We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Swiss”
Review of Hotel Vitznauerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is in the heartland of Switzerland so if you want an authentic experience, this is it. The setting and views are stunning. Americans will be surprised by how small the rooms are but will enjoy the bounteous baconies. It is understated, quiet and calm. But do not expect luxury as you would find it in lavish resorts.Or enjoy the fact that you don't get that slavishness!

Room Tip: Face the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 304 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent part of our honey moo at the hotel Vitznau on Lake Lucerne. It was so magical, we were almost afraid to go back. However, it was just as lovely, and the adjoining restaurant was perfect. We had a delicious dinner outside, watching the sun go down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio so you can sit out there for breakfast,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel Vitznauerhof is surely the most gorgeous hotel I have ever stayed in. It is located on the shores of Lake Lucerne which is beautiful beyond words. The scenery and landscape around the hotel is spectacular and the hotel is equally beautiful from the inside too. The food here is so delicious that I couldn’t stop myself from eating like a glutton during the entire stay. I would definitely like to repeat this experience and will come here again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived by taking the steam boat by Lucerne and then a very short walk from the boat station. The location of the hotel is wonderful, right by the lake and surrounded by mountains. The hotel's interior has been renovated whilst preserving the air of a grand hotel of the past. The rooms are spacious, everything is kept in white and minimalistic furniture. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and Molton Brown products in the very nice and also spacious bathroom.
The spa is new and consists of a jacuzzi outside, sauna, steam bath, rainforest showers etc. The look of the spa is modern and relaxing. Overall, this was one of the most relaxing weekends in a a long time. We will be back for sure.
One small thing that was a bit negative: There was a weeding on and we could here the music until like 2 am. So, maybe ask for a room not directly above the ball room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the ball room - wedding celebrations go into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barca02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent two nights in a junior suite, its layout was really nice, the electronics for Swiss standards over the standard and the bathroom and shower (separate) were a beauty..

Except for a few cosmetics there was nothing to complain about, still I would rate it at 4.5 stars rather than 5.

Book it if money is not a huge issue... ;0)

Room Tip: 212 is quiet and spacious, offers three little balconies.. 414 is a single room, small but very v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericlaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is the place to go if u need a couple of days guaranteed R&R.

Location - Mountains, Lake ..................... u will not be disappointed. The hotel is directly on the lake. About 20 minutes by car from Luzern.

Service - Excellent, attentive, well trained and friendly.
Even though it is a noble establishment the staff are still down to earth and very accommodating

Food - I can't say enough about it - Close to perfection !

Make sure u get a room with a balcony and facing the lake.

It's a bit on the expensive side, but worth it for a carefree vacation.

Will be back.

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights in Junior Suite 312 in October, 2011. This was not an ideal time to visit Switzerland, but at least the William Tell Pass (boats, busses, and mountain lifts) was two-for-one in September and October. For my wife's two days off from work, we found the luxury and relaxation we wanted here. I'm sorry that I can't report on the substantial spa, because we're not "spa people!"

While the massive Park Hotel Vitznau (between the Vitznauerhof and Weggis, the next town) is closed for multiple years of gut renovation, this may be the most lavish hotel in the neighborhood. The Vitznauerhof was in fact gut-renovated recently. Although the exterior is still a pretty Art Nouveau/red half-timber look, the inside is all-modern stone/tile/blond wood/glass. It's very fresh and attractive, although it could be anywhere! Our giant junior suite, a corner room, was 490 SF per night, including internet and breakfast. I'm pretty sure this was the "rack rate." We had a nice diagonal view of the lake towards Lucerne (which is out of sight), although none of our three balconies/two exposures was flat-on facing the lake. Although the shore view includes Mount Rigi, it's not as impressive as the lake view. Because I think the Professional photographs represent our room accurately, I've only posted some views from our multiple balconies.

There were some interior design mistakes. I wouldn't complain, except that this is very nearly a five-star hotel. We had two, separate, large bathrooms, one with a huge soaking tub and two sinks, and one with a large glass shower, the toilet, and one sink. Although the tub room had a huge radiator/hot towel rack, there was no radiator in the shower room, and the main towel rack was in the shower stall. At breakfast, I had to step over an orange extension cord because the refrigerated buffet was in the middle of the room. Because heat was mentioned in a previous review, I should say that we had enough heat, and it definitely was "turned on" during out stay. The radiators were absolutely silent, and it's very quiet at night here.

The main restaurant features a single line of tables along a glass gallery facing the lake. It's beautiful at sunset, but the sun sets early in winter! Dinner was very expensive, if well-done and impressive. We spent 60 SF for one of the cheaper wines, and the total bill was 200 SF. The breakfast was fresh and good, but not as huge as you would expect for the grandeur of this hotel. I think they were much less than full during our late-season stay, and may have cut down the buffet size. Do note that Switzerland is an expensive country. We spent 80 SF for modest dinners at other restaurants that would have been $55 (including two glasses of wine) in the U.S.

The staff was pleasant and welcoming, and spoke English easily. I will say that the night shift was slightly less comfortable in English, and seemed younger and less experienced than the day shift. (Again, I don't demand that people speak English. I only mention it because it's a high-end property. Some would say that "What was your name again?" is unacceptable in a five-star hotel.) I was disappointed that the hotel could offer no discount on the Rigi Bahn (cog railroad) or Lake Lucerne boats. The Rigi Bahn is only steps from the hotel, and the boat landing is just a few more steps. You could easily stay here without a car, especially if you buy the William Tell Pass that includes boat and bus rides in the entire district. There's not a lot more in Vitznau.

The preceding town (about two miles towards Lucerne) is Weggis, where a cable car runs up to the second-highest station of the Riggi Bahn. In good weather, it's an easy walk, with sidewalks. The #2 bus provides frequent service from the Weggis boat station to the Vitznau boat station. (Note that the cable car stop is a twelve minute walk from the Weggis boat station.) Weggis has more hotels and restaurants than Vitznau. Beyond walking distance, but not far away, is larger Brunnen, which has lots of restaurants and some small cable cars.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to pay for a lake view, depending weather and your visit plans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitznau
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
See- und Seminarhotel FloraAlpina
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terrasse Am See
Hotel Terrasse Am See
#3 of 6 in Vitznau
113 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
557 reviews
8.4 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vitznauerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vitznauerhof

Address: Seestrasse 80, Vitznau 6354, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Vitznau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Price Range: $225 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Vitznauerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly restored boutique hotel in the heart of Switzerland. Come and relax with us and enjoy tranquil Lake Lucerne and the stunning mountain panorama. Let yourself be pampered in our SPA. Treat yourself and invest in your health and well-being. Discover exciting haute cuisine in on of our restaurants.Traditional and modern styles have been carefully combined to create a harmonious whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Vitznauerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing