We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent spa hotel in quiet area of baden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent spa hotel in quiet area of baden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ended our 21 day Swiss holiday in Baden for a 2 night stay. After the first day we decided to cancel our last stop Zurich and extend our stay at the Limmathof. The receptionist was even willing to assist me with the cancellation. The Thermal baths of this hotel is first class - although not in the same hotel but the short distance walk is only a pleasure after a relaxation session in the baths. Highly recommended to end a wonderful active holiday of hiking. Thanks L - you were great and we hope to see you in South Africa soon!

Room Tip: River view room in new Novu hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof B, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our establishment on Tripadvisor.

Your positive feedback has been warmly received and duly shared with our team. The thermal bath quarter in Baden is indeed the jewel of the region and boasts Switzerlands best quality thermal water.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    59
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
135
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Ireland, Papua New Guinea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The best hotel we stayed in over our seven day tour. The staff are top quality, Nadia in reception in particular was outstanding and made our stay feel like five star.
The spa with it's natural hot springs was more than we ever expected.
Their private spa rooms are amazing, with their water bed, bath, sauna and tranquil design allows you to completely relax and unwind.
We recommend this to all our friends and family, it's a real hidden gem.
Thanks to all the staff at the Limmathof, we look forward to our next stay with you!

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed in the studio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your flattering review on Tripadvisor.

Your positive feedback has been warmly received and duly shared with our team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your Private Spa Suite experience. We truly value your feedback and thank you once again for choosing the Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a really great time, we were looking for somewhere to relax and recharge and the Limmathof Hotel & Spa ticked all the right boxes; the staff were really professional and attentive and we really felt looked after. The room was exquisite with a beautiful view of the river and the Spa really brought us back to life, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our establishment on Tripadvisor.

Your positive feedback has been warmly received and duly shared with our team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I’ve had the good fortune of staying in luxury hotels all over the world. I was originally checked into the Historic portion of this property, but connectivity problems were such that I was moved to the New Building. The New Building itself is beautiful and with a view of the river and, with only ten rooms, it stands out for its service. The huge rooms (by European standard) are beautifully designed with large balcony overlooking the river, hardwood floor, marble bath with rain shower, and incredible towels and linens. The view is marvelous, the food is extraordinary but most notable is the staff. Each one made an effort, beyond the ordinary, to make my stay perfect in every way. A grateful shout out to, Jessica, Nicole and Franzi. The Hirsch in-hotel restaurant serves a delicious breakfast and is open for lunch and dinner, during the week. I was scheduled to go onto Zurich but Jessica made it possible for me to extend here, and even cancelled my Zurich reservation for me. I will be back for New Year’s with, and as a surprise for, my new husband/partner and I look forward to it.

Room Tip: All rooms in the New Building are on the Limmat River. I highly recommend this location vs the hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEbiztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our establishment on Tripadvisor.

Your positive feedback has been warmly received and duly shared with the members of our team highlighted in your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner for New Year's.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two nights after our wedding, as we did not want to go directly back home.

We had asked for a early check-in, which was confirmed from the hotel staff as they knew my husband would come to get ready at the hotel. When he arrived the room was not ready and he was told to wait until official check-in time. He had to insist on this issue, as otherwise he would not have enough time to get ready until the ceremony.

As they knew that is it our wedding night, I would have expect to have some surprise in the room, nothing big.. but there was nothing! A bit disappointing.

The room itself was newly renovated and quite big. We like the style of modern rooms and we liked to stay in the room. For some people the design could be too cold. Bathroom does not give that much privacy. Milk glass and sliding door. What I really do hate is a shower curtain is this kind of hotels, it really does not fit into the ambiance.
Most important thing is, that the room was really clean.

The staff is friendly but sometimes you have to look for them, as they are not that attentive. The morning after the wedding the cleaning lady knocked on the door the clean up our room, when we told her that we want to sleep she did not understand us, as she was barely speaking german and she came back half an hour later. We had to inform the reception that we do not wish our room to be made, as we want to sleep. Later the afternoon when we passed by the reception we were asked, if we are interested in making up the room, which was quite nice. We did not expect that.

Breakfast is quite basic but enough. Some might expect more for the price, but Switzerland is expensive and the basic breakfast had good quality.

Spa facilities are small, but you can still enjoy a quite afternoon and relax.

Location is in the thermal area of Baden. Please note, that this area is not in the center and you have to walk a bit. Mostly car parks are not nearby as it is in the old part of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiomca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We value your constructive feedback and have communicated it to the affected teams with an aim to ensure that similar unpleasantries do not reoccur. Our policy is to surprise newlyweds with a special token wishing them well. Unfortunately on this particular occasion, we did not deliver and we apologies for the disappointment caused. "Do not disturb" door hangers are available in our hotel rooms and when not utilized the Housekeeping Team will attempt to enter the room to conduct the routine clean. In addition, we wish to clarify, that parking is available 100m from our establishment and the city center is a 7-10 minute walk along the Limmat promenade via the Limmat Lift. Our new website aims to clarify these points to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to our establishment soon and wish you well.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Walking into the old building, I did not expect much except some old-world charm.
However, the new rooms were pretty spectacular, even by Swiss new builds. Generously sized, expensively & stylishly furnished, hardwood floor, big balcony, view...
The old building has a 19th century or older ballroom upstairs, and the whole part of town surrounding the Roman springs is that rarest of things i Switzerland: unrenovated baroque splendour, a little decaying, but very atmospheric.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building across the Limmat river all have balconies facing the river bend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

the public baths in Baden are closed, and it looks like they'll be closed for a while.

we happened upon this hotel, and decided to stay there for a night, while visiting Baden. The price comes with entry to its private spa, which has a pool/Jacuzzi, ice room, steam room, sauna, and sitting rooms, including a small area outside, plus a range of massages/facials/etc. very nice facilities!

the hotel is in two places, the older building where the spa is, and across the limmat river (via bridge), a short distance to a very beautiful, new, modern hotel facility. we stayed at the new facility across the river. the room was gorgeous, spacious, modern, clean, with a terrace, ... a lot more beautiful than most modern 3 star hotels. quite beautiful, great materials and function in the room, a "wow", actually! cable tv.

apart from free spa use, you get a discount on spa treatments if you stay at the hotel. I had a 'full body massage'. I had a pain in my back, and the massuse couldn't seem to deal with helping me, as she said 'but this is to be a full body massage'. ok, whatever, a waste of time and money, but the pool/jaccuzi was nice, the hotel room was QUITE nice, and the breakfast that came with it was good (despite grouchy woman who runs the restaurant; what's with the attitude???!!!).

I'd stay here again, and again, though. off season price was terrific if you go on booking.com. It's mostly quite a 'class act' at a darn good price for Switzerland, despite the couple mishaps we experienced at spa and restaurant. great room and very nice spa facilities.

Room Tip: take a room in the new, modern building, rather than in the older building (though I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourdoornthehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmathof_5400, Public Relations Manager at Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We value your constructive feedback and have communicated it to the affected teams. The Customer is afterall King, and with that said, we look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment soon.

Sincerely,
Your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baden
0.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel Blume
Atrium Hotel Blume
#1 of 9 in Baden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#3 of 9 in Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trafo Hotel
Trafo Hotel
#4 of 9 in Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue City Hotel
Blue City Hotel
#5 of 9 in Baden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Linde
Hotel Linde
#6 of 9 in Baden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Zys Hotel Zwyssighof
Zys Hotel Zwyssighof
#1 of 1 in Wettingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa

Property: Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa
Address: Limmatpromenade 28, Baden 5400, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Aargau > Baden
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Baden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Limmathof Baden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Limmathof And Novum Baden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing