We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Post Hotel Weggis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Post Hotel Weggis
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I spent almost a month in this lovely hotel. The service was great and everyone was very friendly and helping.
Location is very good with amazing view to the lake and boat station.
Lunches at poho cafe were also really good.
I definitely recommend staying in this hotel for short getaway. Enjoy SPA and view.

Thank you, POHO team!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pwAdmin, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear "Tani N"

We hope you had a save journey back home.
Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us.
We are glad that you did enjoy your stay at the Post Hotel Weggis. We hope to see you again.

With kind regards

The POHO - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 423 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

This modern hotel is located at the lakeside in the middle of this small typical Swiss village. In order to arrive at reception you have to climb a few stairs (as the elevator did not work and there was no one to assist with our heavy suitcases). Check in was quick. Friendly staff. In the reception area there is a small table with complimentary different kind of (local) water for tasting. A nice gesture. The room are in bright colours, comfortable with a nice bathroom (bath) and balcony with two chairs. View over the lake. In front of the hotel departs the boat service to Lucerne and other places around the lake. There is an inside pool and very well equipped gym. Superb breakfast buffet with different kind of eggs, cheese, bread, Asian soup, cereals, muesli, salmon etc.
Two aspects were however less positive. There is only cable internet in the rooms and when you ask for a later check out immediately a hug extra amount is requested. Imagine we booked for a very large group and received nothing extra at all. Not even two hours later check out for two persons. Very disappointing attitude of the management.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, General Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear “JAEMH”

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us. We really appreciate your feedback.
It is great to read that you were actually happy with your stay at the POHO.

It is a normal standard that we charge an late check out. The reason for that is, that we can`t sell the room properly for that particular day. We guarantee Check in at 03:00 p.m. so we charge the late check out until 02:00 p.m. with CHF 50.00 and until 06:00 p.m. with CHF 100.00

We are really sorry that you are disappointed about this. We hope to welcome you again soonat the POHO and pamper you with great food and lake view.

Warm regards

The POHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent one evening and everything at the POHO exceeded our expectations
We had a nice reception the staff were very friendly. The beds were comfortable and bathroom was super clean.
Will return for a longer stay next time in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear “Bob715”

It is great that you have taken the time to rate us. Thank you very much for the good feedback.
We would love to welcome you again at the POHO Cosmos.
Until we send you sunny regards from Weggis.

The POHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent only one night there but sure we'll come back ! Everything was first rate (except the Geneva in one room wasn't working - we had a suite of 2 rooms - nothing very serious). Personnel is very kind and ready to satisfy your needs. Just one thing : breakfast is very expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear “EI D”

Thank you very much for staying at the Post Hotel Weggis. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you would visit us again. That is one of the bests compliments we could get. We are really sorry for the problems you had with the not working Geneva Lab. This shouldn`t happen and we apologies for that.

See you soon @ POHO with Chill out in Style.

The POHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel in the double communicating "family" rooms.
The rooms are great, nice decoration (except the hallway carpets), soft crisp bed linnen, good & very friendly service, great view and fantastic location (we came by boat), and a real good breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the village, its unique calm, the fact you can stroll quietly without many cars, the Rigi excursion, the free concerts in the summer, and we had a great meal on a stunning lake terasse in the RIVA restaurant about 5 minutes walk. (which we really recommend by the way.)

Our two daughters (3 and 6) loved the hotel internal pool, and thoroughly enjoyed themselves with the ice cubes from the sauna...:)

The kids playroom is a bit bare, not many toys in there, but at least there is one!

Great breakfast in the morning, although it is a bit expensive considering it is not included.

There is only setback, we were in family rooms 3019-3020, which is on the north-eastern corner of the hotel. There is a bus stop just below our window, and the busses start at around 07:15. This makes sleeping with the window open past 07:15 virtually impossible....

Room Tip: We were in rooms 3019-3020, which is on the north-eastern corner of the hotel. Great rooms with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLelij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTi_123, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear “WLelij“

Thank you very much for been our guest and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased that you did enjoy our family room and the services of our spa area. Even the kids had their fun also, that is brilliant. We are really sorry for the noise from the busses but this is unfortunately something we can`t change.

So we hope to welcome you again in Weggis.

Your POHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

spent two nights at POHO - directly opposite paddle steamer docking point adds to experience. in centre of pretty little village 5 minutes walk to cable car for mount RIgi. go for lake view room worth the money, rooms clean and well equipped with comfy beds. Lovely gym with view to lake and pool / sauna on site we had facility all to ourselves on two occasionswhich added to experience. Have asian restaurant on site food good and typically priced for Switzerland. TIp here if weather is nice to book early aslimited places if food is served outside by the lake. THey also have a terrace cafe accross the street overlooking the lake , range of simple food and ice cream - all delicious.Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is an extra and like all hotels pricey for what it is, although plenty of choice locally if you want a cheap option. Saw some reviews complaining about noise and we were worried about sea front road outside - was not an issue as road serves only local traffic and public transport meeting the ferry. The slogan on the hotel door says it all - check in and chill out !. We will be back to WIggis an excellent base for exploring the mountains and most certainly will stay again at the POHO.

Room Tip: go for a room with lake view (think all have balconys) - views are stunning and better than some mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear “stuart w”

Thank you very much for staying at the POHO Cosmos. We are really delighted that you have taken your time to rate us.
For your next stay in Weggis be would be more than happy to welcome you again.

We wish you all the best and enjoy the rest of the summer
The POHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Post Hotel is superbly located - right across from the lake. I spent the weekend in a junior suite and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel service. From the receptionist to the room service attendant, every request we made was catered for in an efficient and friendly manner - even though we ordered food and PSIII games at 3am! The front desk gave us some great tips on water sports and nearby activities and helped us find some painkillers when a nasty headache hit. Overall I was very impressed by my experience at the Post Hotel - The decoration could use a little "softening" of sorts, but the comfort and quality of the stay greatly outweighed the chaotic color of the blinds and sofas in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 702CCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear “702CCH”

Wow thanks a lot for all of these compliments you made to us. We are really grateful that you are so surprise from our quality in a positive way. We are really happy about your rating.

Yes, our color arrangement is different but that’s the POHO way of life :-)
So we hope to see you soon again at the POHO Cosmos.

Kind regards
The POHO Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weggis
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#7 of 16 in Weggis
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 16 in Weggis
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central am See
Hotel Central am See
#10 of 16 in Weggis
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#8 of 16 in Weggis
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#4 of 16 in Weggis
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel Weggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel Weggis

Address: Seestrasse 8, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Price Range: $74 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel Weggis 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Post Hotel Weggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing