We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, ideal for families”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We loved the big family room with bunk beds, the owners are very friendly and our kids had a great time in the hotel's playroom. The restaurant is very nice, with great food and excellent service, there's even a kid's corner where your kids can play while you finish your delicious dinner. Great location, we just loved the place. We've been there just once, unfortunately, but when I ask my kids: "where do you want to go this week-end?" the answer is usually "to the Hotel Astoria!".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

After our 3rd visit to the hotel Astoria, I feel that they deserve me to write a review.
The rooms are very spacy, not modern, but have all that is necessary. A balcony and small kitchen, equipped with a fridge and oven, let us prepare picnics, and snacks. The room could accommodate one couple and 2 children, the children part is separated by a thick curtain. WiFi worked throughout the hotel, with good speed, and without need to reenter your login information every 5 minutes. Good Sat TV with international channels (including Russian), sufficient plugs for all our chargers. A table and 4 chairs make for easy living. We found upon our arrival a welcome message from the owners, with a nice bowl of fresh fruits, chocolates, a funny pen for our boy.
The garage is easy to park in, the lift is fast and takes you without delay to ground floor (reception and restaurant), and to your rooms.
The breakfast buffet is extremely nice and varied, with more than you would expect, including fresh soft boiled eggs.
The restaurant served a menu (including Swiss raclette, one or 2 evenings per week), offer the selection for children, that they like. Food is good, service is excellent. (Same staff for our 3 last stays covering 2 years).
Ideally located (5 minutes from the Torrent chair lift, 3 minutes from the Public baths, 5 minutes from shopping).
The owners are always present, welcome you by your name.
They even offered me a bottle of excellent local wine.
I can only warmly recommend hotel Astoria.
Frank Servais

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Like ¨the title says.... oh yes, I have been going to the Hotel Astoria for twenty-five years at least! On my own, with my family and friends.....Over the years it has become our home away from home in the beautiful Canton of Valais. The service is excellent, friendly, very family oriented - we have become almost like a family to the Loretans who welcomed us at each visit with such warmth. The rooms are big (at least 50sq meters set with rustic furnitures), especially for European standard of a three or four star hotel. It has a little kitchen, very handy when you have young children, pre-teens and teenagers who are always hungry for some warm snacks after a day on ski slopes or thermal baths (10 minutes walk). A nice terrace looking out to the looming Alps mountains - very nice in the summer to sit at about 4.00pm and have a nice white Valais wine with some dried meat on your own or with very special people you want to share the view with! Breakfasts are not to be skipped. It is a fabulous spread of home made breads, jellies, great cheeses and charcuteries - a great way to start the day. After a day skiing and/or swimming, have dinner in the restaurant, the food is just excellent and elegant. Also very good collection of wines. Now that we live in Southeast Asia, whenever we go to Switzerland, a minimum of two nights at Astoria is a must and it is with sadness whenever we leave the hotel and Leukerbad. We were in Astoria early March 2013 bringing my sister and brother-in-law, like it is our own home. We can't wait for our next visit !

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cileduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Astoria was a super find in Leukerbad. We were a family of 4 who wanted to be close to the Bugerbad thermal baths and to have access to the centre of town within minutes. Initially I was a little take aback by the very plain facade of the building when driving up and seeing much swankier hotels but in the end, the hospitality and the size of the rooms, made up for all that disappointment- never judge a book by its cover. Astoria is a super find- quaint and dated-reasonable in comparison to other hotels. Literally 3 minutes away from the baths, and from the tiny town centre, with super service and even facilities for kids like a dedicated play room! I highly recommend this hotel in Leukerbad.

Room Tip: it would be good to tell them what you need on their site when booking, they are very attentive to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamConstantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice place,nice staff,very food breakfast.the room was huge !!!a bit expencive but like every single place in leukerbad.i world advice it.the position is perfect, there is The hotel parking but u have to pay for it

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeDANi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have now stayed here five times. It is quite close to the baths and within walking distance of everything else (except the Torrent ski lift). The staff is lovely, warm, helpful, and absurdly multi-lingual. The whole hotel has a certain old-fashioned unrenovated charm. Rooms are large, semi-suites (great for families) with a curtain separating the "bedoom" from the "living area", plus a small kitchenette and terrace. Some have funky sixties-era wallpaper, which one could either find amusing or migraine-inducing. I choose the former. The breakfast spread is huge and the restaurant is quite good. There is also a small playroom on the ground floor with baby foot/fussball, toys and games.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MourexMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel might seem a bit more expencive then some others in the same category, but its worth every extra Swiss Frank you pay. Family owned with a family atmosphere. Spacious rooms with a small balcony and a fully equipped kitchen. Large beds that can be adjusted with the position control device (like seats in an airplane). Hospitable and helpful staff. Hearty and healthy buffet breakfast (but if you prefer fried eggs, rather than boiled, must order and pay separately). The elevator is really too small to fit guests with bulky luggage and snowboards.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view, but may require some waiting for the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leukerbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Quellenhof
Parkhotel Quellenhof
#7 of 26 in Leukerbad
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Dala
Aparthotel Dala
#10 of 26 in Leukerbad
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Untere Maressenstrasse 26, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Price Range: $143 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing