We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect vacation”
Review of Hotel Waldhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Waldhaus
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect vacation”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Perfect location, easy to get to hotel, close to the cable car & thermal baths. Beautiful rooms, delicious food, relaxing atmosphere and amazing service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innusja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I want to start by saying that through a booking error, my wife and I did not actually stay at this hotel. However, what follows certainly needs to be recognized. We arrived at Waldhaus during the busy week between Christmas and New Years. Unfortunately, the booking service did not bother to inform me that the hotel was overbooked when the booking service accepted my reservation. I also missed the email from the proprietress (Everlyn) that clearly explained this. Even though the fault was the booking service and mine, Evelyn and her husband called other hotels in the area before finding one that had a vacancy and reasonable rates. In addition, we were charged the same rate for a suite as a regular room, and were invited to return for dinner in the evening, which we did. The food was fantastic, some of the best we had in Switzwerland. I can honestly say that I will book reservations there again, and I have never seen anyone go to such lengths to be helpful in making our experience a memorable one. This was truly an act of kindness and compassion!
Thank you, thank you, thank you Ms. Evelyn for what you did for my wife and I. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchHerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

perfect position close to the cable car & thermal baths
beautiful rooms recently renovated
attentive service
amazing food
if there is any criticism, it would be that there is too much food, & it is impossible to lose any weight, even if you walk for five hours every day in the beautiful mountains
our fifth visit

Room Tip: ask for south facing with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurencemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We were blown away by Grichting Waldhaus. The proprietress was extremely welcoming, and her husband, the chef, has serious talent in the kitchen. Locals ate at the restaurant as well, so you know it's good! Location is great since its very close to the ski lift (compared to the other hotels in town). It is also very close to the alpintherme hotspring- which is really more like 2 GIANT bathtubs- still a lot of fun.
I would highly recommend staying here if visiting Leukerbad. It is worth it to upgrade to the mountain facing rooms- the view is breathtaking! Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmandmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We've just returned from a fantastic week at the Waldhaus. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the hotel collected us from the bus station which was fantastic. The receptionist Sonia was expecting us and was extremely friendly and professional. We left our bags in reception and were told we could go through to the restuarant for cake and coffee and when we returned our bags had been taken up to our rooms.

The rooms were basic but clean and comfortable - the only grumble was there were no tea and coffee making facilities which after a day skiing you really need so would advise you to take a travel kettle.

We were staying on an all inclusive deal which included accomodation, breakfast, dinner, ski pass and addmission to various attractions including the thermal spas and also the ice rink.

Skiing in Leukerbad is good for intermediate skiers and the snow this year was fantastic. The hotel has ski storage and is just a 1 minute walk down to the ski life (some days you could ski down).

The food was generally very good and the service was excellent. The staff and the owners were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. The wine list was excellent although slightly pricey (bearing in mind current exchange rates!!!)

Overall we had an excellent experience and having previously stayed in apartments would recommend this hotel for the convenience, location and service.

Getting to Leukerbad, we flew to Geneva and used the swiss transfer ticket to take the train to Leuk and the bus from Leuk to Leukerbad where we were met by the hotel car.

Thanks you Waldhaus for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanda66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leukerbad hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viktoria
Hotel Viktoria
#1 of 26 in Leukerbad
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kur & Ferienhaus Volksheilbad
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Quellenhof
Parkhotel Quellenhof
#7 of 26 in Leukerbad
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus

Property: Hotel Waldhaus
Address: Promenade 17, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing