We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel's location is beautiful but the hotel does not deserve 5*! The hotel's interior is old, smelly, very dark, dilapidated and there is no service. The restaurant staff talk to you with their back towards you, the bar area serves itself & the food is awful. The chef has probably not been on courses for the last 10 years. This hotels needs major refurbishment on the inside and out. It needs to train its staff up to date. The thermal pool was dirty, lime scale everywhere & the spa should be better maintained. We had a walk around Leukerbad and even 3 star hotels had better breakfast, facilities & atmosphere. The public thermal spa is better equipped ... If only one could live there. Just terrible hotel!!!!!!!!!! Discussing that people who pay for 5* services should experience this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AS_13264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourcesdesalpes, General Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Mr or Mrs,
I'm not even sure you are english as we didn't have customers from London since a long time. Therefore I suspect this article to be from someone who wants bad against us.
I am personally almost every day there at the reception and I didn't ever meet any guest which such huge hate agains us. I assume that this is the downside of website such as Tripadvisor, where anybody can write anything. We all work very hard to make ALL our guest very comfortable and I cannot accept your complain, sorry.
Best regards
Pierre Berclaz
Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013. The hotel itself is very good. The staff are great. Responsive and attentive. The rooms are real big for a hotel in the mountains. Mine (POMME - 216) had windows on two sides and a window in the bathroom. The only drawback - there is virtually no place to dry your ski gear. Usually it is a couple of hooks on the wall at the entrance of the room. And sometime the wall is heated. Here - nothing of the kind. Breakfast is not the richest one but very decent.They say that the restaurant is nice for dinners, but we didnt have a chance to try. The menu looks good though. And pricey )).
Now what I didn;t quite like is the look of the SPA. The inside pool is big but it doesn't look like it belongs to a 5 star hotel. It rather looks like the one in the boarding house (дом отдыха in Russian) The outdoor pool... We must thank the hotel that it exists, because it's a real pleasure hanging out there under the snow quietly falling on your heads))). But to get to the pool you gotta run 20 meters in your bathrobe, quickly take it off, hang it inside a heated wardrobe and jump in. Fun? Yes. But if it had been minus 10 outside?))) There is a separate small building by the pool housing a sauna, showers, toilet and a "lounge" room, which all look like the same boarding house (турбаза in Russian) all in wood, but not classy.
If not for this SPA zone I would give 5 stars to the hotel..

Room Tip: Rooms 216 and 316 definitely have windows on two sides (one of the balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxVain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourcesdesalpes, General Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. It was a real pleasure having you with us and we are glad that you, in general, enjoyed your stay with us.
We just finished the refurbishment of all rooms and restaurant and bar, so the SPA will have to wait a bit, even so our indoor pool is huge with lots of space around it. Thanks god we do have our own natural hot spring water, which is the water you can enjoy in both pools.
We just have been accepted as 5* Superior according to the new European Hotel Classification...
We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back.
With our personal kindest regards
Joëlle and Pierre Berclaz
Maîtres de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A well run hotel by a gracious and "hands on" General manager. From our arrival to the time we left we were made to feel welcome and the staff, at all levels, went out of their way to help. We stayed over the Christmas period and the quality of food was excellent. We enjoyed all the Swiss wines that were recommended to us. The hotel was quiet and we enjoyed the two pools almost to ourselves. One disadvantage, there is no easy way to enter the outside pool as one has to walk on the snow or pathway in bare feet, which is not comfortable. We attended midnight mass in the small church and were surprised how empty it was as compared with churches at home where one must be early to be sure of a seat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethVCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourcesdesalpes, General Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mrs and Mr V.
It was a real pleasure having you during that period.
We would like to thank you very much for your kind words here on Tripadvisor and we do hope that you had a pleasant way back home.
We do hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Leukerbad.
With our personal kindest regards
Joëlle & Pierre Berclaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Leukerbad is a quaint little resort. Compared to nearby Crans-Montana, it has the huge advantage that it has a pedestrian area. The hotel has a great location, quiet but at the same time very close to the town and the restaurants. There were two things we did not like: first, it took about one hour of negotiation with the staff to obtain a decent third bed in our junior suite – even though we had requested one when we booked and telephoned ahead of time to make sure. Second, when we visited (February 2012) the hotel was in need of renovation. It felt like a 1970s time warp, not altogether pleasant with spots on the carpet and broken chairs in our room. I noticed that the manager replied to similar customer feedback saying that he could not afford to renovate the place yet. This is like saying that current customers are expected to pay for renovations that will benefit future customers – give him credit for honesty.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DiFranco11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourcesdesalpes, General Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Client
Thank you for your comments. I must write here that I regret you didn't write these remarks when you left, 8 months ago as since that time we did improve a lot of details and even changed the staff at the reception. As you could read in previous comments, we did seriously improved the quality of the services in general and we will continue to work on each details to receive only good comments.
As per the your remark about the quality of the room, we are happy to inform you that we finished renovating all rooms, restaurant and bar 2 months ago.

Once again , we do regret that you are writing your remarks so late in the year since we did bring lots of changes.
We all wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Joëlle and Pierre Berclaz
Maîtres de maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I arrived in Leukerbad at the beginning of December to take the wind off the sails of our work as expatriate aid workers in Iraq. What a good idea to choose this place! The hotel is relatively small and very cozy - the rooms and several other facilities were in an excellent state, clean and giving an overall impression of comfortable warmth. The facility obviously just underwent a recent renovation.

Let's start from the two only, minor remarks.

First: as we arrived just before the beginnig of the high season, there were not many clients in the hotel and on a couple of occasions, we had to wait a few minutes both at the main desk and at the restaurant (very early in the morning) before being served. Otherwise, the availability and friendlyness of the staff was flawless.

Second: we stayed in a double room (clean, warm and with an amazing view on Leukerbad itself) whose bed was actually composed by two single mattresses. Very comfortable, but we were expecting a single, queen size mattress for this kind of room.

As for the rest, we were extremely happy with our stay. As mentioned above, the staff is friendly, professional and ready to help. The spa facilities are excellent (massages, pools, sauna), with a particular mention to the external pool - our personal favourite. Swimming and relaxing in hot termal water under heavy snowfall was a splendid experience.

The restaurant and the wine list were another highlight. The food was delicious and the choice of wines amazing. We booked with the half board system - so we had "only" the right to choose from a "fixed" menu with two choices of entries, main courses and desserts - the quality was outstanding. I can imagine that the rest of the menu would have been even better!

So eventually, our purpose of relaxing in a luxurious (yet friendly and uncomplicated) place, surrounded by a stunning panorama was fully achieved. Definetly worth another visit in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablo_the_sonar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourcesdesalpes, General Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dearest Client
We'd like to thank you very much for your kind words and mainly for the 2 remarks. Indeed, those kind of remarks allow us to work on those details in order to be able to improve the quality of our services. Too bad that we didn't know earlier that you wanted a king sized bed but we'll take good note of it for your next visit.
Shame that we didn't know that you were coming back from Irak, we have few friends that works or use to work for the UN in Bagdad, we could have had some interesting discussion together... Maybe next time.
All my team join us to wish you a Merry Christmas and a HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Joëlle & Pierre Berclaz
Maîtres de maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Very friendly staff making the stay very pleasant and giving us the desire to return. Due to the short stay we could only appreciate the breakfast: it was delicious. The indoor and outdoor pool was great and very relaxing.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sourcesdesalpes, General Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dearest client,
We thank you for having taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and to give such good comments.
We are glad that we have been able to make your stay a good moment and we hope you will give us the opportunity to treat you again as good and comfortable as possible.
With our kindest regards
Pierre & Joëlle Berclaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Laterza Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SourcesdesAlpes, Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leukerbad
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#7 of 26 in Leukerbad
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#2 of 26 in Leukerbad
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Therme 51
Therme 51
#4 of 26 in Leukerbad
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 12 in Lenk im Simmental
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Quellenhof
Parkhotel Quellenhof
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sources des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sources des Alpes

Address: Tuftstrasse 17, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Price Range: $333 - $808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Sources des Alpes 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Sources des Alpes is the perfect location for relaxation with its SPA and 2 pools, indoor and outdoor at 36 degrees all year round, Sauna and Hammam Chalet and 30 spacious rooms, Junior suites and Suites. The restaurant La Malvoisie offers an amazing gastronomical experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Les Sources des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing