We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness & Quietness...during the day!”
Review of Post Hotel Weggis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Post Hotel Weggis
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Weggis
Vesenaz, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happiness & Quietness...during the day!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel in the double communicating "family" rooms.
The rooms are great, nice decoration (except the hallway carpets), soft crisp bed linnen, good & very friendly service, great view and fantastic location (we came by boat), and a real good breakfast buffet. We enjoyed the village, its unique calm, the fact you can stroll quietly without many cars, the Rigi excursion, the free concerts in the summer, and we had a great meal on a stunning lake terasse in the RIVA restaurant about 5 minutes walk. (which we really recommend by the way.)

Our two daughters (3 and 6) loved the hotel internal pool, and thoroughly enjoyed themselves with the ice cubes from the sauna...:)

The kids playroom is a bit bare, not many toys in there, but at least there is one!

Great breakfast in the morning, although it is a bit expensive considering it is not included.

There is only setback, we were in family rooms 3019-3020, which is on the north-eastern corner of the hotel. There is a bus stop just below our window, and the busses start at around 07:15. This makes sleeping with the window open past 07:15 virtually impossible....

Room Tip: We were in rooms 3019-3020, which is on the north-eastern corner of the hotel. Great rooms with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLelij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTi_123, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear “WLelij“

Thank you very much for been our guest and taking the time to rate us. We are really pleased that you did enjoy our family room and the services of our spa area. Even the kids had their fun also, that is brilliant. We are really sorry for the noise from the busses but this is unfortunately something we can`t change.

So we hope to welcome you again in Weggis.

Your POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    121
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
60
258
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

spent two nights at POHO - directly opposite paddle steamer docking point adds to experience. in centre of pretty little village 5 minutes walk to cable car for mount RIgi. go for lake view room worth the money, rooms clean and well equipped with comfy beds. Lovely gym with view to lake and pool / sauna on site we had facility all to ourselves on two occasionswhich added to experience. Have asian restaurant on site food good and typically priced for Switzerland. TIp here if weather is nice to book early aslimited places if food is served outside by the lake. THey also have a terrace cafe accross the street overlooking the lake , range of simple food and ice cream - all delicious.Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is an extra and like all hotels pricey for what it is, although plenty of choice locally if you want a cheap option. Saw some reviews complaining about noise and we were worried about sea front road outside - was not an issue as road serves only local traffic and public transport meeting the ferry. The slogan on the hotel door says it all - check in and chill out !. We will be back to WIggis an excellent base for exploring the mountains and most certainly will stay again at the POHO.

Room Tip: go for a room with lake view (think all have balconys) - views are stunning and better than some mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear “stuart w”

Thank you very much for staying at the POHO Cosmos. We are really delighted that you have taken your time to rate us.
For your next stay in Weggis be would be more than happy to welcome you again.

We wish you all the best and enjoy the rest of the summer
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Post Hotel is superbly located - right across from the lake. I spent the weekend in a junior suite and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel service. From the receptionist to the room service attendant, every request we made was catered for in an efficient and friendly manner - even though we ordered food and PSIII games at 3am! The front desk gave us some great tips on water sports and nearby activities and helped us find some painkillers when a nasty headache hit. Overall I was very impressed by my experience at the Post Hotel - The decoration could use a little "softening" of sorts, but the comfort and quality of the stay greatly outweighed the chaotic color of the blinds and sofas in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 702CCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear “702CCH”

Wow thanks a lot for all of these compliments you made to us. We are really grateful that you are so surprise from our quality in a positive way. We are really happy about your rating.

Yes, our color arrangement is different but that’s the POHO way of life :-)
So we hope to see you soon again at the POHO Cosmos.

Kind regards
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Weggis is a peaceful place. The hotel is located opposite the buses' and the boats' station. Not noisy. The Rooms are modernly furnished. Very well equipped and there is a very good atmosphere in the hotel. There are two restaurants: one is for breakfast and asian food and the other is Swiss. Both are good. The breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for an airconditioned room if it is in summer time!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pazit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear “PazitH”

Thank you very much for staying at the Post Hotel Weggis and of course also for your good rating. We are grateful that you did enjoy your stay and our restaurant facilities.
We hope to welcome you again soon.

Sunny regards
Your POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What speaks in favour of this hotel is its fantastic location, situated just by the lake. So to wake up in the morning and step out on the balcony with its splendid view, cannot be anything but a great start of the day. Otherwise, the facilities was decent, but when you are in Switzerland you would not want to spend to much time in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik-Lundqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear “Fredrik-on-the-go”

Thank you very much for your visit at the Post Hotel Weggis. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Even for us, as we have the view every day, it is still something special to look on the mountains and the lake.

We would be more than happy to welcome you again with “Chill out in Style”

Sunny regards
The POHO team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel was modern in every way and very comfortable. rooms were spacious. The staff were spectacular! The best part for us is that it is located right across the street from the quay, so our boat arrival from Lucerne with baggage was a snap. There is a village square not far from the hotel and there always seems to be something going on there. It was a very pleasant stay and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Java4031377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear “Java4031377”

Thank you very much for staying at the Post Hotel Weggis.

We are really glad and pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you again.

We wish you a great summer time and looking forward to see you soon.

The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. It was very large, clean and modern. The location was wonderful. Our room overlooked the lake and had a huge balcony on it. We sat on the balcony every night and took in the city. The swimming pool was beautiful and the spa was incredible. I will definitely book this hotel again next time I am in Switzerland.

If you are looking for a lot to do in a city this is not it. It was a sleepy town which closed at 8:00 with a few exceptions. The only draw back to the property was the lack of privacy in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyLouHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POHODirector, Manager at Post Hotel Weggis, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear “Mistry LouHoo”

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us. WOW….. and thank you again for all these compliments.
We would be more than happy to welcome you again. And a good bet for your next stay…. There are curtains at the windows of the bathroom for more privacy :-)

See you soon the Weggis
The POHO Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weggis hotels
0.1 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 17 in Weggis
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeeHotel Gotthard
SeeHotel Gotthard
#3 of 17 in Weggis
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#4 of 17 in Weggis
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#8 of 17 in Weggis
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
589 reviews
1.5 mi away
Campus Hotel Hertenstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Post Hotel Weggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel Weggis

Property: Post Hotel Weggis
Address: Seestrasse 8, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Weggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel Weggis 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Post Hotel Weggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing