznau. Make no mistake, this is an ultra-high end luxury property that may not be in everyone's budget. But, after one night I would say that if you ever wanted to splurge at least once for a memory maker, this would be the one.

You can see this magnificent hotel as you approach by boat. The large, white hotel can be seen from miles away and is perfectly situated with panoramic views of Lake Lucerne. Rather than having to do the typical check-in, your personal guest representative greets you at the door (after being picked up by their $140,000 BMW at the boat station), and brings you to your room.

Once there they show you all the high tech gadgetry that is built into the design. They have touch controls for the bath/shower, Wifi, docking stations and more.

The rooms themselves are beautifully decorated and ours was in white tones with turquoise accents. The large windows and sliding glass doors opened to a balcony that overlooks the terrace area as well as the lake and mountains. You could just sit there with a drink and watch the sun and light change throughout the day all the way to the crimson sunset.

In the morning we had breakfast in their restaurant right next to the lake and adjacent indoor/outdoor pool. This restaurant felt like being inside a large glass cube with light coming in everywhere and offering 180 degree views.

They make breakfast to order (included in price) and they brought out some little boxes that reminded me of modified bento boxes you might find in Japan. Small pastries, breads, meats and little cups of everything from butter to nutella to jams and jellies were almost too pretty to eat.

As you might expect from a luxury property, the service here is excellent. I made several requests to the front desk person (Francois I think?) and he never once made me feel that I was imposing. He arranged transportation, boarding passes for the next day's trip and information about various places to see while there.

If you ever have the chance to say here, you will feel that the price is more than justified by the overall experience.

Room Tip: All are fantastic with one better than another.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
event2, Geschäftsführer at Park Hotel Vitznau, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Mr Fort Collins

Thank you for your message and feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the stay at the Park Hotel Vitznau.

The service at the guest is important to us - all the better if you had the feeling that our staff were able to support you friendly and knowledgeable.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Lake Lucerne.

Yours sincerely

Urs Langenegger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This 5 stars hotel literally offers what is called with 5 stars luxury. Great locations with a beautiful scenery belong together. Located right on the bank of Lake Vierwaldstätersee.
The staffs are friendly and professional, the rooms are wonderful. It is really worth the 5 stars title. And they have quite selections of expensive wines in their wein cellar. ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerryErwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
event2, Geschäftsführer at Park Hotel Vitznau, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Berry Erwanto

Schön, dass Sie den Aufenthalt in unserem Hotel in vollen Zügen geniessen konnten.
Ihr erneuter Besuch zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt würde uns sehr freuen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Urs Langenegger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My parents and I enjoyed an interesting experience this past July at the newly remodeled Park Hotel Vitznau. I was playing 3rd wheel on my parent's trip at the last minute. Overall, the hotel and location are wonderful. Any criticisms, other than the Wi-fi and climate control, are just being picky.

Arrival:

My mother had gone straight to the hotel two days prior while my father and I were in Geneva. We took the train to Lucerne and made the easy connection to the ferry, which made several stops before arriving in Vitznau. It’s about an hour ride and not at all unpleasant. If you notify the hotel of your arrival in advance, they will pick you up at the dock in what appeared to be a BMW 7 series. We thought it was funny to have such a swanky ride for a two minute drive, but enjoyed it nonetheless.

The Room:

We enjoyed a lovely Junior Suite on the second floor with a pleasant mountain view. The room itself was very thoughtfully designed – each one seems to be quite different. There were electronic controls for pretty much everything - shower, lighting, blinds (you can get it pitch black at 2pm if you so desire, and a smart TV with built-in Bose speakers that we used primarily for the great radio classical station whilst enjoying wine and cheese. The exterior door was electronic as well, and we all had some difficulty opening and locking it. (It appeared so sophisticated that they might as well have included a retinal scanner! It was rather comical.) The bedding was plush and quite comfortable, even my little rollaway bed was very nice. There was small kitchen stocked with non-alcoholic drinks, spirits, and a couple bottles of red and white wine. This was nice for just enjoying the mountainside cows and the views from the balcony. The bathroom was semi-open to the other living space. Obviously, this place is really for couples, but one was left wanting for privacy with regards to the toilet, tub, and shower. I agree with another reviewer that it got quite warm in the evening to the point of being uncomfortable, and wish there had been better climate control to address the situation. There is a road right next to the hotel which can be noisy. The Wi-fi, while fine in the common areas and on the terrace, WAS A JOKE in the room. Connections, if working at all, were painfully slow. I didn’t make a big deal out of it as I wasn’t there that long and on vacation, but it really needs to be addressed. I also wondered at, considering the amount spent on renovating this hotel and all the high-tech features that came with it, how there were a very limited amount of outlets in the rooms and limited places to work and plug in your devices without unplugging lights, phones, etc.

The Food and Drink:

The lakeside terrace was pretty much our home base for the short duration of our stay. The views can’t be beat, and we enjoyed some comfortable temperatures with lovely sunny weather. The ferry boats go by often draping big Swiss flags, so we’d wave to everyone while enjoying some cocktails. (Add your own Mahler symphony recording and it would have been sublime!) The staff (and this goes for the whole place) could not have been more friendly or attentive – probably the highlight of my stay, actually. They were very patient with our muddled German and by-in-large spoke quite good English. My only complaint about the terrace (and this goes for Focus too) would be the wine selection available. This place has huge wine cellars and yet there couldn’t have been more than 5 or 6 wines available on the terrace, with the whites being limited to Riesling. My dad, being a Chardonnay junkie and not a fan of Rieslings, didn’t care for this particular aspect. However, the staff was very accommodating and brought him something more to his liking. Perhaps the size of their terrace bar limits the amount of things they can keep on hand. We chose to forgo the restaurants on our final evening, as we had a late lunch elsewhere, and chose from a surprisingly large bar food menu. Cheeses, crostini, salads, and sandwiches were available, among other things.

While we did not dine at Prism, we did enjoy a very nice meal at Focus. The wait staff was really wonderful in every way and the option of dining outdoors made for an enjoyable evening. The menu, while limited to a maximum of 8 courses of all deconstructed sorts of things, was interesting and we largely enjoyed what we had. You have the option of choosing between 4, 6, or 8 courses and there are different wines paired with each course, although we each only had one or two wine selections. 4 courses was plenty of food. Again, we all found it odd that a larger wine list was not available. A parade of small bites from the kitchen made for a fun culinary adventure before our main courses started to arrive.

While the food at Focus was very good (and my mother reported that a meal she had previously at Prism was similar in the deconstructed nature of the menu), we all thought it would be nice to have another full service restaurant with a more traditional menu. That’s no knock on the quality of the food we received – it was outstanding – but we found ourselves wandering into town curious about other options.

Odds and Ends:
While I didn’t use the spa at all, it looked quite nice. The indoor/outdoor pool was an elegant feature. It’s kind of fun just to look around, although quite a bit of the space is off limits to casual guests. There are electronic sensors everywhere that click on and off, tracking your every move. They seem to know where you are at all times. :)

The cog railway up Mt. Rigi is a must. Like most things on my first trip to Switzerland, it was surprisingly expensive. However we enjoyed it immensely and there are some wonderful views of the lake and charming cows, goats, etc. on the way up. Plenty of hiking options are available at several stops at and before the summit, which was in clouds the day we did it so the views were limited. Each stop has several casual-looking places to eat.

If you walk across the road from the hotel towards the staff quarters, there is a beautiful trail that leads up into a ravine with several waterfalls. I recommend it! Bring appropriate shoes, there is a bit of mud in some spots, but worth the scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CZajdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
event2, Geschäftsführer at Park Hotel Vitznau, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Mr Zajdel

Thank you very much for your report and the great feedback to our staff.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the stay in Switzerland and we are delighted when we once again welcome you in central Switzerland, on another occasion.

Yours sincerely

Urs Langenegger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had drinks at the lakefront Pavillion Restaurant with the best view to lake lucerne. You have one of the most beautiful views in Switzerland. Once you have seen it - you will never forget it!
Very friendly waiters.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
event2, Geschäftsführer at Park Hotel Vitznau, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Sarnentraveler

Es freut uns sehr, dass Sie den Besuch auf unserer Seeterrasse genossen haben und die traumhafte Umgebung auf sich wirken lassen konnten.
Gerne haben wir Ihr Feedback auch an unserer Mitarbeiter weiter geleitet.

Über einen erneuten Besuch im Park Hotel Vitznau würden wir uns sehr freuen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Urs Langenegger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Outstanding service, decor, facilities, rooms. If you want a first class hotel, try this one. Newly renovated. It is expensive, but worth it. Heath facilities are 1st class, lake is great for a swim.
I will be going back.

Room Tip: my favourite is the PRISMA restaurant
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Traveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
event2, Geschäftsführer at Park Hotel Vitznau, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013
Google Translation

Guten Tag

Ganz herzlichen Dank für Ihre Nachricht, das Feedback und den Besuch im Park Hotel Vitznau.
Es freut uns ausserordentlich, dass Sie den Aufenthalt am Vierwaldstättersee genossen haben und dass Sie uns bei nächster Gelegenheit wieder besuchen möchten.

Vorab wünschen wir Ihnen viele weitere, sonnige Sommertage und grüssen Sie freundlich aus der Innerschweiz

Urs Langenegger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The residence was a heavenly - though very pricy - experience on all levels: friendly and most helpful staff, luxurious entrance hall, salons and bar; spacious and ultra-modern suites, stunning location on lake waterfront, very large pool offering breathtaking lake- and mountain view, state-of the art fitness and wellness facilities and and excellent and innovative cuisine. Personally however, at breakfast, we prefer a buffet formula that was not available in the hotel. The town with the departure point of the Rigi Bahn and a lakeboat stop is at walking distance.
This was our second visit; some of the charm of 6 years ago (e.g. in the bar) was sacrificed for a ultra modern (and somewhat colder) makeover which we do not like so much.
The table we booked for our last night dinner in the hotel was taken by other guests; apologies of the staff couldn't give our preferred table back! Dutch or Belgian newspapers were not available. To bring the temperature of the room at night to a comfortable level, we had to open the window, despite the available air conditioning (minimum level 18° C); this might have been a minor problem that can easily be solved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
event2, Geschäftsführer at Park Hotel Vitznau, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Sir
Many thanks for your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Park Hotel and the Rigi.
Please excuse the inconvenience with the table reservation.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again at lake Lucerne.
Yours sincerely
Urs Langenegger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitznau
3.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
6.3 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Vitznau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Vitznau

Address: Seestrasse 18, Vitznau 6354, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Vitznau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Price Range: $752 - $1,961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hotel Vitznau 5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Vitznau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vitznau Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing