We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! Not where my wife thought we were going but we extended our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maiensasshotel Guarda Val
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lenzerheide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Settled away from the glitzy snobby St Moritz, this seemed to be where the Swiss vacation. We came upon it by accident, intending to stay near Guarda, which is at least an hour away.
The rooms and service are top class. The running stream was a favorite for our 5 yr old son. The family events were fun, we were lucky to invited to particpate in the woodcarving, the downhill goKart and the Kids parade and Swiss day fest.
It is pricey, but the views and experience were worth it, IMO. The cattle coming thru at 6.30 and then being able to go under a farmers home to see the cows being milked was a treat, my son even tried his hand at milking a cow.
Many of the workers at the hotel were not from Switzerland, even the on site "nanny" was from Austria- but spoke perfect English and was very good with our son.
Food very expensive ( 25 Euros for one long bratwurst and french fries) but the include breakfast was unbelievable. hot and cold items, cheeses and omlettes and cereals- all of the highest quality.
Dinner options : two restaurants the informal swiss restaurant with the brats, sladas, fondues etc and then also a 135Euros plus per person gormet restaurant with spectcular views- you get those same views for breakfast and as we had a strict vegetarian in our group we opted to skip the fancy dining.
Sauna- and massage avaialble, for those wanting modesty in the sauna- you may wanto skip this option; sauna free, massage about double what you would pay in the USA.
Overall- I would return to this resort for skiing and perhaps a week when my son could learn to sail or windsurf. But we also had a terrific 3 days in the summer months//

Room Tip: If coming in winter and panning to drive ask about underground garage parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helidoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 295 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel one night for a friends wedding during the Summer. It was the most perfect place to listen to their vows sitting in a field full of cows and looking over the stunning scenery.
For Switzerland, I find the hotel actually very reasonably priced given the high standard of the rooms, service and location.
The rooms are modern rustic and full of extra touches (like a homemade salt scrub). The food was authentic and local and absolutely delicious (with lots of local meets). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I unfortunately didn't get a chance to try out the spa.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K1tty-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Just had a two day stay at Hotel Guarda Val in Lenzerheide and it was so wonderful that I am writing this review (something I rarely do)! The setting is idyllic with sweeping views of the alps. The hotel has a rustic feel, many small buildings that are converted barns made of wood, stone and glass. Our room was a decent size with a large bed, a sitting area, wc and bath, and an upstairs loft with two single beds for our two kids, which they loved. The breakfast, which was included, was an ample buffet that rivaled the all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast at any American hotel. Dinner in the gourmet restaurant was good, but not great. Pity we didn't stay longer to try out the spa and other amenities. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for just one night whilst travelling through Switzerland in May so it was not ski season.

We always find Swiss hotels to be well run and perfectly maintained and this was no exception. In particular, the staff could not do enough to help. We asked where we might go for a short walk near the hotel but were told that there was a nice walk a little further away. She then got out the hotel car, drove us down there, showed us where to go and came back to pick us up 90 minutes later. All with a perfect smile!

The restaurant was crowded but the dinner and service was good.

And, finally, the room was beautifully furnished with many nice little touches.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Having spent a few long weekend get aways in similar hotels we had quite high expectations since Guarda Val is a lot more expensive than German and Austrian options.
We were very warm welcomed and got a very positive impression of the location and the small, cute buildings. Small and cute was also the motto for our room. We had a Hirtenzimmer but expected something bigger for the price of 470 CHF/night with only breakfast included. Bathroom was integrated in the room, only the toilet was separated with a door. Cosy but too small and it was difficult to unpack and move in the room.
The breakfast was really one of the best had in a long time.
Wellness area: it is a shame that there is not many options to swim. Outside of the nice sauna there is only the hotpot (after the sauna one would have preferred a cold bath). Don't expect a real wellness hotel, this part of the hotel is rather small but nicely made and decorated.
Dinner in Crap Naros was ok but not great (greasy and heavy food) and the other restaurant was better but not on the gourmet level they assume in the description.
We had 4 lovely days here but it is Switzerland = expensive, so be prepared.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissTravelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

There are many good things to tell about Guarda Val hotel. Very kind and helpful staff, good location, interesting concept and unique atmosphere. Anyway all in all I wouldn´t recommend this hotel to friends for a stay - it´s far to expensive. Of course nothing in Switzerland has reasonable prices but paying around 400 Euro for 2 Person in a tiny double-room (including breakfast) goes far beyond acceptable. The hotel consists of many charming old cabins and houses. Especially the reception, restaurant, spa etc. were located in very nice buildings and decorated with utmost ambition. However our room was in a less-charming building and though some decorations have been made - the room was definately to small and I wouldn´t want to spent a rainy day there.. The spa-area is very beautyful and unique. It has a blockhouse sauna, gym, outside hot pot etc though at least a outside pool is desperately missing and makes a stay of more than 2 -3 hours a lit boring..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpussy_minga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

The whole resort was renovated to include every amenity without disturbing the rustic feel of the place. We had the top room in a 4 room house, and had an amazing view of the mountains surrounding us. Not a sound at night, except the occasional crunching of snow beneath boots when staff might be walking around.

Beware: the shower heads have a lot of power and sometimes blow right out of their sockets, and they hurt.

If you're looking for the type of ski vacation that includes aprés ski, nightlife, and lots of shopping. This is not the place. It's located about a 10 min drive away from central Lenzerheide. One might feel a bit isolated.

The staff was very courteous and professional. Perhaps not to the liking of those used to the standard robotic: 'Hi, how are you', accompanied by a forced grin.

If you decide to not go skiing, there are a number of other activities for guests only. The snow-shoe tour under starlight is nice, but too simple for those who have already have a beginner's knowledge of astronomy. A sleigh ride that takes you through the whole town of Lenzerheide through the woods, and at the end of first leg, they have delicious appetizers and glühwein to warm you up before the trip back. Sleds are available to go down the sledding trails next to the lower ski trails. There are also many walking trails around the property, and a very gemütlich library/coffee room with a roaring chimney and unobstructed views of the mountains, in which one can wind down with a slice of cake or cup of herbal tea after a full day of skiing.

As for food: both options are great - exactly what you expect for the typical Swiss dishes, and fun for the taste buds in the gourmet option. Portions are huge for the homey option, but not lacking either in the gourmet option. Plenty of choice in both places as well. Wide selection of wines from their cave, including some surprising Swiss choices. No wonder this place has the accolades it already has. We fully expect the chef to go off on his own soon, if he has ambitions in the culinary world.

Breakfast is as much as you make of it - in the same restaurant as where the gourmet dinners are served. They make sure you have all you need to fuel your day of adventure.

Suffice it to say, no wonder folks come here all year round. It's such a wonderful place, we didn't want to review it and let masses know about it. However, we know that it's not for everyone - it's only for those who prefer understated hedonism.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderkinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lenzerheide hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#2 of 11 in Lenzerheide
289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Lenzerheide
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lenzerhorn Spa & Wellness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lai Lifestyle Hotel
Lai Lifestyle Hotel
#9 of 11 in Lenzerheide
10 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Spescha
Hotel Spescha
#8 of 11 in Lenzerheide
34 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berghotel Tgantieni
Berghotel Tgantieni
#5 of 11 in Lenzerheide
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maiensasshotel Guarda Val? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maiensasshotel Guarda Val

Address: Sporz, Lenzerheide 7078, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Lenzerheide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lenzerheide
Price Range: $244 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maiensasshotel Guarda Val 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guarda Val is a unique Maiensäss hotel allocated in 11 huts and barns that are up to 300 years old. Located 1600 metres above sea level in the hamlet of Sporz, directly above Lenzerheide, the Guarda Val combines the fascination of deep-rooted Graubunden alp tradition with a contemporary concept of Alpine design and lifestyle. The hotel skilfully combines luxury, pleasure and personal service with authenticity, simplicity and a genuine mountain experience. A cosy retreat as a balance to our hectic everyday life, where all the most highly prized assets of our Western world are to be found: nature, time, tranquillity and self-reflection. A warm welcome Your host Ralph Treuthardt and the entire Guarda Val team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Maiensasshotel Guarda Val reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing