We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fantastic place to stay - we return every year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Terrasse Am See
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Two hours by boat and train from Zurich Airport, this is the ideal spot for independent travelers. The views are fantastic and the English-speaking hosts provide wrap-around advice for guests of any age. Travel back in time on the old paddle steamers from Lucerne which dock beside the hotel terrace or take a trip up the mountain on Switzerland’s first mountain railway. The hotel is a listed building and retains the historic charm of its original designation – the Station Hotel. Some rooms have been modernized, but we love the old ones with big windows looking out over the mountain. In the evening, you can watch the sun go down over the lake from the first floor terrace after a wonderful meal from one of the top-rated chefs in the Lucerne region.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ThirkellLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland2003, Inhaber at Hotel Terrasse Am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guests

The you very much for the fantasic feed back.

In the meantime we renovated nearly all rooms. And we still have plenty of projects to make the stay at lake lucerne more comfortably.

Sincerely

Roland Scherrer, Gastgeber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 102 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2009

My wife spend 3 - 4 weeks annually in Vitznau and I have been aware of Hotel Terrasse for some time and chose it for a stop over on my way from the US to a German conference. The couple who operate the hotel are most friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but cozy--I go to Vitznau for the food, the scenery, the walks, not to live in my hotel. The hotel is ideally located at the Schiffs,--and Bergbahn station and, hence, right on the lake. Noise from the boats and rail is limited to about 6:45 a.m. to maybe 10 pm (later on week ends for the midnight train); the "noise" is never bad and many might find the hustle and bustle agreeable. I think I was in Vitznau the [one, only] night of disco noise--it was a real pain and came from across the lake. I went to the station to be sure where it came from. btw: no loud bass noise heard from the hotel. A very nice Swiss hotel with atmosphere and great service.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocHolliday_OhioUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland2003, Manager at Hotel Terrasse Am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guests

The you very much for your feed back.

In the meantime we renovated nearly all rooms with historic furniture of the 19th century and the comfort and high tec of the 21st century.

We do have still plenty of projects, which will be realised step by step.

Sincerely

Roland Scherrer, Gastgeber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I guess it just shows that the luck of the draw plays a part when you're booking a hotel. My wife and I have stayed at the Terrasse twice: two years ago and twelve years ago (when it was under a different family ownership). On both occasions we specified, prior to our visits, the type of room and facilities we would expect. We knew that the hotel wasn't the same standard as the nearby Park, but chose it for convenience to the Rigi, the boat station etc.. The thing with the Terrasse is that it doesn't set out to be anything other than it is: a basic, clean, comfortable base from which to explore the surrounding area. Our en-suite bathroom was totally separated from the bedroom by a sliding door which, I admit, was a bit noisy. Pia and Roland have concentrated on encouraging 'hobby groups' and I'm not too sure that this doesn't detract from the attention given to other independent guests. Last time we stayed there were a couple of parties on two evenings, but we weren't disturbed as we had specified a room on the side of the hotel away from the restaurant, looking back up the lake towards Luzern. We found the food to be of an okay standard, with a reasonable choice. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient. Would we go back? Yes we would - hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland2003, Inhaber at Hotel Terrasse Am See, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear guests

Thank you very much for the feed back.

Since your last stay we had the possibility to renovate nearly all rooms. The last 4 rooms will be renovated during winter 2014/15.

Sincerely yours

Roland Scherrer, Gastgeber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We went there for a wedding party. The staff was the most passionate and friendly at the end of the stay, when we payed and left. The greatest: the location. The worst: for >100 Euros/ night, small rooms, old bathrooms, no newspaper, bad coffee. Reasonable breakfast buffet. For this money, try something else. Forgot to mention the 2 EUR credit card fee, which made the whole experience ridiculously surreal... Welcome to the average swiss 2* hotel ;-(

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lustigesbeispiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roland2003, Manager at Hotel Terrasse Am See, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Gäste

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung. Wir kennen das Problem von Hochzeitsgäste, die in einem Luxushotel die Party feiern, dann aber das billigste Zimmer in der Region buchen. Hier treffen Welten aufeinander. Ihre Erfahrung werden Sie nie mehr machen:
Aus dem Luxushotel wurde eine Klinik und wir haben unsere Zimmer 2011 unter Aufsicht der Denkmalpflege und Heimatschutzes umfassend renoviert, umgebaut und mit antiken, historischen aber restaurierten Möbeln ausgestattet. Dass dabei die neueste Technik zum Zuge kam wie Breitband Internet, Flatscreen, neue Sanitäranlagen (keine Gefahr durch Legionelose) und weitere "Saftey and Securitiy Tools", sei nur am Rande erwähnt. Dieses Engagement wurde von der Europäischen Hotel Union nicht nur mit 2 Sternen, sondern mit 3 Sternen und 310 Punkten belohnt.
Dennoch ist dies nur eine Etappe - der Weg ist noch weit, darum bleiben wir nicht stehen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ursleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 507mafalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nico_siegwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vitznau
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vitznauerhof
Hotel Vitznauerhof
#2 of 6 in Vitznau
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
See- und Seminarhotel FloraAlpina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rigi
Hotel Rigi
#5 of 6 in Vitznau
139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
401 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Central am See
Hotel Central am See
#10 of 16 in Weggis
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrasse Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrasse Am See

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 2 | Vierwaldstättersee, Vitznau 6354, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Vitznau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Vitznau
Price Range: $208 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrasse Am See 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of Swiss Historic Hotels. Rooms renovated in spring 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Terrasse Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing