We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful summer stay in Leysin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Residence
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful summer stay in Leysin”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

While Leysin is more for winter sport, we choose to visit in Summer to mix with school boys and girls and senior travelers in this hotel residence.
The hotel picked us up from Leysin-Feydey train station. Upon checking in, lady in Reception provided us with guest cards and all information with lovely friendly smile.
We spent three days hiking, photographing and making use of the wellness facilities in the hotel.
Magnificent view, very relaxing atmosphere and comfortable room.
Staff are superb with international mindset, warm and friendly.
Leysin is a hidden gem. So does Hotel Central Residence.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    151
    47
    29
    25
See reviews for
157
78
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Leysin with a coach party. This hotel is great, very welcoming staff and very efficient and helpful. Wonderful location and couldn't ask for a better view from our balcony, we were on the 7th floor and it was fantastic. The lifts are very quick. Our room was spotless and we had a choice of beds, having two bunk beds in our room as well as twin beds. The swimming pool was very good and a decent size for a hotel and the water was just about the right temperature. One small criticism about it and that was it would have been nice if it opened earlier, but it did stay open until 9 p.m. Breakfast was really good and plentiful. Dinner consisted of 3 courses, the first being an assortment of salads etc, and there was a good choice of main meal. Desserts were something else ranging from creamy things, i.e. gateaux, profiteroles, to mousses, absolutely wonderful. I stayed in Leysin in 1959 with my friend on a school trip not at the same hotel though which encouraged us to book when we saw it advertised. Leysin has changed a little but not a lot (more shops etc) but it is still the same lovely place. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

we have just returned from a coach party trip to this hotel and beautiful Leysin we were well cared for and as I have a very limited diet they did the very best they could it may not have always been correct but they did get some of it right and given the limitations that I have it has to be said that I was very happy with what I was given I have been to other countries that have not even tried so well done for that .
The room was very clean and comfortable the view from our balcony was amazing each day was a different scene and all the staff were very polite and helpful I would love to return .

Room Tip: rooms with a view you must see this its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked one bedroom flat from annex of hotel and we were very satisfied what we got. Of course this wasn´t five star hotel but we got kind service and lot of space 60 square meters. Beds were comfortable and the view fantastic. Also the breakfast was good.From the swimming pool and sauna the view was beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaijaTanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

If your looking for a not so expensive hotel, this is it. It has a warm descent sized pool, Amazing VIEW, with sauna (limited 4 people space), hammam (small).
We are a family of 4+1. The beds are not very comfortable, I suspect I got a shoulder sore coming down from Leysin. Room is clean but has a distinct smell that is bordering not pleasant.

Food: They have buffet and a la carte. we have a mix review of the food. Breakfast is standard western European and I cannot complain here (coffee though could be a little better). Dinner was bad on our 1st night (some roast beef with bad lasagna) and the saving grace was they also served Raclette (from Mayen). That raclette was very distinctly good.
Our 2nd dinner night was not too bad. For lunch, we thought of having a "simple" one, we were surprised with how good the burgers were. Superb.
The hotel is a bit dated, rooms have that smell that is not bad perse but each time we get in we notice it.
It has billard table, WIFI is free and EVERYWHERE, fussball table, some computers, lots of free parking, bus stops right in front of the hotel.
For skying, (since we went in spring 2014) I think is not too far. But my daughter were there 2-3 times before and did not have fond memories of the ski slopes. They do have some toboggan activities(?)
We had a nice climb of the mountain, and with a view like that, I would go back to Leysin.

Overall this hotel is has some big pluses and some big minuses making it average....Such a pity because it has a potential.

I also have the impression that it seems to be a favorite for big groups of young people and there was even a huge group of maybe 100 people(?).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anditso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. First of all - the view was absolutely spectacular (make sure to book with a mountain view). However, when that is said, the service at the hotel was pretty bad. We didn't have housekeeping for the first days - had to ask a few times before they showed up. After that, again no housekeeping, and when i went to the reception for some toilet paper (!) and told the receptionist (who turned out to be the manager/owner) that we hadn't had housekeeping for some days, she both told me it was impossible, i was lying, some swearing in french and that i would force her to fire the housekeeper - pretty bad taste (furthermore she told me, that she instructed the housekeeping not to clean the rooms if they were messy ?! ). Food is not very good at the hotel - do yourself a favor and buy a baguette or croissant from one of the many local bakeries and skip the breakfast at the hotel. On a practical note, the hotel is located on the top of the valley side, so expect a bit of a hiking/exercise to/from the village - however close to the main lift.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have been only one night with my girlfriend here. I have to say that we got there one hour before check in and they tryed to arrange a room even that at the end we didn't take because it was twin bed and we wanted a double. Thank you very much to the reception guys.

When finaly we got our room It was very cold and the heating system it was off. I we couldn't take a shower until we could turn on the heating and wait a couple of hours.

Rooms look cosy and have a very nice view. We woke up with back pain because the bad quality of the mattress.

Breakfast was fantastic, orange juice, cafe, bread, charcuterie, lots of kind of swiss cheese cereals, all you can eat.

I would suggest this hotel if then change the mattress and give warm rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elCalata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
0.1 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Nord
Hotel du Nord
#1 of 3 in Aigle
65 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
627 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#3 of 17 in Montreux
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Residence

Property: Hotel Central Residence
Address: Belvedere, route du 20, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Central Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing