We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for walking holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We found the hotel owner most helpful and keen to advise on walking routes etc .
Dinner and breakfast was good , and we liked the cosy wood of the dining room .
Our bedroom was on the small side,and the bathroom is very small - but adequate ..
Make sure you get off the train at the very last stop so that you don't have to lug your cases uphill ! From there it is a pretty easy 500m.on the flat .
THe views from our bedroom were stunning and small balcony most appreciated .

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our stay didn't start well, as they had lost our reservation. But the manager on duty did manage to squeeze us in for the first night. It was clean, and essentially comfortable. Breakfast was quite nice. Location wise, it was difficult to reach with luggage. But in fairness, Leysin is such a vertical place, the same could be said about many places I'm sure. It's hard to pinpoint what we didn't like about this place - it was just a general feeling of being a nuisance to the owner. As they had lost our booking anyway, after the first night, we decided to relocate to another hotel down the hill.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyof5Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hard to find chalet but well worth it
great views, good service, helpful staff
great cooked breakfast
recomended

Room Tip: north side has the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good hotel, friendly staff. Beds comfortable. Food generally good, but as with everything in Switzerland expensive if you strayed from the half board option onto the a la carte menu. This hotel has some of the best views imaginable (make sure your room faces the right way) but the flip side is that being at the top of the village it is quite a haul to get back to with your skis at the end of the day. There is a free bus which runs hourly, but if you miss it you have to wait for another hour...nonetheless the whole village is so pretty, the skiing perfect for novices and children, and no queues or crowds anywhere. But, given the strength of the Swiss franc, you pay heavily for the tranquility and just have to forget about the cost while you are there.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank famousfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Lovely hotel,brilliant proprietors. Breakfast good BUT dinner poor. Not only that but not much of it. To be fair when mentioned they sought to correct but not good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mbeecheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed again for 5 days. Refurbished restaurant and new boot room. Helpful owners always willing to help. Our 15th visit and never disappointed once.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My 6 year old and I stayed at the Grand Chalet in Leysin and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is nicely situated. The room was very nice, a very good value in my opinion. We ate at the hotel's restaurant and the food as well as the service was very good. The restaurant was renovated recently and it looks fantastic! The owner of the Grand Chalet, and his wife went out of their way to make us feel welcome and satisfied. We were offered to use skis for my son (for free) during the day if we needed to. No doubt about it, next time we are going to Leysin we will be staying at the Grand Chalet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brotherP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leysin
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central Residence
0.2 mi away
Alpine Classic Hotel Leysin
4.4 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
Hotel La Tour d'Ai
#3 of 7 in Leysin
81 reviews
4.1 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
176 reviews
7.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Address: chemin de la Source 2, Leysin 1854, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Leysin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Leysin
Price Range: $100 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Grand Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated next to the forest, the peacefull and the quiteness on the top of Leysin, you will be able to have an unique experiment from our SPA – jacuzzi with 37° water and a magnifficient view on our mountain and glaciers.After the second generation, the third one is here with same spirit of tradition to let you discover a typical and familial athmosphere and make you feel relaxed during your stay.5 minutes by foot from the Feydey station, next to the ski slopes and at the departure of the walking and mountain bike area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Chalet Leysin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing