We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of SeeHotel Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SeeHotel Gotthard
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Weggis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel! The rooms were big and comfortable. The staff were friendly and superb. And the view - absolutely spectacular with the lake and the mountains smiling at you every time you looked out. Breakfast was an excellent continental with good choices of meats, cheeses and fruits. It is only a couple blocks from the boat and bus making lucerne very accessible. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mazsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

From our initial enquiry to our subsequent stay, it was apparent that this was a family run hotel.
Everyone was friendly yet very professional, We reserved a parking garage but this wasn't really needed as there is a reasonable amount of outside parking, although this could get pretty full at mealtimes when the restaurant was very popular with locals and other visitors.
We stayed half board but standard meal prices seemed quite reasonable so we would probably go for bed and breakfast in future.. In fact the restaurant usually closes one evening a week so then we ate at the nearby Riva Italian restaurant were the food was equally excellent.
Our room, overlooking the lake had superb views from its two balconies. In fact this was the first time we had ever had a balcony attached to the bathroom, the other was more conventionally attached to the bed room! The bath by the way was very large with almost instant hot water, a great place to relax after a long mountain hike.
Overall this was a great place to stay and very convenient base to explore this stunning region.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the lake, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrackersouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We dined here twice in 3 days and on both occasions the food served was of the highest quality and beautifully presented with very friendly staff. Weather permitting dine on the terrace overlooking the Lake and order from the BBQ kitchen. The indoor restaurant lacks atmosphere and resembles a snack bar but the food reigns.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank SrqMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Perfect place for holidays - enchanting view to the mountains and lake, excellent staff with sincere smiles, comfortable and spacious room. There was a friendly dog and a cat that made me feel like at home.
I will come back :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ieva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 3 arrived to friendly greetings and a car park reserved for us.
We booked the junior suite as we have a lot of luggage and a small baby. The baby cot was set up & waiting for us.
The room is very comfortable & the extra space was worthwhile for us as we spent quite a bit of time in it due to naps.
We were on the top floor with lake views. Wifi reception great & fast enough for video calls to family.
Breakfast is modest but good quality, the Bircher muesli and fresh breads are excellent.
Every morning our table is set up waiting for us, complete with baby high chair. The staff have all been very friendly and provide excellent service. We unfortunately needed to see a doctor 3 times during our stay; the staff booked all appointments for us and the doctor is billing the hotel, which we just pay altogether at check out.
The hotel restaurant has great pizzas, which we ordered the 3 times we are there, but the restaurant is closed Mon & Tues. One evening we wanted to eat in the garden restaurant, but you can't order pizzas there (despite the menu being otherwise identical). I saw a sign about this later, but I'm not sure why. We asked to move inside to the restaurant and this was accommodated easily. A staff member helped us move inside too.

Bed is comfortable & everything about the room was clean & tidy.
The room was on the warm side, however the cool breeze flows nicely with windows open.

Weggis, while small, is a great base for exploring mountains nearby, and is a pleasant cruise from Lucerne. It's a perfect retreat from the hustle of a city. This hotel fits in perfectly with it's friendly & helpful staff and comfortable accommodation - also a perfect retreat.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank kimlethom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gotthard, Inhaber at SeeHotel Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear family Durna

Thank you very much for those lovely words you wrote.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope Lucas is feeling better now and can enjoy the rest of his Switzerland trip.

Kind regards

Philippe Nanzer and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We attended a traditional Folk evening at this hotel.Excellent staff and food very Swiss.Ice creams are a must with accompanying Swiss wines.A great night out.The trio who played Accordian,piano and clarinet were fab.......they play here every year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We just spent our weekend in the Seehotel Gotthard and it was lovely! The view is amazingly beautiful, everybody was warm and friendly and we had dinner in the newly renovated restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious!! I would recommend it immediately and definitely go back when I'm in Weggis again. Thanks to the lovely hosts.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Skanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weggis
0.1 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#4 of 16 in Weggis
117 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Villa Honegg
Hotel Villa Honegg
#1 of 1 in Ennetbuergen
551 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#8 of 16 in Weggis
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gerbi
Hotel Gerbi
#6 of 16 in Weggis
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Post Hotel Weggis
Post Hotel Weggis
#11 of 16 in Weggis
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel Vitznau
Park Hotel Vitznau
#1 of 6 in Vitznau
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeeHotel Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeeHotel Gotthard

Address: Gotthardstrasse 11, Weggis 6353, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Weggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Weggis
#1 Romantic Hotel in Weggis
Price Range: $117 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SeeHotel Gotthard 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Seehotel Gotthard in Weggis on the shore of Lake Lucerne, 25 km from Lucerne, offers 2 restaurants, a pizzeria, a bistro and rooms with scenic views and free WiFi. Guests enjoy free access to the wellness area and heated outdoor pool of the neighbouring hotel. During the warmer months you can enjoy your breakfast on the outdoor terrace. The spa area and the heated outdoor pool are situated in the neighbouring hotel (just across the street) and are open from Easter until October. The harbour is a 3-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your SeeHotel Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Gotthard Weggis
Seehotel Gotthard Hotel Weggis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing