We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After initial dissatisfaction with my room, I was given a new room in the main hotel across the road, i.e. not in the building housing the reception and wellness area. It was more to my liking as it had that Swiss chalet feel and a rustic-looking balcony in a more secluded spot. The breakfast was a little disappointing as there was nothing hot on offer, i.e. not even scrambled eggs. In terms of what we paid for the room it was average. This is not to say the hotel is bad. It's actually quite cosy, but only if you are staying in the main building and not the one housing the reception.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamsie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 201 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Of course, I read the negative reviews before booking, but having done the research (little things like parking, where reception is, where the family rooms are etc) I still came to the conclusion that this was the best place for us to stay in Leukerbad as a couple with a three month old baby, as the place seemed geared up for babies and older (retirement age and above) guests.

We arrived early and on asking it was no problem to have access to the room earlier. We parked up briefly outside to drop everything off then chose to park the car in Rathaus (nearer than Sportarena). You park as normal taking a ticket, then at the end of the stay you pay the hotel directly for the parking and you get a better rate (and a new ticket to get you out of the parking).

Family rooms are in the spa/cure house building, which is where reception is. Indeed meals are taken across the road in the other building where the other category rooms are. I can understand how this might be annoying if you weren't expecting it, but we were so it was no problem - after all, you have to get dressed to go to breakfast even if it is in the same building.

Our room was lovely and perfect for a nervous Mum on her first holiday with baby. There's a bedroom with bathroom off and a living room area separated by a curtain. The baby bed was already set up for us in the room when we arrived. There is no balcony, but you can access the roof terrace. There is also a 'baby station' in the corridor with microwave and kettle. What is great about these rooms is that they are large enough to spread all your baby things out AND comfortably get the buggy in the room. Oh and with the new uPVC windows it was really really quiet and we all slept well.

The spa - it has been recently renovated and although I think it was originally more for medicinal purposes, we found the whole area clean, quiet and relaxing. Compared to the other public spas of Burgerbad and Alpentherme it is tiny, but it was perfect for us with our baby Liam. In fact, we simply took the pram directly into the spa area as it was spacious enough and accessed direct from the lift. There's the pool (with jets), foot massage pool, hamman, sauna, physiotherm heat therapy and relaxation room. I must also mention the drinks corner with the most gorgeous Myrtille syrup drink ever!

Meal times - we opted for half board as we had Liam with us and I know meals are eaten early in Switzerland, which again suited us having a baby. Breakfast is a buffet and it was lovely and typically Swiss (we're in Switzerland after all!) so don't expect croissants, but the choice of fresh breads was lovely. Dinner is at 18:30 (not FROM 18:30) and if you choose in advance there is a choice of three set menus. For the price, it is very good value, but remember it is more like a holiday centre menu than a gourmet restaurant, but again we knew this and it was just right for us. My partner was delighted when he found out it was raclette on our last night! Also a special mention for the server who was there every breakfast and dinner, very friendly, smiley and chatty.

Overall, if you know what you are expecting with this 'maison de cure et vacances' I am sure you will be delighted as we were. I only wish we'd stayed another night. Living only 1.5 hours away, we will definitely go back for a family short break!

Room Tip: Family rooms (type 5 on their website) are in the spa building, all others are in the other building...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife I stayed here for 1 (one) night during my road trip through Switzerland. Customer service was non-existent and we almost needed to look for another hotel. The reason was because we arrived in Leukerbad after 5pm and Swiss people leave their job post at 5:01pm. No one was there to do the check-in (located in a different building). I had to spend almost 45 min of my vacation time, looking for someone to give us the key. Inside the hotel, the staff (restaurant and maids) were clueless and barely spoke English. In the end I found the runaway front desk guy and using hand gestures and my confirmation papers I managed to solve my problem. Bottom line: Make sure you get your arrival arrangements right, in written, before landing here.

Parking a car is a challenge because the hotel does not offer parking spots. You need to park in a private area, outside the city (four blocks away) and pay from you own pocket.

Hotel has a beautiful and typical Swiss architecture, all made of wood. It is well located and close to the MIGROS market and the major thermal baths (walking distance). Well, the city is small anyway. The room was very clean but the matress - like most of US $ 150-200 a night hotels in Switzerland - was thin and not confortable at all. No queen or king size bed as I requested in advance. I was too tired to fight over this... Apparently swiss couples don't like to share a bed because this situation happened over and over during my 2-week trip in different hotels.

There was a bathroom inside the room, but only for toilet and sink usage. Showers are located down the floor, for sharing with other guests. Very small for a 6" guy like me. Let me tell you, for a spoiled brat like me, this is always an annoyance, especially when I am not alone. There is no A/C in the room. Probably because of the high altitude, they take for granted that nobody needs it. No TV in the room either (I didn't complain, though). No free Internet access (payment on the side). Nice view from the balcony.

Buffet breakfast was good, offering milk, coffee, hot chocolate, juice, cold cuts, lots of cheese (Switzerland standard during breakfast time), fresh bread, butter, jelly, yogurt, fresh fruits, tomatoes, etc. European and Latin American style. If you a tired of Marriot US breakfast style (hot "meals" like bacon and eggs + tasteless muffins + processed food), this hotel is a good pick.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: wenn möglich Zimmer in oberen Etagen buchen.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank marizeta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l0l72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leukerbad hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#2 of 26 in Leukerbad
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Quellenhof
Parkhotel Quellenhof
#7 of 26 in Leukerbad
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#1 of 26 in Leukerbad
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad

Address: Kurparkstrasse 24, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Price Range: $175 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing